We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC
Ranked #132 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed October 25, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank HECTOR T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 228 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
CASS LAKE
1
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel had cock roaches, light fixtures hanging out the wall, tore up walls, and the managers seemed like it was nothing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Room was not dirty, but didn't feel clean, either. The computer chair was broken. the refrigerator was unplugged and the carpet was wet where it defrosted and the ice melted. Definate lack of electrical plugs, and the WiFi was slow. The single bed didn't look or smell clean. I slept on top of the comforter with a travel blanket that I brought myself. Plus sides - it kept me out of the rain, and the air conditioner worked. Breakfast was cold cereal, cold donuts and weak coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank CHRISTINE_BSardis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Arrived at hotel and was advised, "you got here just in time, we almost cancelled your room." We arrived at approx 1630hrs. Got keys, went to room. Had booked a two bed room, smoking. Recieved a 1 bed, non-smoking. Returned to the lobby and were informed a room was being cleaned for us. Then saw the maintenance person walk into the lobby with a can of Raid Bug Spray. He tried to hide it, but no such luck. Went to room, and left immediately to go into downtown. Returned and looked for an ash tray in our smoking room. None found. Went into bath room and when light was turned on saw what I figure were "stink bugs" running for cover. Did manage to kill a few with a sneaker. While watching tv several more occasions where roaches or "stink bugs" we're chased after with a shoe to be killed. Slept in full clothing on the uncomfortable bed to avoid getting crawled on. Woke up one of at least a dozen times to the train that runs behind the motel 24 hours a day, just in time to see a small bug crawl into the radio/alarm clock. Order a pizza from the "suggested" pizza joint advertised in the room and wait 1.5 hours for it. Shared it with the several flies in the room. Woke up early and left ASAP tirerd sore and cranky. Told manager on way out worst Experiance ever, he shrugged and said...."really, noooooooo, bugs?" I responded with telling all the guest eating breakfast to ask to borrow the can of raid the maintenance man has. Wouldn't stay here again if I was getting paid too. Beware.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was in town to see the Nationals play, and just needed a cheap place to crash after the game. I'm not picky, as long as the room is clean I'm a happy person.

The man that checked us in was nice, and said if we have any problems come see him.
The wifi worked great.
The bed was comfy with fluffy pillows, nice tv too. Noise was not a problem and neither was the traffic or the supposed "trains" that shake the rooms.
The room was clean and smelled fine, no "roaches" in sight.
I can't comment on the breakfast because we left before it was served due to a long drive the next morning.

I didn't mind not being close to public transportation because I drove myself everywhere. Much easier. People that complain about that should probably do a little more research.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel is clean efficient and convenient for Dulles Airport. That is all it is - an overnight stay after a log flight from the UK. The breakfast was poor, there is no restaurant or dining room there, or anywhere withing walking distance. The so called complementary shuttle service is virtualy non existant as there is no regular pick up as other nearby hotels have. Of course they don't tell you that when your book. We wasted nearly two hours after a long flight and eventualy as there are no phones at the designated pick up point, another carrier kindly telephoned them and even then they did not stop at the designated stop. It was more by good luck that we arrived at the hotel at all. All they could say was that they had changed the service to a telephone request only. Pity the management didn't bother to tell it's customers.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DemoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I am a budget traveller, in the US doing research for my postgrad qualification, and just trying to do it all as cheaply as possible without staying in hostels. I thought this HoJo was fine. The area was a little sketchy. It wasn't really anything to do with the motel, but the footpaths on NY Ave were shut for repairs while I was there and so to get to/from the motel via public transit, I had to take a detour through the back of the Union Market. I wouldn't recommend doing that at night. But with the money I saved on the hotel room I just caught a cab back at night.

Inside, my room was surprisingly nice. It was clean, large, well-maintained. It had HBO and free wifi (although the latter was, as is often the case in budget motels, a little lacklustre). I didn't find the noise a problem. I had a room near the front, and my room didn't "shake" when the trains went by, and the traffic on NY Ave didn't annoy me. The free breakfast was okay, pretty much what you expect from these things.The staff were nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington DC
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue
Quality Inn & Suites New York Av...
#129 of 142 in Washington DC
234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#117 of 142 in Washington DC
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#115 of 142 in Washington DC
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
4.7 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#21 of 52 in Arlington
1,395 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC

Address: 600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $108 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Washington Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing