We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, Clean, Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #81 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Safe, Clean, Convenient Location”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here, and we chose this hotel because of it's location, and convenience. Parking is secure and located beneath the building. (Yes, there is a charge, but you're DC, so expect to pay for it.) This Holiday Inn is only a couple of blocks from the Air and Space Museum, so you can walk to most places. We heard the train nearby, but it's not so close to disturb your sleeping. If you are sensitive to sound, request a quiet room. This was not a problem for us. Our only complaint would be that our mattress was sagging a bit, and yet even that did not keep us from falling asleep. This hotel is not highly recommended by some because it is not near a lot of restaurants. However, you will not go hungry. There is a Starbucks next door. They also have a restaurant bar and a bistro serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ate a tasty meal in the restaurant bar, and were very satisfied with our meals. Washington Holiday Inn Capitol is an excellent value in DC, and remember Friday and Saturday night stays have lower rates.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room. Some rooms are better than others when it comes to train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTRTeach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for visiting us again. I really appreciate your favorable review of our hotel, location and food & beverage outlets. I hope next time you visit the city, you will once again be our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    1,174
    427
    131
    70
See reviews for
1,064
514
133
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We flew into Dulles Airport and got the metrobus for $6 dollars per person one way to L'Enfant Plaza Metro Station. The hotel was literally a 5 minute walk from the stop.

We arrived at this hotel at 10am because of our early flight and I was worried we wouldnt be able to check in but we checked in no problem and went straight up to our room.

There was a good variety for breakfast and the staff came over straight away offering coffee and orange juice. We also got a free newspaper waiting outside our door every morning.

The location is great, very close to the US Capitol and the Mall where the vast majority of museums are. Also being very close to L'Enfant Plaza which had 4 lines stopping at it, it was the gateway for the entire city.

There was a lovely restaurant in the building across the road called Vie de France. Also Quinzos was handy for take outs as we were walking around all day and not really in the mood for going out for dinner. CVS was good for buying little random snacks.

We were interested in doing a tour of washington at night to see all the places lit up, there are several tour bus companies and the concierge gave us information on all companies, so it was easier for us to make a decision based on what we wanted.

The lobby could be a bit manic at times, and there was one night where the bar was packed to capacity and extremely loud nightclub type music, but we were out most of the day and straight up to the room just looking for an easy base for our trip so this hotel did the job for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleKIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel here in Washington, DC and the very detailed review. Hopefully, if you return to states and are back in our area, we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel staff is courteous and professional and the location a block away from the Washington Mall is superb. It is a block away from the Metro but there are no restaurants other than a McDonalds and a couple of cafeterias nearby. The hotel, however could use a bit of refreshment and updating. It is acceptable as it is but it could be better appointed in general terms. Kind of reminds me of hotels I stayed in East Germany many years ago. Watch out for noisy rooms and avoid those that face the railroad tracks unless you enjoy loud train noises early in the morning. The hotel is locate next to tracks that serve a commuter line among others so those rooms could be a problem. In a recent stay I requested and got a room away from the tracks only to be lucky enough to get a party going in the room next door on a late Sunday evening with guitar music and all. It took the hotel over 45 minutes and three phone calls to deal with the problem. Ruined the start of my workweek in DC.

Room Tip: Stay away from the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJS-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I also really appreciate your comments about our professional and courteous staff and our location. I'm so sorry you had the issue of loud guests next door to your room and that it took us so long to correct the issue. As far as the hotel needing updating, we have a major renovation planned for the end of this year (2013), in which we will be updating all of our guest rooms, bathrooms, hallways and public space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa maria, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel was in a great part of the city as far as walking to quite a few of the museums. But be prepared for little to none good restaurants nearby. A very dirty McDonald's was down the street from the hotel as well as a pretty good Quiznos. There also was a CVS close. The problem was that most of these places close early because they cater to the office people in the area and not the visitors. Other than that there is a pricy restaurant in the hotel along with a cafe that's open for breakfast. Some of the museums have food courts but it's all fast food. We didn't have a decent meal the whole week we were there. A nice Chinese or Mexican restaurant would have been nice. Even a Denny's, IHOP, Chili's, etc. would have helped, but no such luck. Very disappointed in the food choices but that's not the hotel's fault. Just a heads up if you're going to stay there....

The room was very average. Some of it was refurbished but some of it was not. Tile in bathtub surround old and the furniture looked like it was original. Beds were comfortable and it was clean. Several times we had no hot water in the morning so had to shower at night.
For $279 a night, I expected a little more.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms that face the train tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathySanataMaria_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. I don't know if you were aware, but 2 metro stops away, or a short walk, there is an area with a variety of restaurants and clubs. The restaurants vary in cuisine and cost. We usually suggest taking metro or a cab to the restaurant and then taking the short walk back to the hotel. Hopefully, you will visit us again and go visit this area. There is a great Mexican, Irish and seafood restaurant in that area that I really like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a catch-all: business travelers, school groups, convention-goers - they are all here! It's a no frills place, but I slept reasonably well. Overall appearance is little dingy and beat up, carpets really need to be replaced on a more frequent basis, etc. wifi was spotty, tv channels spotty, etc. gym was functional- a few treadmills and elliptical machines, but still a little dirty. where this shines is its location. It's a block away from the air&space museum, mall, metro, etc.

Personally, I wouldn't pay over $150 a night for this hotel unless there is some pressing reason for the location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenGateTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
First, let me start by saying I love the picture of your dog on your Trip Advisor account. Second, thank you for reviewing our hotel. I hope you will come back and visit us again once our renovation in November is complete. I think you will be amazed at the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My biggest problem is the floor in the bathroom was disgusting. I asked for the to really clean it after the first night ( I was there for three) but it was only slightly better. At least they tried but really can't they get a good grout cleaner. The staff was a little slow and disinterested too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliffsideinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I'm sorry you had issues with your bathroom floor. We do clean the floor, but over the years the grout has definitely discolored. In November when we do our guest room renovation, we are replacing the tile floor and there will be all new grouting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

While this hotel is in a convenient location for what I needed, it is very subpar. For $200 per night I at least expect a clean room. It's gross - dirty, old dinged up furniture. Would definitely spend $50 more and stay anywhere else in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleBittyBritty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We truly appreciate all comments from guests who have stayed with us. I'm sorry your stay with us was less than what you expected. We have a major renovation scheduled starting in November 2013. This renovation will include all new furniture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
948 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,493 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Property: Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing