We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a great location at a very affordable rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Ranked #54 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2010

This is a great hotel located about 15 minutes walking time from the White House and National Mall. It was clean and comfortable and the staff were some of the friendliest I have encountered. I searched the area and this was by far the most affordable given its proximity to the museums and monuments. The resturant was good and kids under 12 eat free. We had a great experience and will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights and was pleased with the hotel and its location to the main tourist sites. The rooms were very clean and fresh. Check in staff were helpful and attentive. The car park is under the hotel be aware the alley which leads to the carpark is is easy to miss and of course its on a one way street.
Places to eat in the evening were a few blocks away we headed towards Dupont Circle area.
Roof top swimming pool was adequate, kids cooled off before after a days sight seeing before heading out again in the evening. Life guard was on duty.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Sids_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Never having been to Washington DC before, I quickly realized it is a very old city. With that said, I was pleasantly surprised to walk into the classy almost elegant lobby of this hotel. The staff was very helpful. The roof top outdoor pool was fun. Although it closes at dusk. There is a lifeguard on duty. There was no fan in the bathroom to remove the humidity. It is a five block walk to the nearest metro rail station.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on a city visit to Washington DC. Its in a great location, not sure about the White House title though as its at least 5 blocks away. The rooms are small but well equipped and beds were very comfy. The staff were very helpful, would definitely stay in this hotel again. It has a roof pool which was a blessing as was very hot and humid in July. There are some great restaurants and bars nearby, we liked the Commasary on P street.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmlMatfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

The hotel was average. The room was good, the receptionists ok, hotelrestaurant ok, poolarea good. Just a few blocks away from The White House, but far away from any restaurants. The aircondition in the room was turning itself on and off all the time, really irritating. The hotel was not bad, but not great either.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimix1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

nice room, great bed, unfortunately other guests let their kids run up and down the hallways - I cannot understand why people think this is acceptable in a hotel, especially when the weather outside was perfect and several parks nearby to let the kids play in

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccbaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

First of all, remember that Washington DC is the only (so I've been told) booming market in the US so no DC hotel is going to be inexpensive. This Holiday Inn provides value for your money that makes it worth the cost. Even though the hotel's name includes "White House" it is really seven blocks north and one block east of the White House. Nevertheless, it is a safe and interesting walk. It's a 15 to 20 minute walk to the Washington Convention Center down Mass Ave. I walked to the Lincoln Memorial and Vietnam War Memorial area and back to the hotel though that walk isn't for everyone. Wherever you walk in the area around the hotel you will find tree-lined streets with many interesting and charming buildings, homes, and even monuments. In another review of this hotel someone said there are no restaurants nearby. Not so -- just continue north on 15th Steet a couple of blocks and you will find plenty of restaurants. The hotel was full of convention goers but I didn't hear anything from anyone. The front desk staff was very helpful and the housekeeping staff did a great job every day on my room. I stayed five nights at the hotel I didn't try the hotel's restaurant so I can't comment on it. The hotel's laundy facilities (washer and dryer), are not listed on it's amenities list, are provided at no charge. A machine dispenses laundry detergent for $1.50. I did find that the pillows and mattress were too soft and did not provide the firm support I am used to. You can save money by going to a suburban hotel or spend more money by going to a downtown hotel. The Holiday Inn Central provided the middle ground -- a good value for my money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,634 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#50 of 141 in Washington DC
702 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House

Address: 1501 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $101 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed internet and fitness center. The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral. As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue Cafe(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city. We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you to enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing