We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value; clean rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Ranked #53 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value; clean rooms.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Central is popular with the bus tours groups and is constantly busy. It is a bit older but the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The Metro/subway is about 4-5 blocks away at either DuPont Circle or Ferregut North. The pool on the roof is small but welcome after a hot day of sightseeing. Nice views from up there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    578
    219
    49
    30
See reviews for
471
256
73
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington D.c.
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Be sure to decide if you don't need parking ahead of time so you can tell them if you don't need parking so they don't automatically assume you need it and start writing it up, other than that the people were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mauri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to parking being assumed upon your check in. I will certainly go over this with our front desk staff. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Thank you to all the staff!! A huge welcome on arrival at reception desk, and the dining room staff, the cleaning staff and concierges ...all exceptional in their pride for their work. The hotel room's cleanliness was just tops ...everything done everyday...it was a pleasure to come back everyday to a room that was done perfectly and everything covered, from replacement of towels (in abundance) to toiletries and coffee items. you never had to ask for anything. We've stayed at more expensive establishments and are let down by untimely room cleaning (late pm) and no replacement of consumables ... but not here...we had NO complaints with service or rooms. BUT... what did let them down is the restaurant/dining room , service here excellent , but the food not great. Did not have fresh ingredients, morning fruit bowl was described as variety of fruits and berries but you got melon and melon and one blueberry, lunch was buffet style salads ...not good as the lettuce on offer was decomposing before your eyes .... etc so no our meals here were not successful. But we will come back to stay because everything else was perfect and very good value, including the position !!! Yes , very happy here! Thank you HI!

Room Tip: all rooms seem to have a view of sorts, even the non-street side rooms you had skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Mi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We just returned from a week's vacation in DC and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the HI - DC Central. The staff catered to our every need. We asked for a roll-away on our reservation but they didn't have one when we checked in. Somehow they came up with one for us. We were upgraded to a King Suite so we had plenty of room. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The pool felt great after a hot day in DC and the roof top view was also neat. The hotel is centrally located b/w 3 or 4 metro locations (about 4 blocks). You can easily navigate to all the DC attractions without a car and if you need to take a taxi its around $10-$15 to get to most of the places of interest. We walked from the WWII Memorial back to the hotel one night and it was about 1 mile. Personally I like the area. There is a Whole Foods, CVS, 7-11 and a number of great restaurants around the corner. We ate several times at the hotel restaurant and their breakfast buffet was great. The management and staff at this hotel are probably the best of any IHG hotel I've ever stayed at, for that matter any hotel I've stayed at. They really want you to leave happy. They made our vacation very enjoyable. We will definitely stay here next time we return to the City. Thank you to Barbie and everyone at the HI DC Central for a great stay.

Room Tip: King Corner Suite with a sofa bed and a roll-away was great for 2 grown children and 2 parents. 2 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckygoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay with us. We are very pleased that you had a wonderful vacation and that you spent it with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Really convenient: 25 mins walk to white house, 10min walking to the metro plus 2 stops from the subway to the Mall (easier for a $10 cab ride especially when you have a larger group), 25min walk to U street where lots of restaurants are, and 10min cab ride to union station. The room is nice, no fridge/mini bar, no microwave, no breakfast though, but free tea/coffee/internet. I never got connected to the internet, and the front desk did not provide any info of the network name or user id. So I gave up easily. There is a gym and pool in the hotel, 8-dust, which I never got a chance to see or use, but good to know the option. It is sweet of the hotel to put the weather report in the elevator, reminded us the umbrella for the storms during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieLParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for letting us know about your stay. I apologize that we did not properly inform you of internet instructions. I will make sure I review this with our staff. I am pleased that you found our location to be convenient to the attractions and noted the transportation options that made it easy for you. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Beach, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My daughter and I just returned from a 3 night stay and we were impressed with the hotel. As Holiday Inn Vacation members we were automatically upgraded to a suite and the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. The tour bus that we opted for picked us up at the hotel, the roof top pool was neat to experience, and the buffet breakfast was good and reasonably priced. The only drawbacks to the hotel were that everything is a decent walk away, the TV reception was not very good, and they were doing service on the elevators-which created long waits from time to time. Keys were needed to go up to the elevator and you felt secure. Great value!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2-night stay. The customer service was great! Everyone was so helpful.
Walking to the popular sites is about a 25 minute walk, but we decided to take a cab;it was 5-10 minutes and approximately $10, so not much more than the metro would run you for a few ppl.
Hotel is a great value for the price in an expensive city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityHopper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review about your stay! We are glad you enjoyed your trip to Washington, DC and we were able to be a part of it. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Central and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#36 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#75 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Property: Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Address: 1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed Internet and fitness center.The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral.As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue Cafe(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city.We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing