We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC
Ranked #131 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

After reading the reviews on this site and learning about the area of the city that this motel is in I was more than a little worried about what my stay would be like. Worries were completely unfounded. The area wasn't the nicest but with the money we saved by staying at this motel instead of staying in the heart of DC it was no great expense to take a taxi to & from town at night or during rush hour when the road was too busy to cross. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and looked as if it had been refurbished not too long ago. Although there was some noise from traffic & the trains, it was no noisier than staying in any other large city. The continental breakfast was better than I expected it would be--everything was white-flour-and-sugar but there were enough things to choose from that I did not get sick of eating the same thing every day. The motel was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeAnna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    59
    50
    76
See reviews for
55
62
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

When I booked this hotel over the phone a month prior, I was told that the property had easy access to the metro.....almost a ten minute walk. When we arrived in Washington, my fiance and I walked around for about an hour to try and find the hotel. The neighborhood was very sketchy, bad smells, a dead rat, etc. This was because the pedestrian sidewalks were diverted because of construction. What the hotel also failed to mention was that it sits on roughly six lanes of traffic. The hotel itself was shabby and small. Needless to say, we left. We are now at a pleasant hostel right near the Tacoma Metro station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Providenciales
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

This unassuming motel looks in need of refurbishing from the outside, but the reality is that it's very clean and well-run by a pleasant and accommodating staff from the front desk to the maid service. The evening check-in clerk was pleasant and helpful. Our room was comfortable and a find at the cheapest price I could identify in the DC area. The Amtrak runs nearby and vibrates occasionally, and there is some highway noise, but it didn't bother us even though we come from a quiet environment. Our wake-up call was prompt. The breakfast room was attractive and clean, and the basic breakfast (between six and nine)--juice, coffee, muffins, doughnuts, cold cereal, bagels--was tasty and convenient. We needed to identify some local businesses and the front desk pleasantly provided us with a yellow pages telephone book. The Howard Johnson Inn in Washington DC is a good hotel at a reasonable price in a pricey city--and within ~15 min. walking distance of the Metro.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darbyoshaughnessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

There was no way this was a hotel, this was more like a motel. The room they put us in was way in the back and smelled like smoke. We asked for a non smoking room. There were sticky rat traps with roaches caught on each rat trap. The Sheets were stained with something yellow on them and the bathroom was of poor condition.

The manager was rude. He asked me if we wanted a refund because we can leave and go somewhere else if we are that upset over roaches. I dont suggest staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neerah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

The acommodation there was OK, motels like this are twelve to the dozen. The main problem was busy railway from one side, and main road from the other side. Each passing train was not only making noise but also made the whole building shaking.

I would rather stay elswhere next time. However it is quite close to metro, you can even walk to main railway station or the Capitol in less then one hour.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexx84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

The room was spacious, clean, and well-appointed, and the staff tries hard; but it's located next to tracks so the foundations shake when trains rumble through, and big trucks on the highway in front shake the windows. A Saturday night "rumble" featured prostitutes walking by and yelling til 2 am.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, OH
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed here in 2005 (I picked 11/2010 because this site made me pick a date), so it was a long time ago, BUT I am sure what I have to say still holds true. This is an inexpensive, basic place to stay, but when in Washington DC, Who stays in their rooms all day ? Anyway, the place has beds, a small pool, a continental breakfast, was as clean as any I have seen, and VERY CLOSE to the train station--I think Union?--where we parked our car for the day and grabbed the OLD TOWN TROLLY for the day. We picked it for it's cost and location. HOWEVER it is right along RT 50 and the TRAFFIC NEVER EVER STOPS. Since the rooms are along the outside, there is no noise relief. My family did not get much sleep the first night (even after 8 hrs of travel) because of the traffic. However, after a full day of sight seeing, we didnt hear a peep the 2nd night, we were so tired! I would not stay here again only due to the room positions, but would pick the nearby DAYS INN (or whatever the nearby Quality chain it is) that is configured in a square with openings AWAY from the street side.

Room Tip: Dont stay here if you want to sleep. The traffic never stops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krissymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#116 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#97 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#109 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#123 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#126 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#114 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC
Address: 600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Washington Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing