We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great stay recommend but a little further out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Ranked #60 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great stay recommend but a little further out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights with my 6 yr old daughter. great hotel but a little too far out of the popular areas for my liking, was easy enough to walk to those areas but when your dragging a 6 yr old it could hard. i was lucky my daugher was very happy to walk and the hop on hop off buses stop a short distance up the road. aussie embassy is a few doors up also so that was a nice surprise too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meegeemoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    490
    199
    45
    28
See reviews for
400
209
58
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doraville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We showed up early with a large group on July 4th. The staff was so nice and professional. They worked to get our rooms done early and they went out of their way to help us park our 15 passenger van with trailer. They reserved spots for us outside in their fenced in rear lot their employees used. The only draw backs is the pool is great but they won't let you eat at the tables or anywhere on the pool deck. And yes, the elevators need ventilation. I would stay here again. There is no breakfast and the restaurant is very expensive in my opinion. They also charge $31 for parking even if you stay there. Ridiculous! Beds were very springy to me. The beds at a Quality inn we stayed at were much better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a 4 night stay and had a great time! The hotel is older but in good condition. It could use some updates especially ventilation in the elevators and the pool area could be improved but the lobby and rooms were great.
We had a room with two doubles on the 8th floor for 2 adults/2 kids a little small but we were t in the room much anyways. The beds were comfortable and AC worked great which was well appreciated after long days sightseeing in the heat and humidity.
We only had 1 breakfast at the hotel and it was good but a little spendy. Thanks to the previous reviews that had the tip for Whole Foods, we frequented the store often! Huge variety and the prepared food bars and deli were open until 10p. Our other favorite was the Shake Shack near DuPont Circle, best quick serve burgers I've ever had!! We ate there 3 times it was so good and the shakes were awesome too!
The hotel has a great location for accessing the metro, the big red bus or the trolley tours. It seemed a little further than 6 blocks to the White House but is walkable.
Overall we had a great stay and I would recommend this hotel to others looking for a clean, affordable hotel in a good location in DC

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jworm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was with a group so had to stay at this hotel for a few days because that is where my group was. At first I was concerned that it would be depressing but it wasn't at all. The room was very clean and had everything that I needed. The internet was a little flaky but I managed to work with it anyway. Since I was alone I had plenty of room for my things. The bathroom had a nice big counter to spread out all my make-up, etc. In addition there was another sink outside the bathroom. There was a desk and a sofa with a coffee table. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were nice. I don't think there was any movies on the t.v. but I could be wrong about that. I didn't have room service but I did eat at least three times in the dining room. The service was extremely friendly even though not always super fast. One night I ordered fish and it had crab in it and that was not what I ordered since I am allergic to shell fish. They apologized many times and the chef cooked me the order that I had wanted in the first place. The only thing was that I did have to ask the restaurant manager about it since the waiter kept insisting that it didn't have any crab. He finally went back and asked the chef who admitted that he had made a mistake. If you are on a budget this is a good hotel - I saw lots of Brits here.

Room Tip: King bed, non-smoking with view and fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Openstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Holiday Inn Central. I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay. I apologize that your restaurant experience was less than satisfactory. I have forwarded your comments to the manager so that he can make necessary improvements. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I kept looking for hotels in the DC area at a decent price for parking. I found this hotel and it was a good stay for us. Parking was $31.50 per day, which is still on the expensive side, but better then other prices I found. When we pulled into the front drive, the valet wasn't too friendly. He saw that we were getting stuff out of the car but he didn't bother to ask us if we needed help or anything. I worked at an InterContinental before and I know that the valet person gives the first impression to the guest about the hotel and I didn't get a good feel about the hotel. I let it go and then went to check in. My husband went to park the car, which was in a garage under the hotel. I got us checked in, and the front desk agent was nice. I asked about the transportation system and he was very helpful. We went to the room and it was very clean. Now I inspect rooms when I go to hotels. After working in a hotel, I know the standards! The bed was comfortable and the pillows were great! The view wasn't too bad, we were on the 3rd floor. It was in a good location compared to the downtown and all the sightseeing places. I am a PC member, and I was recognized as one at check in and I was also given a voucher/coupon for $10 off any meal in the restaurant or a complimentary drink. We weren't able to utilize it since we were always gone. It was a good gesture! I appreciate hotels that give attention to their club members. I would certainly come back and stay! Just please make sure the valet staff does their job up to the standards of IHG! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFloricel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeastern US
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Clean WELL maintained old building right in the heart of town. Picked for affordability. King room on 7th floor. Everything looks brand new in the room. Maid did a good job. Bed softer than I like .... not broke down just super plush. Staff aims to please at all levels. Good security. Really tight parking under hotel at $36 a day. Must check in first to access the garage. Wifi is painfully slow but free. Managed email ok but no way you could stream anything or get much production done. Attempted remote login to work database and could but so slow it was not much use. Pool on roof. Only place in hotel I could say obviously needs maintenance but water was clean. Pretty unpleasant nothing but concrete up there but sufficed for swimming laps. Would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sehja1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously as we strive to provide excellent guest service and comfortable accommodations. I apologize that our wifi was not satisfactory during your stay. We have taken action and started an upgrade to install new access points throughout the building. We hope to have you back again in the future to show you the great improvements that we make based on what our guests tell us. Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

As we prepared to visit family in DC, we sought counsel about where to stay. We were instructed to find something relatively close to Dupont Circle. As you might expect, this is a pricey area, even on weekends. We searched TripAdvisor and found this Holiday Inn to be the best overall value.

Here's what we found:

!. We hate the traffic circles
2. The Holiday Inn was very close to public transportation, and in a great neighborhood.
3. We found some of the other hotels do not have off-street parking. Those that DO have parking have expensive parking, as does this hotel.
4. The parking for this hotel is indoors - a big plus!
5. The hotel itself is old, as are its competitors. It's not in terrible shape, about average for Holiday Inn's traditional hotels.
6. The air conditioning system sounds like it's under water - I suspect the high humidity overloaded the through-the-wall unit, or its drain was clogged. We had to shut the thing off to get any sleep Sleep is difficult enough in a downtown hotel due to the sirens.
7. The hotel is solidly built, so we heard nothing from adjacent rooms nor those above. This was very good indeed!
8. The staff was very pleasant and very helpful.

All in all - given the spread of prices between this hotel and others in the area, I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Robert M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. However, we are thankful that you enjoyed your stay despite some issues. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#76 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,189 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,144 reviews
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Conven...
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC
#94 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Property: Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Address: 1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed Internet and fitness center.The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral.As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue Cafe(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city.We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing