We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good-sized room, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #82 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Generously-sized, newly-refurbished room. Friendly helpful staff. Good location in Capitol Hill area close to metro and attractions. The hotel is a bit expensive but not disproportionate for this area of Washington.

The breakfast is a hot American-stylebuffet including biscuits with gravy and pancakes, if you like that sort if thing. I enjoyed the scrambled egg with spinach and mushroom. There is fruit, cereal and oatmeal. When you sit down you are quickly brought a large glass of freshly squeezed juice, iced water and your choice of tea or coffee. For me, personally, it was missing a selection of breads (only toast bread) and cold options such as cheeses etc. But that is personal taste of course. It seemed like you could also order à la carte if you wanted.

Very good fitness centre for a hotel - including 4 treadmills and a bigger selection of free weights than you normally get in Europe.

Only two gripes - the wine from the bar was very poor quality for the price and there is no kettle, just a tea/coffee machine in the room which only works with the capsules provided (choice of either de-caf coffee or a rather sour breakfast tea).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank la_viajera_constanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to the states and Washington, DC. I really appreciate all of your comments about your room, the staff, breakfast and the fitness room. I will forward your comments about the wine to our Food & Beverage Director. As far as the in-room coffee and tea, from your comment, I think our staff failed to provide you with regular coffee options. We just recently installed the Kurig makers in our rooms as part of the renovation. Our staff is still getting use to this device and the new coffee options. I do hope you will visit us again, if you are ever back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,576)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,278 - 1,284 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights, what we liked about this place was it was so close to the Smithsonians, Capitol hill and Washington monument.

The room was spacious and the biggest on our trip, the bathroom was nice and the bed was comfortable. The only issue we had was there was no bath plug and it took 40 minutes for the staff to find one which was odd.

Again the closeness of this place to the museums and sites is it's selling point, one drawbacks is the lack of restaurants in the area it's pretty much barren and the food in the lobby isn't the greatest, forking out for a cab or the subway is the way to go to get a decent meal.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hanlon1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

I appreciate yu staying with us during your trip to Washington, DC. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself during your visit. We are in a great location for visitng all of the monuments and museums in the city. It is a safe and quiet area. The great thing about our location is that you can take the metro or a taxi, or even walk to areas of town that have numerous restaurants and night clubs, without sleeping near all the commotion. If you are ever back in the staes and in our area, I hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Came here on a trip with 2 girlfriends. Chose this location because it was walking distance from a lot of museums.

They were very accomodating and checked us in a bit early because we had many bags. The hotel is under renovatioms now and it was clearly visible. Our room was very clean but the fridge did not work. We had to throw out a couple of snacks that needed to be refridgerated.

It can get a bit noisy early in the morning because there are men at work, so don't expect to sleep in. At one point, the fire alarms went off for about 10 minutes.

I would only return to this hotel if I they are all done with renovations.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fanni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

I appreciate your comments. Our guestroom renovation will be complete the first week of April. I'm sorry you had issues with your refrigerator and with the construction noise. We have asked the construction crew to keep the noise to a minimum; however, some of the work that is being done, does indeed create noise. I do hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is in a great location for visiting sites on the mall as they are almost all in walking distance. The newly renovated rooms are nice as well. However, they did still have a strong glue smell to them. And the hot water was uneven but hopefully that was just part of the renovation.

Room Tip: Be careful with the rooms as the new ones still have a strong glue smell. Also, renovations are goin...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for promoting our location and our newly renovated rooms. I think part of the smell may be that everything is new; wall vinyl, carpet, paint, furniture etc. I think this will soon disappear. As far as the water fluctuating, we discovered that we had a bad Holby valve (mixing valve) that controls all of the hot and cold water mix going up to our guestrooms. The valve was replaced overnight last night. I hope you will visit us again when we have completed everything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

As others have stated it is an older hotel that is being renovated. As result you can get great weekend rates. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed with flat screen TV, fridge and wifi. Great place to stay in you want to hit the Mall. It is also close to several government agencies like the FAA & HUD. The L'Enfant Plaza metro is nearby but be sure to use the D Street exit. In addition to the Hotel restaurant, there is a Starbucks in the same building. But nearby food options are limited especially on weekends as most of the food court at L'Enfant Plaza is closed.

Room Tip: Stay away from floors that are being renovated where you will find tarps in the hallways and the wat...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FSYMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and promoting our weekend rates. DC truly has so many wonderful things to see and do and weekends are a great time to visit. I hope you will return and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I travel 160 days a year so I wasn't impressed. We stay here because its in close proximity to the capital. The place is being renovated but the place is old and tired! Fitness center is very dirty and not updated. You will need a cab to go anywhere for dinner,
Shopping or
Nightlife ! I've stayed here many times but it doesn't pass the test! Try another hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Our owners are investing millions of dollars into our renovation. All guestrooms, bathrooms and hallways will be complete the first week of April. Our meeting rooms are almost complete and we still have some major changes coming. We will be adding a 24 hour Market in the hotel, renovating our buffet in the restaurant and completely redoing our fitness room. Our fitness room is going to be moved to the roof, overseeing the Capitol building and our pool. It will also be two rooms; one for cardio and the other for weight machines, free weights and stretching. Great things are still to come, so I do hope you will try us again. I think you would be pleased with the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My work just moved locations across from this hotel. I recently stayed three nights and was pleased at the overall rooms (LARGE), customer service and on-sight food. There aren't a ton of restaurants in the area, but the on-sight restaurant and room service were great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your very favorable review of the hotel. I do hope on your next trip to DC, you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
986 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,527 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $136 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing