We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nothing fancy, nice place to sleep.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #80 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, nothing fancy, nice place to sleep.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you plan on only using your hotel to sleep...this is the perfect place! It is SOOOOO close to the air and space museum and everything else! There are cabs out front to take you anywhere you want if you get sick of walking.

Hotel lobby is beautiful, but rest of hotel is a bit out-dated. We stayed in a 2 room suite and it worked out well for us since we were out all day every day. The bed was super comfy and sheets and pillows perfect. Wallpaper peeling, carpet "bubbled" up from ground, noisy air conditioner, finding previous occupants garbage under the sink, maids cleaning towels left in the room, old towels left of hooks...all were overlooked when compared to the price we paid and the proximity to everything!

I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone who just needs a place to sleep between busy days of sight seeing!

Also, it is right by where all the food trucks stop on weekday lunches!

Room Tip: 2 room suites are HUGE!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaaaaaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for recommending our hotel. I'm sorry you had the issues you experienced in your suite. We should have done a better job servicing it. I hope you will return and visit us again, especially after our renovation this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    1,102
    404
    125
    65
See reviews for
978
475
125
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
403 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,547 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Let me start by saying a good Hotel is made up of many combinations of things that come together to create a good experience. I am. Platinum Ambassador in the IHG loyalty program, and as an Ambassador I am loathed to say anything negative about an IHG property and will tend to take a Diplomatic approach.

So if you read the reviews below you will see some negative points that are certainly true, but to start with the staff were all very friendly, efficient, and dealt with all my enquiries fast and to their very best ability, you got a real sense that it mattered, that I was listened to and they reacted politely and positively. Scott handle our check in and as a Ambassador I was upgraded to a suite, and the staff on the front desk sent up a lovely fruit plate, with a card which they all signed, a very nice touch.

Yes the Hotel was built 60 years ago and the furniture looks like its straight from a TV show set Mad Men, but I love this show and the nostalgia is a wonderful experience, and most importantly the rooms are very clean and whilst may look tired they are lovingly looked after, by a very efficient housekeeping staff, who are very helpful and always saying good morning with a smile. In November this the Hotel is going through a major refurbishment and modernization program, so next year these rooms will be history just like the current decor is.

Yes the rooms at the back of the hotel are on a train line, with goods trains through the night, but ear plugs or noise canceling headsets will resolve this. If this is not an option then be sure to request a front facing room, when you book. The wifi is an issue, I blame Verison more than the hotel for that, but they have a great business centre. If you drag a chair out into the hall way you will get great reception and meet a few people whilst there, which was in hind sight a good way to get a feel of the place.

The hotel is in walking distance to most of the the museums such as the Smithsonian museums and the monuments which is great. It was 5 minutes from the metro which can be used for Reagan airport. Overall very convenient. There's a Starbucks in the hotel, two very well located and convenient restaurants and a McDonalds on the other block with a CVS which has a large range of grocery items as well as the usual pharmacy stuff, plenty of items if you wanted to make something to eat in your room.

All in all this is a good hotel, with very courteous staff, with very clean but only somewhat rundown rooms and excellent location to attractions make it good.
This year in June 2013 the Priority Rewards club gets a revamp, a new name and new benefits, with some better reward opportunities and will be called the IHG Rewards Club. So look out for those exciting changes. As an IHG Platinum Ambassador, I can recommend this Hotel Highly and the rewards program.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and going to stay at this hotel - make sure you ask for a room that is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VangeInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I want to thank you for your review but more importantly, for being such an advoccate of IHG and the IHG Rewards Program. We appreciate your support of our brand and our hotel here in Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for holiday visitors - easy walking distance to the Mall and Museums. The hotel however was extremely disappointing. The first thing we noticed when we walked in to our room was there was a big iron burn scorched into the carpet and the carpet was wet in parts. The curtains were grotty and broken, hanging off the window in places and the room was very old and tired looking. The hot water was luke warm at best and the air conditioning so noisy at times we had to turn it off. I had a large bottle of expensive body lotion taken from the room on our last day and when I contacted the staff about it I was told I must have been mistaken. They were rude and unhelpful and didn't back to me until I raised the matter agin on checkout. I was then told someone would go with me to buy a bottle from a local pharmacy. This was not satisfactory as I would have missed our flight. The staff member was extremely rude and arrogant and told me there was nothing she could do. I would never stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it to anyone despite its great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 914LindaM914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We truly appreciate all comments from guests who have stayed with us. I'm sorry your stay with us was less than what you expected. I wish you would have asked for me or the Assistant General Manager during your stay so we could have addressed the issues you mentioned. I believe our hotel is better than what you experienced and I would be very interested in talking with you further. If you wouldn't mind spending a few minutes talking to me, I would appreciate you contacting the hotel at 202-479-4000 and asking for me, the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Thank you Holiday inn Washington D.C. This was a very clean and GREAT stay. Check in was easy, we had a small problem with our reservations, but the front desk was happy to get us right into the room and make us feel welcomed. Rooms were the cleanest I have ever seen...Thank you to our sweet maid on the 6th floor, I think it was Marie. We were along way from home but when we entered the Inn we felt at home. Please stay here...its the best in town!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review of our hotel. I just forwarded your comments to all of our employees. We take pride in our employees and in our hotel. Again, I truly appreciate your comments and I hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

First, I don't want anyone to be turned off by the average rating. This is a pretty large hotel that does a lot of business. I was in Washington DC for business and where I need to be everyday during my stay was right across the street from the hotel...very convenient. The rooms are nice but a little worn and older. They are clean, but as I mentioned you can tell they get a lot of wear and tear.

My biggest negative on this hotel was the bar/lounge and restaurant. Very slow and bad customer service. I'd recommended taking a nice walk at night to get a decent meal...trust me it's worth the trip. The lounge/bar does have live jazz during the week, so that was a welcome sight for me.

Also, if you stay at this hotel be advised that there is a train that comes through early in the morning almost like clockwork around 6am. Very annoying, but I used it for my alarm clock because it was so predictable on its arrival time.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the train tracks....you'll be sorry if you don't especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trey97225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us during your business trip to this area. I also really appreciate you reviewing us. I have forwarded your comments about our food outlets to our Food & Beverage Director. Service is very important to us and it sounds as if we have some opportunity to improve in the areas you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn mainly because we had half a day in DC and were looking for a convenient hotel for sightseeing. Good choice. It is an older Holiday Inn property but clean and spacious. Restaurant was nothing special but OK and the room rates were very OK compared to other hotels. It is close the the Capital and various museums, but there are no outside dining options nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlMoosbrugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We understand you have many options for lodging when you visit Washington, DC. We appreciate you staying with us. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay while taking our kids to DC for the frist time. The hotel was clean and the staff went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. My husband came down with the flu the last day, and the staff was so wonderful-- they arranged for a much later check-out so he could rest while the kids and I got a few hours in at the zoo. Close to metro, close to museums!

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the back side of the hotel next to passenger and freight train tracks. Ours was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit to Washington, DC. We really appreciate it. Hopefully, you will visit us again in the future. I hope your husband is feeling better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#56 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Property: Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing