We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #81 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is the one where I say whenever I attend the Graduate School. The location is convenient and personnel there are very helpful and pleasant. Edith was especially helpful when I checked out. She told me how to get to the Metro station that would get me to Washington Reagan National Airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We are so glad you choose our hotel when you come to Washington, DC to attend the Graduate School. I appreciate your comments about our hotel's location and service. I really appreciate you specifically recognizing Edith. I will share your comments with both her and her managers. We look forward to having you back for your next training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,684 - 1,690 of 2,634 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel over Labor Day weekend and we enjoyed it very much! It is a few blocks from the Museum of Air & Space and the Mall which made this hotel extremely convenient for us, as it was our first time in Washington D.C. and we didn't know much about where we were going. We enjoyed being able to walk from the hotel to the Mall over the course of the weekend.

The hotel itself was very nice. The lobby was beautiful and there were plenty of options for dining. We had breakfast in the restaurant one morning and really enjoyed our meals. Taxis wait right outside the hotel for any trips that are too far for walking distance, which was very helpful. Our room was very comfortable and well kept. There were only two issues with our stay in the hotel - many of the television stations were very fuzzy and that there was a noisy train that passed right next to the hotel. As we were in D.C. to sight see, the fact that all of the television stations didn't work wasn't much of an issue for us though I could see how it could be problematic for others. The train had really confused us the first time we heard it because we didn't know what the sound was, but it wasn't too disruptive. After the second time we were used to the noise and it didn't really disrupt us.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again! It was comfortable and its proxemity to the Mall was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

It sounds as if you and your friend had a busy Labor Day Weekend. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry you had issues with your television.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here 9-21 till 9-23. Everything was great. We tried to checkin early but no rooms were clean so the FD let me use the parking garage early so we could see the sites of DC. We didn't get back till after checkin time so it was convenient. When I did checkin, the FD was nice. The room was great. Only thing that bothered me was when we went into the 21st Restaurant in the hotel. There was no sign to say either to seat yourself or wait to be seated. So we just sat. Waited 15-20 minutes just to get menus. When a waitress finally came to us, my girlfriend asked to see what wines they had and she then left again. We just left then and went downtown to Ruby Tuesday's. Breakfast Buffet was really good at the Capitol Beastro. Besides dinner everything was really good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wvalumni2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

It sounds as if you and your girlfriend had a good time in Washington, DC. I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel. I appreciate your comments and will look into what happened at the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill. We are always looking to improve our service. It sounds like we could inform our guests better about seating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Choose this hotel due to it's proximity to the mall, museums, monuments, etc, all of which are within walking distance. On arrival we recieved and upgrade to a 2 room suite, greatly appreciated, as we were staying here on points. Room was spacious and clean. We arrived late on Saturday night, and shortly after getting to our room, construction crews showed up and started jack hammering.....kudo's to the hotel staff for immediately contacting the construction crew supervisors and sorting out the problem, by 1030ish all was quite. Management posted notices throughout the hotel the next day, appologizing for the distrubance...well done. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on lower levels at the back of the hotel....unless of course you are really fond of trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

I'm happy to know you would stay with us again. Thank you. As far as the jack hammering, the city decided to show up and correct a sewer issue for a fast food restuarant at the end of the block without notifying the hotel. My understanding is that the city choose that time to do the work because car traffic was slow. Thankfully, we were able to get in touch with the right people and stop the work. I really appreciate you acknowledging how we handled it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel has perfect location. It's really good choise if you are fun of museums. Hotel is in 3 min walk from National Mile wich is line of national museums of USA. Metro station is also in 2 blocks. Rooms are not small, clean, staff is helpfull. Breakfast is not comlementary. Free internet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moscovite2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for promoting our hotel and location. Hopefully, you had a good visit to Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This property is a block or two south of the National Mall, a block from the Metro, surrounded by office buildings. The hotel is an older Holiday Inn, but the lobby appears to be renovated. My room was large, bright, facing the north side, so was fairly quiet (south side faces railroad tracks, so can be noisier). While the room was pretty dated, the room was clean, had a small fridge, flat screen TV; as others have noted, the shower pressure was terrific (probably old-style showerheads, so will be gone when renovated) Wireless internet is free, worked well. The fitness center is adequate-bright, but with some pretty dated equipment. There is a CVS and a couple of fast food places down the block.


Overall, this is a perfectly fine place to stay in DC-it's convenient, old but kept up, and has what you need. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are away from the railroad tracks, so are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We would love to have you stay with us again. Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We do have guest room renovations coming soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is at a great location very close to the National Mall and all museums. The hotel has good room but they need a refresh, althoough they were very clean and neat. Also room were good size. Breakfast is also reasonable with some nice choices. I would stay here again because it is a great location

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jashwinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your comments and am happy that you would return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,660 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $104 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing