We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central and close Dupont” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Ranked #68 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Panama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very central and close Dupont”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel is centrally located, lots of restaurants around the area. Hotel was booked and forgot to indicate that I wanted a non-smoking room. When I first enter the room it was a smoking room, couldn't change the room because the hotel was all booked and then they could change it two days after, but decided to stay with the one I was assigned. All in all it was a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to indicate if you want a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your hotel stay, however, I apologize that we did not have a non-smoking room available for you. We have listened to our guests and since the majority prefer non-smoking rooms, we have transitioned the entire hotel to non-smoking. We hope that you will come back again in the future when visiting Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    445
    185
    44
    27
See reviews for
334
185
54
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Room (815): The room is probably average in size for a hotel in downtown Washington DC but for overall hotel room sizes it’s a bit small. They didn’t have a king sized single bed so I have two doubles; no stretching out for me! The room does have a refrigerator but no microwave. The office desk is a bit small but matches the somewhat small room (grin). It is updated with a 32-inch flat screened TV. There’s also free Internet access so I didn’t need to use my HotSpot enabled cell phone.

The Lobby: The lobby is laid out in regular fashion; is pretty modern with the kitchen right off to the left when standing at the front counter. There was an issue with the key issuance system; it crashed so somebody had to let me into my room. Hopefully they’ll have it fixed before I head out later this evening. It was a bit of a headache but hey, when depending upon PCs to get work done they do tend to fail from time to time.

Breakfast Kitchen: They have a restaurant so no free breakfast. I left right at the time of their opening so I didn’t eat.
Building: The hallways are nice and large, the carpet in very good shape. The hotel has 9 floors and have three elevators so the wait wasn’t too long.

Location: Where do I begin? Let’s start of by me sitting on my ‘shrink’s’ couch re-telling my life’s story from age 5. What was I thinking? Business trip, grab a hotel that’s smack downtown DC. Yes, I need to start from the top. Getting to the hotel? Tragic! Absolutely tragic! Construction, two lane roads WITH cars parked next to the curb, several round-a-bouts…..did I mention construction? Even with Google Maps’ sexy voice chatting in my ear, I made several wrong turns, couldn’t get back on track with all of the one-way streets and had to jump lanes several times from busses, pedestrians, bikers, USPS stops and people generally getting in/out of traffic. Pasted the hotel…..DRAT! I had to round the block and try again; darting across incoming traffic since the hotel was on the left-side of the road. Sweaty palms, shaking knees and several minor heart palpitations later I made it to the front door; whew! Getting to the hotel isn’t for the faint of heart. Parking? Well, that’s back out to the street, left turn into an alley that’s no bigger than what a SmartCar can fit into (well, it was bigger, maybe it was my nerves?), around the side, then back and then down into an underground parking garage. Six foot five inch entrance and I’m in a SUV. Yea, I was ducking in the driver’s seat while inching forward; parking is not free by the way. Ok, will all of that said, you can walk to the White House and other DC sights once your car is nestled deep underground. I was too busy dodging things while looking for the hotel to pay attention to see if there were any restaurants and other attractions around a corner.
Cons: The room was a bit small, it takes nearly an act of God to get to it, and the bathroom is tiny. The room is pretty clean if you don’t give it a thorough inspection like under the sink faucet or the little bit of grime around the silver drain in the tub.

Final Thought: If this was a site seeing DC vacation I believe this hotel is situated in a nice spot for people who don’t mind spending lots of time walking to the sites DC has; a bike would definitely be faster and better. This was a business trip so I didn’t take advantage of the location. Not sure if I’d book this hotel again in the future since my business wasn’t in downtown DC. I booked the hotel due to the nearness of the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Injaznito H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Reserved two king rooms but upon arrival, the manager tried to give us two double beds instead of the king room.

Apparently they upgraded two couples with our room. Not helpful or honest in any way.

My company has a national account with Holiday inn and unfortunately, Fuad the manager, does not realize that I control our company's travel accounts.

Monday morning I will be either renegotiating, or outright canceling that account.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Autzenduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Autzenduck,

Thank you very much for the feedback regarding your stay with us. I am very sorry that we did not provide you with the accommodations that you reserved & that our staff was not efficient in resolving the issue.

We strive to provide excellent guest service and accommodations and make improvements based on what our valued guests tell us.

I would like to obtain additional information regarding your experience with us, so I sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheraw
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel was nice and clean. Staff was very friendly and asked if we needed anything when they saw us. Wasnt in the hotel much, attended big family wedding. I would stay there again when I come back to DC again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra Brock J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location near Dupont Circle and 14th street & Logan Circle. Clean and nice property. Spacious room with all the regular amenities of a Holiday Inn though surprisingly there was no refrigerator in our room. Courteous and helpful staff. It is a steal for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALLIGATOR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Hotel stay was great, friendly service! Room was right by elevator and figured would be up all night with the noise, but never heard it! Easy to catch a cab to anywhere or the tour buses! Not very many restaurants close by but the staff will show you to the area of a few. Would stay there again as it was quiet and clean and friendly staff and you don't find that everywhere!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeb1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had to stay in this hotel for 2 weeks for business... The stay was absolutley lovely. The hotel staff even put a microwave in my room since I was staying for 2 weeks on business. The Hotel was very clean, the staff was very helpful and the food in the restaurant was delicious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the DC area or visiting from other areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtr Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#73 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,107 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Washington Plaza
Washington Plaza
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,992 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#112 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC
#92 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Property: Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Address: 1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed Internet and fitness center.The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral.As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue Cafe(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city.We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing