We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusing Layout, Questionable Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #71 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Confusing Layout, Questionable Location”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My company hosts a meeting in DC every other spring and we had one here at the Hyatt Regency recently. The hotel is divided into two towers and it is difficult to get attendants from one tower to another for meeting rooms but the meeting rooms are decently sized. In terms of the area, the hotel is close to two metro stops, but it is also near a homeless shelter and the surrounding area is a bit run down. There are hotels in the city with comparably priced rooms that are closer to the National Mall and museums so this certainly isn't the best option. This hotel is a great option for hosting a conference in DC - especially as the city has limited meeting space.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,442
    1,513
    692
    206
    106
See reviews for
908
627
198
1,754
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Short distance to Union Station, you get a good view of the Capitol Building when you cross the street to go to Union Station look to your right, if you happen to get up early in the morning around 7 AM then you can take a picture when there are not a lot of car, it is different when you take a picture at the Capital building. Hotel was clean, amenities are normal same as other hotels. We ask met one of the house keeping in the hall way and asked for a shower cap, he told me to call house keeping! Lobby is noise with meetings and convention, but don't let this deter you from staying here. The hotel is across from the Art and Soul restaurant, highly recommended to splurge the extra money to try it. NO FREE INTERNET...you would think now a day that it would be included in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trans_travel_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed this hotel on a recent trip. Rooms were very nice, as was the lobby area. Only minor complaint was the A/C was a bit noisy, but was OK when turned to a lower setting. This hotel was a short walk to Capital Hill, Union Station, and some of the museums, such as the Air and Space Museum. There is a place right next door that is convenient for breakfast if you don't want to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRWDC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear JD3,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our guest rooms. We recently completed a transformation of these rooms and it is great to get guest feedback on them. The convenient location of the hotel is one of its greatest assets and I am glad that you were able to take advantage of it. I hope you will stay with us the next time you visit Washington, D.C.
Sincerely,
Steve Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were originally due to stay here for another three nights, but cancelled based on our first stay. The decor is dull and drab, even though we think our room had been refurbished. The room was a corner room (which cost $5 per night to upgrade to!) but only had one view of a parking lot and building site. It was a reasonable size with a comfy bed, chair and desk, but there was no fridge/mini bar, and the A/C was quite noisy. There was a Hyatt coffee machine, and loads of electrical sockets, including on the bedside lamps (which were far too bright, even when dimmed, to be used a reading light without keeping the other person awake.)
There were no bathrobes, slippers or shower cap. The bathroom was tiny and had no bath, and the shower water pressure was poor.

The Club Lounge was very small: there was a reasonable selection of food, but we were
charged for alcoholic drinks, despite not being warned that they weren't complimentary LIKE EVERY OTHER LOUNGE! On our second day, we tried to go for a coffee at about 4 o'clock and they were changing the door lock, which meant both that it was far too noisy (drilling) and that our key no longer worked! Why work on the door lock that day, when the whole lounge is due a refurb in less than a month?

The location is ok - close to Capitol and Union Station, but there were a few homeless hanging
around, and our walk to a restaurant in 7th street felt sufficiently dodgy that we got a cab back.

Finally, they got our bill wrong - lunches we didn't have, which were taken off when we complained - and we were charged for Internet access, even though I am a Platinum Gold Passport holder - this was corrected after I completed their survey form and mentioned it. The bill for two nights came in at over $1000 and this was way too much for what we got.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I got a very good deal online for 3 nights in July, 2012. For the price I paid, the hotel was terrific. The pool was nice to come home to, as we were in the middle of a record setting heat wave. The hotels resturants looked good, but being on a budget, we ate nearby, There is a great deli and liquor store (the Kogod) right across the street, and also Starbucks, Subway and my favourite, The Biil Goat Tavern of SNL fame ("No fries - CHEEPS!" "No Pepsi - COKE!"), all within a minute or two walk. The Metro is also closeby, with the Judiciary Square Metro Station being just a 5 min walk, as is Washington Union Station, so it is a great place to stay if you arive by Amtrak. It is a good place to stay if you want to hit the museums and monuments along the National Mall, as the east end of the mall is footsteps away. I give this hotel a big thumbs up for location. The usual rates are a bit steep for me, but since I scored a good rate online, I was very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't come by car to Washington, use public transportation !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRWDC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear travellingtaylor,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you took full advantage of the hotel’s wonderful location in Washington, D.C. , as well as the neighborhood restaurants. Our newly renovated pool is certainly the right place to relax during the summer! We hope that you will stay with us again in the future, and hopefully you will get a chance to try the cuisine at Article One.
Sincerely,
Steve Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I accompanied my husband on a business trip to DC, so I spent quite a bit of time in the hotel. The location was great for walking to the metro (Union Station) as well as other sites. Not as many restaurants nearby, but we were okay with that. The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. The pool and workout facilities were very spacious and nice as well. Overall, a good experience. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D'Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a conference. Shower was cold, cold, cold every morning. Walls were thin -- I could hear the couple in the next room at night. Carpets were old and dirty. Very few amenities -- no fridge in the room. I was on the 11th floor, but there was a lot of noise all night and especially early in the morning from the street, and possibly from the construction site across the street. No view. Gift shop is VERY overpriced -- more expensive than an airport shop. Two homeless shelters are within a block or two of the hotel, and the hotel map warns you to never walk alone. Wifi is not free.
On the plus side, the staff were unfailingly courteous and friendly. Room was clean (except carpets). Article One restaurant in the lobby was good, as was the bar. The West Wing Cafe and Starbucks are right across the street. Walking distance to the capitol, Chinatown. 15 minutes by car to Reagan National Airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smj000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,137 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
258 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
4,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
432 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,437 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all the attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to the Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. Indulge in seasonal flavors and signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing