We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll never stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC
Ranked #133 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
MANAKIN SABOT
2 reviews
“I'll never stay here again”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Probably one of the worst places I've ever stayed in, in my life. The rooms were gross, the blankets and towels in my room were stained. I called the front desk on several occasions inquiring about the following: taxi pick up, they told me to call the taxi companies, a wake up call, I never got one, extra towels and a replacement for the blanket -it took them over 30minutes to deliver towels and a blanket on two occasions. The location was sketchy. There were stains on the floor and I couldn't get over that on line this place is advertised as being pretty decent. I saw more than my share of questionable activity in the parking lot... This place is really gross

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank FATIMAH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    59
    50
    76
See reviews for
55
62
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WASHINGTON
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Is the worst motel and service in all my travel. Although is possible find better hotels near like quality inn etc...
The Staff is no kindly the person in the cafeteria is unclean, with the hands dirty touch the bread, fruits etc..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank RICARDO S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I honestly hated this whole hotel. first i called the man at the front desk and told him that i was going to be late form the train he told me that everything was alright and he was not going to cancel my room. when i get there my room was cancelled and was booked already to someone else. I told him that it was unfair for him to do that after we had just spoken an hour ago on the phone. He ended up getting a room for us like an hour later. The room was not that clean and there were roaches in the bed stand. the next morning we left from our room around ten. I asked if we could leave our luggage in the back of the desk and someone will pick it up for me later he said yes. Afterward i called and informed him that someone was picking it up for me yelled at me on the phone about not being able to do it. I spent so much money on taxi fare because of the man in the front desk. this experience was the worst. The inn was not like the way it looks on the internet at all. it is far from it. I hope you think twice about going to this inn

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Absolutely one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. Stayed in room 210 and noticed the first cockroach in the bathroom within the first 10 minutes of being there. That should have been my cue to leave but decided one bug wasn't bad. Boy was I wrong. There were several cockroaches throughout the entire room including the area by the sink, in the refrigerator, and crawling along the floor. Owner/manager could care less about the complaints about it. Do yourself a favor and staty elsewhere!

Room Tip: Rooms at other hotels are your best bet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington DC
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#114 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC NoMa Union Station
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#90 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue
Quality Inn & Suites New York Av...
#130 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#108 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
6.1 mi away
Days Inn Arlington Pentagon
Days Inn Arlington Pentagon
#48 of 51 in Arlington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#112 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC
Address: 600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Washington Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing