We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very close to the White House, easy walk to attractions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Ranked #56 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very close to the White House, easy walk to attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Clean, warm rooms. Very helpful staff. Great location, walking distance to White House and Monuments. Only fault was the room service menu was not child friendly at all.

Room Tip: up high but all rooms look out to the street and onto the other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heljayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    533
    209
    46
    28
See reviews for
427
237
67
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed 3 nights 4 days at this Holiday Inn with no drama. We paid in cash upon arrival to avoid any undo holds on our bank account. The Hotel was nicely decorated with holiday ornaments. The reception staff was helpful. There is no free breakfast, but coffee and tea all day in the lobby. We ate out daily, there is a Whole Foods Market, Starbucks, and many resturants less than a 3 blocks away. We watched the Monday night football game at Shoney's Bar good bar food and atmosphere. It doesn't matter what hotel I go to I always take my own cleaning supplies (Clorox Wipes and Lysol). Upon entering the room, I disinfected the area, and wiped down everything I could with the wipes, after my do over I felt fine. So the room was clean and then really clean with my added touches. The hubby had no issues with the wifi, as some previous reviewers stated. The hot water in the shower was great, and the cleaning staff is prompt. We were on the 5th floor and by 9am they were at the door ready to work. No loud noises or conferences so peace and quiet the entire stay. We did get to see the University of Buffalo's Women's Basketball team as they were staying there to play Howard University. They invited us to the game but we had plans, we were cheering for them but they lost :( overall this was a good stay for us.

Room Tip: If you are there to tour, you may want to stay some place closer to the attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laina1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

The hotel was very clean and the staff were so helpful and nice, the food was very good and we ate in the resturant and at the bar i cant say a word bad about our stay, the first time i have tasted meatloaf very nice - and i have never eaten any better than when we stayed here.

The walk to the underground for trains was very close and clean shops were near for drinks as the hotel charge $1.00 for a can of soda, and we did buy some bits for our stay.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We took what was given and were very impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulspread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for two days on my visit to DC and I was happy with the service provided.I had previlage club membership so i got upgraded and had a pretty nice room. The hotel has a restaurant and bar on site. I was a bit bummed that the breakfast was not included in hotel but i can understand! Overall a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simple-Miracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Great value for the area. Hotel room was really clean and quiet. I had a great sized room with nice amenities and view. The staff was very nice. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
186 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We spent one night here after a 4 niight stay in NYC and a great choice of hotel. We decided on this hotel due to the location as it was within walking distance from all tourist attractions. The rooms were pretty much standard to any other HI i've stayed in before. Big in size, free wifi and friendly staff. The concierge, Larry, was very friendly however the reception staff unprofessional at times. When we were awaiting our taxi pick up I was observing them answer the phones and when guests were calling down to speak to them they were nice whilst on the phone but once they hung up there was a lot of sniping. It was hilarious but at the same time made me think they did the same when I called once.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan180680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
128 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

This hotel is very convenient to the White House and is a full service hotel
- Clean Comfortable Rooms
- Quiet
- Great Rates Available for the DC area - AAA or Government
- Comfortable Bedding
- Great A.C. with continuous fan for white noise
- Free Fast Wi-Fi
- Very Courteous Staff
- Rooms on the smaller size
- Very Good Resturant on Property
- Inconsistant Hot Water Temperture for Showering
- Accurate Wake Up Call System

I will put this hotel on the top of my list for trips to the DC area, didn't use the metro system so I cannot tell you how far the nearest station is.

Safe Travels,
Land and Sea

Room Tip: Use the AAA rate it is better than the Government Rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Land&Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#77 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Conven...
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Property: Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Address: 1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed Internet and fitness center.The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral.As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue Cafe(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city.We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing