We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Ranked #68 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very pleased with the price, location, standard and service of this hotel. Only gripe would be that the free wifi really didn't work in our 7th floor room. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in DC.

As an aside, my friend and I were at this hotel just before the hurricane swept the east coast and had to change our travel plans while we were staying. We ended up in the lobby at 3am rebooking hotels and buses and were delighted by the service of Jon who was on duty at the time. He was super helpful and really helped eased this stressful situation. He is a credit to the hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johugrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    445
    185
    44
    27
See reviews for
334
185
54
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perh Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

only 10 minute walk from the 'good stuff' to see. hotel was clean, the service good, the help also good. the weather wasn't great (too hot) but that wasn't the hotel's fault. we liked the location (wife, me and 4 adult 'kids'). we weren't in washington long - so don't know if we missed out on anything. Hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

well, stayed there 1 week to attend a convention a the Washington Center, a few blocks away, maybe a 10 minute walk...

Rooms were okay, nothing fancy, nice big telly with lots of channels, Free wifi was a bonus

Staff generally excellent, i would say i would stay in this hotel again

a problem with my credit card though, since the room i stayed had already been pre-paid in full, the front desk staff charged me again for my stay, although ive been told they will reimburse me, its still a hassle

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kart_501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Used for a 3 day stay in DC.

Check-in hassle, friendly professional reception staff.

Clean, well appointed rooms. Spotlessly clean bathroom.

Breakfast room, buffet on offer, good breakfast options, attentive staff, a great plus!

Location? Easily found by taxi drivers, a 10 (?) minute walk to nearest DC metro stop.

Neighborhood? Safe, not too noisy, despite constant front door traffic.

Positives? Professional staff, clean rooms

Negatives? Infuriatingly annoying hotel wifi. Patchy. Inconsistent (but complimentary!), no mini-bar-fridge.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Piers C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Pros:
* Friendly & responsive staff
* Decent accommodations

Neither pro nor con:
* Neighborhood seems transitional. If you head towards P, there's a Whole Foods and a few restaurants but preferred to dine closer to downtown.

Cons:
* Noisy - outside and inside, late night. Stayed on the second floor, so perhaps it's quieter higher up?
* Parking - vehicles over 6'5" won't clear garage and their alternative is courteous but not convenient
* Nearest metro stop is at least a 15 minute walk. Doesn't seem far but after a day of museum tours, it's far! Walking downtown takes about 20-30 minutes

In the future I would prefer to pay more and stay either closer to downtown or in a hotel that makes me feel more comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hope-this-helps-ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is within blocks from the White House. We parked the car in the private parking and walked everywhere, from the White House to all the Memorials and even to the Capitol.
The restaurant has good food for a reasonable price. Rooms are clean. Very good value for this location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

I am happy to share your comments with our restaurant and housekeeping staff along with many thanks for their continued excellence in guest service.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash Vale
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was our first trip to Washington and we stayed four nights at the Holiday Inn. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the receptionist and given a room on the 9th (top) floor.
The room was extremely spacious and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. I found all the staff to be very warm and friendly.
The hotel decor was a little old fashioned but everywhere was clean. There was a launderette area on the 3rd floor, which was free of charge, very handy for us Brits on holiday.
The hotel is situated on a busy road. We turned off the air con at night as it was noisy but you could still hear the humming of the corridor air con.
The nearest metro is at Dupont Circle, which is about a 15 minute walk.
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJo230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I am pleased that we helped make your first trip to Washington, DC pleasant and comfortable!
Thank you very much for letting us know that our staff provided friendly service, I am happy to pass along thanks to our staff for a job well done.

Our decor is very traditional here at Holiday Inn Central. We are excited that we have a wonderful renovation planned in the coming months that will add a new look and feel to the hotel.

We hope to see you again and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Central!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#73 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,107 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Washington Plaza
Washington Plaza
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,992 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#112 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC
#92 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Property: Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Address: 1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed Internet and fitness center.The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral.As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue Cafe(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city.We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing