We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right behind Air and Space, great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #81 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Glenview, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“right behind Air and Space, great for families”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We found this hotel to be an excellent value for staying close to the attractions on the Mall. Rooms were clean and just as you would expect from Holiday Inn, and the staff was pleasant. The restaurant was fine, and we enjoyed ordering pizza one night. It is true that there are minimal dining options within walking distance, but we usually wanted to venture out anyway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhershey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
A mid-westerner!! I'm from Indiana so I always really enjoy knowing when we have guests stay with us from the mid-west. I appreciate your comments about our hotel. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    1,176
    429
    131
    70
See reviews for
1,066
515
133
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Not terrible, not great. Hotel room was showing some age with bathroom cosmetics being most apparent. The desk chair needs to be replaced. The air conditioner couldn't keep on an 82 degree day. The lobby looks great but it stops there. Everything on any other floor looks 30 yrs old. Bed was fairly comfy, room appeared clean but I always feel nasty in a hotel room. Awesome location but next time I will spend another $40 a night and stay somewhere a bit nicer. Hopefully someone will come up with a fix for slamming doors soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The Hulk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
I appreciate all comments from our guests. And just so you know, we do indeed have a couple of major renovations scheduled. First, we will be renovating all of our guest bathrooms this winter. Next winter, we will be concentrating on the guest bedrooms and hallways. I'm excited about our plans. I hope you will return so that you can see the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our Family of 4 stayed at this hotel from Sunday to Wednesday. The service was top notch! This hotel was in perfect location to everything with the exception of restaurants. The rooms were clean and the staff was excellent. The rooftop pool was a big hit to cool off in the afternoons! The breakfast buffet was a little on the pricey side for barely average food.

Room Tip: Request rooms on the quiet side of the hotel there is a train that passes through directly behind th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family5298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
It sounds as if you and your family had a great time in Washington, DC and at our hotel. I really appreciate your comments about our customer service and our location. Hopefully, you will visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Have stayed here multiple times, and never disappointed. On-site parking, and they will allow you to park early if your room isn't quite ready yet. Coffee maker in rooms and a Starbucks right off the lobby. Within walking distance to all Smithsonian museums and art galleries. Great, comfortable atmosphere for relaxing after a busy day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheenaisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We really appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and your business. Thank you for telling others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed in summer, and is a standard Holiday Inn experience. Main limitation is that hotel is not near any good eating places - you are essentially forced to have meals here, unless you fancy a metro ride, cab or long walk. Also, at night there is nothing around, especially if you like a nice wander or just want to look around.
Restaurant/bar is ok, but breakfast is very average.
Service and everything else was good. I'd stay again, but would prefer to be closer to some activity, especially at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieAnth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Our location is great for visiting the Nation's monuments and museums as we are only a couple of blocks away from the National Mall. We are also in a very quiet, safe area of town. However, like you said, if you are looking for night life and a variety of restaurants, you do indeed need to either take the Metro or a taxi to the other side of the mall. The good news is, is that it is only 2 Metro stops away and you have a variety of restaurants and night clubs available to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel is significantly less expensive compared to other hotels this close to the mall, but is clean and nice. Easy walking distance to the mall and museums (even for kids). Food options in the hotel are not that great. But there are a few deli's within a block that have breakfast and lunch. Also, the L'Enfant metro stop is close so getting around town is pretty easy. This means the train tracks are close, but the sound of the air conditioner drowned most train noise out.

Rooftop pool was a big hit with the kids. Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for recommending our hotel as a great place to stay here in Washington, DC. I'm glad you were here in the summer so your children could enjoy our rooftop pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel three times over the last three years as I am a Priority Club member and it is located close to my training facility. Property is dated, but clean given the age. The train does run directly behind one wing of the building, so I would definitely recommend changing if possible. Internet connection is slow, despite them advertising "high-speed". Youtube videos, Hulu, etc, will not consistently stream without the need to buffer. The fitness center is touted as having the "latest equipment", however that is debateable. I am 6'4" and could not use some of the equipment as the ceiling is relatively low. Better off running around the National Mall, or sticking to free weights in the hotel fitness center. Staff is friendly enough, would not exceptional or outgoing. You will not find many places to eat directly aroung the hotel, so be prepared to walk a bit unless you want to purchase from the hotel (prices $$$ on a scale of 5). Location is hard to beat for all the sight-seeing, as most of the main attractions are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Make sure to request as far away from the train tracks as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Work_Traveler_DFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty to both Holiday Inn as a Priority Club member and to our specific hotel, the Holiday Inn Capitol. I appreciate your comments. We are currently planning our next renovations: bathrooms this winter, guestrooms next winter including the fitness center. By the way, we are looking to relocate our fitness center to a location that will accommodate a higher ceiling. We look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
951 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,501 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Property: Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing