We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Balitmore
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Big conference oriented hotel, with a great location if you want to be near the Capitol, union station, and east end of the Mall. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. Appeared to be people using wifi in the lobby, but we never managed to get on in room. Valet parking is available - but be aware that it's $45 a night (though they did say this include in and out if you need it). Quick return of car on check out if you use their text for your car feature. Room set up was a little disappointing - no table or light on 1 side of bed, alarm clock/ihome was missing power cord, and no in-room safe. Location was great for our needs - walked to a concert at Nationals stadium (about 1 mile south) and took a great run on the Mall Saturday morning (about 3 miles round trip to the Washington Monument from the hotel). Breakfast is good, but hard to say the buffet is worth $21 - there's a starbucks around the corner that would probably be a better bet. There is surprisingly little choice in restaurants right near the hotel - so plan to venture more than a few blocks to eat.

Room Tip: We were right off the southern elevator bank which concerned me, but had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCandBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,488
    1,555
    716
    218
    109
See reviews for
954
636
201
1,812
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

For having such a great name, you would think the rooms came with free wi-fi. Instead, I am sitting in the lobby, uncomfortable, writing this review. My BF had an early meeting placed the "private" sign on the door knob. Within 30 minutes, a lady knocked on the door, didn't wait for my answer and let herself in!! at 8am!! It isn't check out time!? I was still in bed! What is that about?????? This place is catered towards the corporate world. I wouldn't stay here-even if someone payed for me!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ting B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It was a very nice hotel. Comfortable rooms. beds could be a bit more comfy. Pool was nice. The shower had great water pressure however would not stay warm long. Conveniently located between Union Station and the National Mall. Great for those who wish to sightsee. Just be careful at night. It gets sketchy around the area at night but most of Washington Capital area does. You can count on many cabs in area. One issue I had is when doorman let us in , I had wished he could have told us of the elevator that could take us from entrance to check in and lobby. We took an escalator down and with luggage my young son tried but almost fell. We all had luggage and bags so it was hard to help him. He did however let the luggage fall down escalator and held on as I instructed him. I know staff saw this. You might think the would come to help but the did not. Restaurant is ok but I find it not worth the price. The store in lobby was great! It had all things you could want, snacks, drinks, souveniers and even Starbucks and Chocolate ( chocolate was too expensive). We were in there every night. There really is not much around to eat unless you want to pay the prices. We had to keep going back to Union Station. The station is a short walk. However, even at short distance for abt $5 to $8 for tip take a cab back at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed last weekend, had upgraded to a Club room, but then were told upon arrival that the Club services not available. Staff very apologetic, but hallways are worn and the traffic here is very heavy. Location near Union Station is very good if you wish to be on this side of town, but the best thing here is too wait until they clean up their act. Get a budget rate as they are now a budget locale until the upgrades are done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank notthatdeadyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Florida, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was our first trip to DC so we stayed here for the convenience of being in walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The hotel was clean and the valet staff were very helpful and friendly. The fee for parking over night was $45.00 - that is steep considering the cost of the room was only $98.00 before taxes.
We stayed on the 4th floor, our room was clean but everything felt dampish (bedding, towels, carpet) even though the air conditioning was on low? The front desk informed us that none of the rooms had a view so it didn't matter which floor we stayed on. We were able to check in early (1:00) and the bellman delivered our bags promptly.
Small inconveniences: not having access to the car unless you called the valet & had them get it and bring it to the front entrance which means more tipping each time.
A charge for wifi in the room (we didn't use it but saw a lot of people in the lobby using the free wifi there).
Also the front desk placing me on hold for more than 30 minutes to check availability, in that time we drove there and when we walked in there wasn't a single person working at the desk nor was there anyone in line ??
Overall, it was a convenient place to stay, The West Wing Cafe next to the hotel had awesome food for breakfast, lunch or dinner, lots of choices and very fresh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The room was pretty clean. Stayed on the Fifth Floor. Quiet. Bed Comfortable. Pillows okay.
The bathroom was clean and had shelving which was handy. Could have used another hook or two. Also why no bathroom vents? Soap, shampoo and lotion were of decent quality.

The one seating option in the room was a really odd shaped, uncomfortable chair. The tv in my room had been scratched with a key or something right in the middle. Shameful that someone would do so. You couldn't see it unless you were right up on it.

No soda machine? The lobby shop charged a huge markup for soda, water, beer etc.

The breakfast is great, and the staff mostly older citizens were fantastic! Make sure to tip on the full amount not your coupon!

The food at the bar was quite good for lunch or dinner. I did not like the $8 for a beer. I think that is a bit much. No specials?? No Happy Hour? In DC? The lady serving as manager on Sunday night of Labor Day weekend was very friendly and helpful.


The hotel is very walkable to Union Station, and many of the sights. Hop on Hop Off bus is a great deal on hot days. IF you plan and get an early start on the day you get your money's worth.

Not much around the hotel after dark.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the reno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quietmanNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I were recently in Washington D.C. and stayed at the Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

They are renovating the hotel, but luckily we weren't exposed to any loud construction. Currently the rooms and hotel itself are average in terms of looks and renovation.

We snagged a deal on Hotels.com that gave us our third night free and their free breakfast buffet every morning. It was an excellent deal for $300.

The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the breakfast buffet was really good. They had an omelette station, plenty of fruit, bagels, pastries, eggs, bacon and even fancy cheeses.

One of the things I didn't love about the hotel was the location. It is close to Union Station which was convenient for us since we took the Amtrak in, but it is at the far end of the National Mall so it's a little harder to get to the other museums and monuments by foot. You can either take the Metro or a cab, but cabs are pricey in D.C. and most are cash only.

But you are close to the Capitol and the Library of Congress which are fun to see.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to couples/families who don't mind the commute issue.

If you are ever planning to visit New York City, I welcome you to check out my blog which highlights fun, inexpensive things to do in the City! www.thecityismylivingroom.com

Happy traveling!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shere M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
303 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 141 in Washington DC
4,740 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 141 in Washington DC
578 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,494 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol, and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to famous Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. And don't forget newly opened National Museum of African American History and Culture and soon to be open Museum of the Bible - both minutes from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Relax and indulge in seasonal flavors & signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing