We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed and Tired” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #80 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed and Tired”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

The reservation was made 4 months in advance and they required full payment inadvance. I thought this was highly unusual. I requested a rollaway bed for a teenage grandson. The room was much too small for 4 of us, and there was absolutely no room for a rollaway. We were located on the 6th floor overlooking railroad tracks and an elevated train passed beneath our window several times a night.

Yes it is located centrally on the Mall and a great location for major sightseeing. It would have been fine for two of us just needing to sleep there between sightseeing forays, but for our needs it was a terrible disappointment. It was packed with traveling student groups who were often noisey in the hallways. The pool is located on the 9th floor and shabby at best plus up a long flight of steps.

The bathtub was very slippery when showering. I requested a bathtub mat and was told one would be sent up. It never appeared. We were prepaid for 5 nights in this place. I felt trapped and betrayed!

Room Tip: Specify one away from the train yard, and don't plan on swimming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basketbunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear basketbunny1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room assignment prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    1,102
    404
    125
    65
See reviews for
978
475
125
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nothing bad to say about this hotel. It's a block from the national mall, so you just walk across the street and you're there. It is about a mile to restaurants though. A bit of a walk but a nice evening stroll with good weather. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was nice and the staff were very friendly. The rooms are very very small. However for two people who just needed a place to crash after sightseeing it was perfect. We loved the pillows so much we inquired about the brand and where we might find some. They said we could buy the pillows from them. Now back home we have the same great night sleep as we did in DC. Great hotel!!!

Helpful?
Thank jensmail0804
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Bend
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

A great place to stay if you want to be close to the National Mall. It was just a couple of blocks from all the museums and monuments so we were able to walk or rent bicycles easily. It was clean, modern, and had a good restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

My family and I spent a night here while passing through DC, and we were very pleased with the value considering the location and the amenities.

The best part was the location. We were only two blocks from The Mall and walked from the hotel all over -- dinner at The Capital Grill, to the Lincoln Memorial, to the White House. I'm not sure you could get much better for the price.

The room was plenty big for our family of four, and the bathroom was modern with marble countertops and upgraded faucets and shower.

The hotel itself was very clean and had a couple restaurants if you wanted to eat in. The check-in line was a little long but the staff was friendly, except for one rude parking attendant who actually rolled her eyes when we told her we had not checked in yet and wanted to park first. However, the counter clerk told us it wasn't a problem at all and gave us a validated parking ticket that was good through 5 pm on the day we checked out with unlimited going in and out.

I would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GJB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I came to Washington DC for a family event, last week. Spent four nights here. This is a great location. You are only two blocks from the Smithsonian museums. The hotel staff is friendly and very accommodating. Any questions we asked were always graciously answered. When I had some slight difficulty logging on to the internet, they came to my rescue. Our room was very clean and newly renovated and the shower was a great size. Internet is free and parking was included in our package. We had breakfast every morning in the hotel, two mornings in the restaurant and two mornings in the side café, where you can have coffee, a bagel or something quick. On the restaurant side you can have a full breakfast or the buffet. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the government buildings and there was very little traffic noise. Not a problem for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pat g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights - the location could not be beaten! Close to the Smithsonian museums, Capitol Hill, National Mall and all the other delights of Washington DC. Our room was clean, large and well appointed. I loved the shower - it was huge!! Staff were all helpful and friendly. We ate in the restaurant one evening, and that was fine. We had breakfast in the hotel one morning, and that was also OK. There is a CVS pharmacy along the street and also McDonalds and a few other eateries. Reasonably priced and well located with underground parking, and also close to the Metro, what's not to like?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Wow, what a great review of our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#56 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Property: Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing