We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #83 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I spent a week here and the staff did a great job helping me enjoy my stay. The room was a beauty and very comfy. :D. I left feeling relaxed and pleased with my stay. I will definitely stay there next time i vist

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and that you would recommend us and also stay with us again next time you come to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,389 - 1,395 of 2,622 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

hotel is very nice and in great location .no real issues except if you eat it is very pricey ,they have a breakfast buffett and regular menu.the prices on the regular menu are so high you are basicly forced to get the buffett.standard fare but they make the omlet as you watch which is nice because it is fresh.they say unlimited juice and coffee but if you ask for more then one it seems like they are not thrilled .hotel is nice though parking garage is another 35.00 per day and parking is very tight so be advised .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for staying with us for your visit to Washington, DC. I appreciate your comments. In most major markets, food costs and parking are usually much higher than in smaller cities. DC's parking tax is 18% which contributes toward the $35.40 total parking cost.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in Holiday Inn Capitol for four nights,good hotel from all aspects.We did have a problem in being locked out of our room after 3 nights as reception were supposedly told by Qantas that we were only staying 3 nights not 4.Have a meeting with our travel agent to find out how this happened & why we would be locked out when all our belongings still in room.Latosha & Alex were very professional in handling this situation although should have been a better way of handling lockout.We wasted 2 hours of our precious site seeing time sorting this out but had excellent paperwork from travel agent to show 4 nights paid for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

I'm sorry you experienced what you did. I'm glad everything worked out. I appreciate you mentioning how Latasha and Alex handled the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Read reviews on this hotels prior to booking & weren't sure what to expect. We stayed 6 nights. The hotel is more than adequate - fantastic location (1 block to Air &Space Museum), clean room w/clean, comfortable beds, lots of hot water for showers & more than adequate bathroom towels,toiletries etc. Yes, we heard the trains & No, they didn't bother us any more than the other traffic noise. Front desk personnel were friendly, informative & helpful as were the people at the travel desk. Starbuck's that could be reached thru the hotel was wonderful. Food in restaurant & bar pricey but good. Only negative is lack of restaurants in the area other than McDonald's & Quiznos. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishLady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and your very positive review of our hotel. I really appreciate it and the fact that you would return. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Arrived at this hotel for 3 days. The location is great, rooms were clean and comfortable it also has a Starbucks on site which is a great feature when you are looking to get up and moving in the morning and the breakfast is really great there but the service is not friendly , the black Africa short hair lady supervisor she was rude and unfriendly, she need to conscious of their interaction with the guests. Overall, we were very happy with the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel for your 3 day visit. I appreciate your comments and review of our hotel. I'm so sorry you felt our restaurant supervisor was rude. I would appreciate it if you would contact me with further information. I can be reached at 202-479-4000.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 9 nights this month. The location is extremely convenient for sightseeing and getting around DC via the metro. However, the walls are paper thin and we could hear the conversations of the guests in the next room. The room was also set up weird as the tv was off to the side which made watching it from the bed uncomfortable. Our room was also located on a corner and below us was the front entrance street where all the taxis lined up. We were awakened to the sound of yelling and bickering over fares each morning. Obviously this is not the hotel's fault and I guess something staying in the city comes with. I am including it as mainly a heads up to future guests.
The best thing about the room was the cleanliness. The housekeeper kept our room stocked and ready for us when we returned each day.

The service at the hotel bar left something to be desired. It seemed like we were unwanted patrons being as it took more than 5 minutes to be greeted and then at least another 5 to get our drinks. At a busy bar this could be understood, but it was not that busy and others were being taken care of in a much timely manner. Also, the service was bad on numerous occasions, not just once. As for the breakfast restaurant, the service was better but still slow. They also try to force the buffet on the guests, and seemed perturbed when we ordered off the menu. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant twice during our stay.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are wanting to see the smithsonians and other area attractions in DC. You really cannot beat the location. However, don't expect outstanding service or great rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

We really appreciate you staying with us for your 9 day visit in Washington, DC. I'm sorry the cab drivers were so loud. You are correct, we have no control over them, but still I will have our bell staff check on them in the mornings. We can encourage them to be quiet and stay in their cabs.

As far as the service in both the bar and restaurant, that is something I can do something about. I have printed your comments and am going to discuss with both our bar and restaurant manager. Service should be friendly and prompt at all times.

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Decent Hotel, Clean rooms, -- very close to the Mall so that you can walk to a lot of the places however if you come to DC in the summers you wont want to do that. Costs approx. USD 15 from the station by cab. Concierge was not really very helpful as was the travel desk but luckily we had made all our bookings prior.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I will look into yur comments about our travel desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
1,618 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#99 of 142 in Washington DC
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $106 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing