We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A terrible place to stay.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #80 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A terrible place to stay.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

As long as you never have to speak to the staff, are not in your room from 6-9 PM, and don't mind a semi dilapidated room, it is probably an OK place to stay. The staff is not only rude, but the manager just keeps telling me he doesn't know what happened so he can't address it. The mini fridge doesn't work. The handle to the closet was busted. And from 6-9 PM they have extremely loud live music blasting from one of the hotel restaurants. The incessant thumping is intolerable. Only after repeated complaints was I offered another room, and by then it was late the last night of my stay. All the staff and manager would say to me over and over was "I apologize, but there is nothing I can do." One last thing. The room service is overpriced and well below average. Buffalo wings were undercooked and bloody.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbrownfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We truly appreciate all comments from guests who have stayed with us. I'm sorry your stay with us was less than what you expected. It sounds as if on your last night with us, the live music we provide our guests disturbed you. We offer live jazz music only twice a week per requests from our guests between the hours of 6:30 and 9:00 pm. I'm sorry that this was so disruptive and that we didn't handle it well. We should have been more attentive. My understanding is that we offered to move you to a quieter room. I'm sure on your last night with us, it was inconvenient. Again, I'm sorry your entire stay wasn't as restful as you would have liked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    1,101
    404
    125
    65
See reviews for
978
475
125
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel at 10.30am after staying in a shoe box in NY. We were checked in straight away by an extremely helpful and friendly lady on the front desk. The room itself was of excellent size for me and my son. There is everything a family needs here, 2 restaurants with vouchers, a self serve laundry and a wonderful tour desk. It is close to the hop on hop off buse stops and just down the road from the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum...... A wonderfully located hotel. An extremely pleasant experience, thankyou!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheridan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I'm so glad you and your son had such a delightful stay with us. It sounds as if you had a good time in Washington, DC. I hope you will come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The weather was very cold but we could walk to a several attractions with pleasure. We didn't need to use the car that was safely parked in the attached garage. It also has a Starbuck's to drink a hot espresso or chocolate. The room was clean,quiet, "roomy" and relaxing. The staff was kind,helpful and almost invisible ( unless you need them ). It was a very good experience with the family in Washington, DC.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giocalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you and your family for staying with us during your trip to Washington, DC. I'm so glad you had a good stay while visiting the United States. We hope if you are ever back in this area, that you will choose our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very kind front desk people. Quick service, arranged us to a room to the north so I think it is quite. The room facility is a little old but very clean and comfortable. I ordered online for 200/night and I think the price worth it. Especially for the best location.

Room Tip: I lived on the 6th floor facing the department of education. Very quiet at night.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank terence y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and reviewing us positively on Trip Advisor. We hope you will choose us again for future visits to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for three nights as it was the cheapest we could find as we were here over the election night. The hotel is right next door to Le Enfant plaza and the metro station which has 4 different lines running through it, red, blue, yellow & orange. It's therefore very easy to get around the city. The Mall is about a 5 minute walk and the Capital building is 10 minutes away, all the museums are within 10 minutes walk too so it's a great location for that. However the hotel is in the middle of a buisness district and so it's fantastic if you are working in one of these buildings, but for example there are NO restaurants nearby that are open in the evenings, so we found ourselves getting taxi's to find somewhere nice to eat!

The rooms themselves are very standard, nothing special, but everything you will ever need in a room. There is a train line behind the hotel which some rooms face and the trains are not shy using their horns, and they run through the night. I'm a heavy sleeper so it didn't affect me but just so you are aware. The fitness centre is small but perfectly adequate with 3 treadmills, a bike and a cross trainer. There are also free weights and a large weights machine.

Overall a good stay at this hotel but it's nothing special I'm afraid and due to the elections it was very expensive especially for what it was.

Room Tip: Make sure your room doesn't face the train tracks as the trains can be rather noisy. They are at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenpanther30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
What an exciting time to be in Washington, DC! I appreciate you staying at our hotel over the election. You are correct about our great location, everything to see (monuments and museums) are just a walk away. And you are also correct about being in a quiet, safe area of the city. Like you mentioned about being so close to the METRO, only 2 stops away and you have a variety of restaurants and night club venues readily available to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here right before the election in 2012 to do some sight-seeing. The location is ideal in that it is right in the middle of the Capitol Square. They have their own parking garage which is attached to the hotel. The room was clean and quiet and the staff was helpful. The restaurant is very average but it is convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jms1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed three nights at this hotel because my kids loved the museums. It was 5 minutes walking distance from the air and space museum. Room was very spacious. The facilities were worn out a bit. But spending much times at the museums was wonderful merits of this hotel. Many other sites were very close, We took taxi to White house and Lincoln memorials and so on. It is less than 10 minutes and taxi fares were very cheap too. I will stay this hotel next time.
The restaurent was really good. We have two dinners at this restaurent. The stake was absolutely good. My kids and we all enjoyed it. Next night we tried the buffet, which was good but not as good as the stake. Please try it. You will love it.

Room Tip: Try hotel restaurent~. You will love it. Within a few minutes there is CVS store but they close duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 118hyejin118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It sounds as if you and your children stayed busy visiting the museums. I also really appreciate you and your family eating in our restaurant. I will pass along your comments to our Chef. We look forward to having you all return, to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#56 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Property: Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing