We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #73 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Perfectly situated hotel about 5 minutes walk from L'enfant Plaza where you can easily take the subway to Arlington Cemetary or Union Station (which is very handy for getting trains to/from Baltimore Airport or getting the Amtrak both which I did).
I walked pretty much everywhere; the hotel is 5 mintes walk from Smithsonian Air and Flight museum. Over the course of a few days I walked to the Capitol, the art gallery and all the way down the Lincoln Memorial.
The hotel is busy, check-in was fine. There's a bar/restaurant in the lobby which is good for food. The CVS close by closes early so buy any stuff you need from there in the morning.
The room was clean and comfortable and wi-fi was good.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colingally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for the great review and for telling others you would visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    990
    371
    115
    58
See reviews for
857
418
109
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed here for a week and had a tremendous time! The location is PERFECT!!! We loved being able to walk to the mall and loved being able to get "home" quickly! It was busy, busy, busy! Although we had a glitch in our reservation because we used a third party source, the staff at the Holiday Inn was nothing but professional! I was dismayed at the people who came and verbally "attacked" the staff but so impressed with how well the staff handled each situation. Be aware that if you book through a third party source that each site, and I've looked, states that the room you book does not guarantee that you will get that room. It's in small print on many sites. Also, there are different packages to book so make sure if you want the breakfast package, that you book the breakfast package. Be responsible for what you book. It saves disappointment at check in. Even though the exact room wasn't available for us the first night because Southwest Airlines booking site got our credit card info wrong, the hotel staff was so sweet at accommodating us and they definitely made us feel welcome! The rooms were so clean! I've never stayed at a cleaner hotel. Everyone from bell services to the check out staff was friendly. The only problems we had were 1) the train noise in the morning (we got use to it after a couple days) and 2) the slow dinner service between 4:30 to 7:00. That's when all the workers get off and congregate at the hotel for drinks and food. It's awfully busy during that time. Otherwise, a superb stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I really appreciate your review and telling others what you experienced. Hopefully, you will come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was booked for me by a co worker for a business trip so I was staying here without doing any research first, which is totally unlike me! I was not disappointed! Check in was a breeze, staff was excellent, room was spacious, spotless and almost silent at night! Ac was nice and cool, keurig in the room with a nice selection of k cups, bed was comfy. Metro stop was literally 3 minutes away and you can walk indoors about 80% of the way, which would be great for a rainy day! Starbucks is in the hotel which is excellent. My ONLY complaint is the lack of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. At night I wished I could have walked to a nice sit down place, but none were nearby. Now, to be fair, all of DC is within a 30 minute train ride so I certainly had no problem hoping on the metro and finding places to eat , but walking would have been nicer after a long day at work.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PAsFab5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I'm so glad you were happy about your stay with us. I'm also excited that your co-worker booked your accommodations with us. Thank you for sharing. I hope next time you come to DC and you are booking your trip, you will keep us in mind and return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We were looking for a hotel right in the heart of Washington's mall and this one fitted the bill. Everything was within walking distance.

Hotel rom excellent, very we'll maintained, comfortable and spacious. Only had one meal in the hotel but that was good too. Pool ok, but a little cool on the days we were there.

Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverCowey2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
I really appreciate your review and recommendation to others. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Great room but watch out for parking!! The hotel parking is an underground garage and you must be checked in with the proper tags for the car in order to park there. So, I was dropped off and my husband drove around the block until I texted him that I was done checking in and then he picked me up and we parked. After that ordeal, we discovered a wonderful room, comfy bed and updated décor. Our room only had a shower (great, but awkward for bathing a 3 year old!) We have no idea if all rooms are like this. A nice unexpected surprise was the in-room fridge. Great. The room was quiet, A/C worked great and an overall wonderful experience. The hotel is close to L'Enfant Plaza Metro station and also the Air and Space Smithsonian. No convenient restaurants, though- which did cause a problem. The hotel buffet was serviceable, but not notable. Oh well- we found a great atmosphere at the Occidental Bar at the Willard Hotel near the White House. If you have younger children the Holiday Inn is the place to be. Save the Willard until the kids are older and can appreciate some history.

Room Tip: The nearby elevated train is audible but not obstructive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Two_Bears_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
I really appreciate you and your family staying with us (and not the Willard). As to your question about showers, only our king rooms have showers, all other rooms have tubs. With regard to our parking, the garage as you experienced is under the entire building. Since our building is connected to various government agencies, there are security officers that control entry into the garage. Though it might be unique compared to other hotels, it provides a measure of safety and security to both our guests and their vehicles. I hope you will stay with us again before your child gets much older.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is a very nice hotel with very clean rooms and friendly staff. The refrigerator in the room was very convenient and the beds were clean and comfortable. We stayed for 6 nights and were very comfortable. This hotel is located very close to the Air and Space Museum and the National Mall. We will stay there again the next time we visit.

Room Tip: Request a room toward the front of the hotel to avoid the sounds of the train horn in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us for 6 nights. We truly appreciate your business and that you would stay with us again. I appreciate you telling others about what you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This hotel was nicer than most Holiday Inns that I've stayed in. It is in a great location for DC sight-seeing. We like to walk and went everywhere from the Capitol and Union Station, to the White House and the Lincoln and Jefferson monuments on foot. We had rented a car, but only used it to get to and from BWI airport, The Kennedy Center, and to Arlington National Cemetary and other places on the other side of the Potomac River. The hotel is in the same block as a CVS pharmacy, McDonalds, Quiznos, and a couple other small restaurants, which was helpful. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The restaurants in the hotel are okay. The service wasn't very good, but the food was good. The hotel was very clean and updated. In researching hotels for our week-long stay, they are all rather pricey, but this one was on the lower end price-wise. It also had free wi-fi. My only complaint would be that they charged almost $40/day for parking. Next time, we would not rent a car. We would take a shuttle from the airport and utilize the metro and bus systems.

Room Tip: This hotel is near train tracks. I recommend a room on the courtyard side and on a higher floor. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljsjayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and tell others about what you experienced. I'm glad there is going to be a next time. We look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#31 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Centra...
#68 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#67 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Property: Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#75 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing