We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #82 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Extremely handy for visiting all of the major attractions. Unfortunately our room overlooked the railway and was rather noisy but apart from this it was a quite enjoyable. The staff was great and very helpful and the rooms clean.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper try to avoid the rooms on the railway side of the building. The view is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PZ604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to the states and Washington, DC. I appreciate you reviewing our hotel. I hope if you are ever back in this area, you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    1,119
    407
    127
    67
See reviews for
998
480
127
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
st louis
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel was under renovation while I was there. They actually had a sign in the elevator that the water would be turned off for 2 hours for certain rooms one day! Thank goodness I wasn't in one of those, or I would have really been upset! Said they would provide bottle water and the bathrooms would be open in the lobby for anyone that need them! Really?? I am going to go down to the lobby whenever I needed to go to the bathroom??

I also was supposed to be getting a King bed, when I checked in, they said none available and gave me two doubles.

Make sure you try and get a room away from the train tracks....the train goes by at all hours, not to mention, next to the train tracks, they were demolishing a building and they also do that 24/7!

When I returned from my day out, the maid had been in the room and left clean towels but did not take the dirty ones!!!

I think if a hotel is going to be under renovation and your stay will not be up to par, they should give you a break in the rates! Paying almost $200 a night for that is ridiculous.

The best thing going for this hotel was the location! Very close walk to the National Mall, all Smithsonians and the Metro.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenpStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us. We are undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation. Every room in the hotel (532 rooms) is being gutted and completely redone. The new look is both modern and elegant. I truly believe our guests are going to be wowed when everything is complete. As far as the water, renovation is always a challenge. Things come up when you least expect them. We discovered that when we were removing our toilets to put in the new ceramic tile floors, the water valves didn't hold in some rooms. Therefore, to put in new valves we had to shut off the water to some rooms. I believe in keeping our guests informed on what is happening. Unfortunately, it did indeed inconvenience some of our guests.
I do hope you will visit us again after we are completely done with our renovation. I think you will be pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Air temperature in hotel > 80 water temperature in shower <80. Popcorn ceiling falling on me as I slept. Train tracks directly behind hotel was quite noisy but it was not as bad as the construction both across the street as well as inside the hotel. The paper thin walls can be interesting if your the perverted type but not great if you are alone or have children. 21st Amendment bar is very expensive but otherwise ok. This hotel's saving grace is its location in proximity to the air and space museum and it's staff could not have been any nicer.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank logan149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We appreciate all of our guest's comments. I'm sorry you experienced what you did. We have started a major renovation of the guestrooms and bathrooms. As part of this renovation, all of our mixing valves and angle valves are being replaced. This should eliminate the water issue you mentioned. I do appreciate your comments about our staff and location. I hope you would give us another try in the future. I really believe that given all of the work we are doing, I think you would be quite pleased with the results.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location if you are planning to visit the Capitol, the Smithsonian museums, the Mall or monuments. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were actually there when they required to shut the main water off but they provided ample notice and drinking water during the shutoff. Overall room was a little small for a family but the location and roof top pool made up for it. I wouldn't wonder the streets at night around the hotel. Great overall stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
I appreciate you staying with us and reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. Thank you for telling others about our location, staff and how we handled our water riser replacement valves. I hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were able to park our car and leave it in the garage the entire weekend. We walked to the National Mall, the monuments and the White House. The front desk staff was very helpful, giving us a list of activities, local restaurants, and directions. There was a Starbucks entrance from the lobby, so my cousin, who was visiting from Italy, could have his morning espresso while I enjoyed the coffee available in our room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review of our hotel. I appreciate your comments about our location, staff and food & beverage outlets. I hope you will return and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at this hotel on our family vacation across the East Coast. When we booked we were confirmed in a room with 2 queen beds, however when we arrived we were told the hotel only offered double beds. After waiting for some time we were "upgraded" to a room with a king bed and pull out sofa. It wasn't ideal, but we had no choice as the hotel had been pre-paid.
The hotel is very close to the Smithsonians and the Mall, but as far as restaurants are concerned there are none in the vicinity, unless you count McDonalds - which is about 3 doors down. Oh, there is a small take-out pizza place, but when we went in there, the man behind the counter didn't speak English so he was unable to take our order.
There are 2 or 3 bars/restaurants in the hotel complex, however the one night we decided to try one, we looked at the menu at the entrance (along with the prices) and once we were seated we were given a totally different menu with increased prices ranging from 30-50% over the menu prices at the entrance. Needless to say we were not happy spending about $50-$60/person for hotel restaurant food so we ended up leaving. And to give you an idea of the amount of people utilizing the in house restaurants, when we were there (about 7:30pm) there was only one other table in the restaurant in use.
There is a deli in the complex, but it was closed every day when we got back to the hotel - usually around 4:30pm.
The room we were "upgraded" to was right over the railway tracks - the trains traveled along it maybe twice a night, which was slightly annoying, but nothing we couldn't live with. The air conditioning unit was just outside our room in the hallway which gave off a horrendous sound in the hall, but thankfully it couldn't be heard in our room.
Each day a copy of USA today was delivered to our room, which was a nice touch and they didn't charge for internet access, which is also a great perk.
Parking is about $35/night and you self-park in an adjacent secure lot. Be careful when you check out, we paid for 1 nights parking, but were charged for 2. Reception did sort that out before they billed our credit card.
DC is a great town and there is so much to do. I liked the hotel, but next time I would choose something closer to restaurants and other amenities & attractions rather than being on this side of the mall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railway tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
First and foremost, I want to thank you for staying at our hotel. Second, I'm sorry you experienced what you did. We have started a major renovation and as part of the renovation, we are converting all of our double/double rooms to queen/queen. We also do try and honor our guest's room type requests. However, there are occasions when other guests extend their stay or change their room type upon check in that will effect a room type. We also are doing some things to the guestrooms that should help aleviate some of the noise you experienced. I hope you will return and visit us again once our renovation is complete, which is at the end of March 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Located near the smithsonian museums just a short walk to the bus which takes you to Dulles airport for $5 bargain. The staff were great the bar located within the hotel served us some cold drinks and some very tasty food.
Granted I was there during the government shut down so the hotel was quite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeloBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for still coming to DC despite the shut down and staying at our hotel. I hope you had a good visit and I hope you will visit again when everything is open and operating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#57 of 140 in Washington DC
985 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#31 of 140 in Washington DC
727 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Property: Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing