We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Ranked #59 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
North Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Used for a 3 day stay in DC.

Check-in hassle, friendly professional reception staff.

Clean, well appointed rooms. Spotlessly clean bathroom.

Breakfast room, buffet on offer, good breakfast options, attentive staff, a great plus!

Location? Easily found by taxi drivers, a 10 (?) minute walk to nearest DC metro stop.

Neighborhood? Safe, not too noisy, despite constant front door traffic.

Positives? Professional staff, clean rooms

Negatives? Infuriatingly annoying hotel wifi. Patchy. Inconsistent (but complimentary!), no mini-bar-fridge.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Piers C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    488
    198
    45
    28
See reviews for
399
207
58
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Pros:
* Friendly & responsive staff
* Decent accommodations

Neither pro nor con:
* Neighborhood seems transitional. If you head towards P, there's a Whole Foods and a few restaurants but preferred to dine closer to downtown.

Cons:
* Noisy - outside and inside, late night. Stayed on the second floor, so perhaps it's quieter higher up?
* Parking - vehicles over 6'5" won't clear garage and their alternative is courteous but not convenient
* Nearest metro stop is at least a 15 minute walk. Doesn't seem far but after a day of museum tours, it's far! Walking downtown takes about 20-30 minutes

In the future I would prefer to pay more and stay either closer to downtown or in a hotel that makes me feel more comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hope-this-helps-ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is within blocks from the White House. We parked the car in the private parking and walked everywhere, from the White House to all the Memorials and even to the Capitol.
The restaurant has good food for a reasonable price. Rooms are clean. Very good value for this location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

I am happy to share your comments with our restaurant and housekeeping staff along with many thanks for their continued excellence in guest service.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash Vale
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was our first trip to Washington and we stayed four nights at the Holiday Inn. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the receptionist and given a room on the 9th (top) floor.
The room was extremely spacious and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. I found all the staff to be very warm and friendly.
The hotel decor was a little old fashioned but everywhere was clean. There was a launderette area on the 3rd floor, which was free of charge, very handy for us Brits on holiday.
The hotel is situated on a busy road. We turned off the air con at night as it was noisy but you could still hear the humming of the corridor air con.
The nearest metro is at Dupont Circle, which is about a 15 minute walk.
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJo230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I am pleased that we helped make your first trip to Washington, DC pleasant and comfortable!
Thank you very much for letting us know that our staff provided friendly service, I am happy to pass along thanks to our staff for a job well done.

Our decor is very traditional here at Holiday Inn Central. We are excited that we have a wonderful renovation planned in the coming months that will add a new look and feel to the hotel.

We hope to see you again and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Central!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My family stayed here oct 5th and 6th on the 9th floor . The room was clean and the lg flat screen tv were nice. If you are a walker its great, you can leave the car and make the whitehouse in 7 blocks.It does cost 32 dollars a day to park but for DC not bad.Parking is behind and under the hotel and is very tight for large vehicles .I would recomend this hotel because overall it is good value. The doubletree is right next door for comparison.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrike59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed her four nights and the location could not have been better for sightseeing. In decent weather with good shoes, all the central DC attractions are within walking distance. It was, of course, beastly hot, so we caught cabs down to the White House and the Mall a few times--eminently reasonable rides ($7-12). As we arrived in town on Amtrak, it was also a similar cab ride from Union Station.

The neighborhood itself, Logan Circle, offers a handful of truly tasty food just a block away, from pubs to gelato to a Whole Foods and even a wine/liquor store. The in-house restaurant served a fine breakfast buffet, including made-to-order omelettes.

The linens were clean and crisp, the staff were friendly, and the rooms, though small, were adequate for sleeping. Bed was comfortable.

The only issue was Wi-Fi (which is free--a nice bonus, considering I've paid $15/day in other hotels for Wi-Fi access). Our initial room was on the 5th floor, at the end of one wing--a lovely view, but outside the range of their router. No signal at all. Staff accommodated us by moving us to a different floor and a room behind the elevators. Honestly, I didn't mind the elevator noise. It was a fair trade for being able to get online with my iPad all week.

We will return and stay here again. For our purposes, it was ideal. (And we don't need luxury accommodations. This was affordable.)

Room Tip: If you want Wi-Fi connectivity, ask for a room close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

A good central hotel in DC, room was nice, spacious, and very clean. Reception staff and concierge were all lovely and really helpful - a credit to the company. However some of the restaurant staff in the evening were a bit cheeky the way they spoke to us, over bearing as you were trying to eat (must have been pestered every 3 minutes or so by two different members of staff), over familiar in the way they spoke to us, and tried to charge us extra on our bill one night by nearly 20% due to "their mistake", actually felt like they were trying to con us and it wasn't a genuine mistake. Found a large beetle in my napkin that night too, member of staff didn't seem to believe me, and looked himself before replacing my napkin! Restaurant staff on the evenings of 24 and 25 Sept spoiled what would have been a great hotel stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bride2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Bride2207,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and leaving a review. We are pleased you liked our clean rooms, reception services and concierge. It is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received from our restaurant staff. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#77 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,187 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,141 reviews
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Conven...
#57 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC
#94 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Property: Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Address: 1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed Internet and fitness center.The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral.As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue Cafe(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city.We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing