We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Ranked #48 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We spent three nights for Easter at the Washington Marriott Metro Center. We loved the location. We walked everywhere from the hotel, really had to take the metro. Nice! The hotel is nice. We had a corner room on the 12th floor with a king bed plus a single sofa-bed. Only two problems during our stay: the hotel was full, lots of families... Noisy in the morning early in the room beside us (children & father yelling) and no more blanket for the sofa-bed. But after complaining a few time that only a bed sheet was not acceptable and a long wait, we finally got a bed cover around 10h30pm. Other than that, nice stay and helpful concierge...

Room Tip: Ask for a double sofa-bed as a single one is not useful during the day. You can only sit one person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for posting a review about your stay. Easter was certainly busy for the hotel and I'm sorry to hear that there was a delay in delivering some of the items you requested. Please feel free to reach out ot me directly should you have any additional comments or questions.

Best regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations
Washington Marriott @ Metro Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Right next to a convenient metro station, super easy for visitors to DC. Good value for the price and very friendly staff. Pricey parking but seems par for where it is situated
Would recommend to family and friends

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Chakradhar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I agree that our location is fantastic and am glad you enjoyed being in the heart of the city during your visit. We'll look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to DC.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations
Washington Marriott @ Metro Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Pretty much what you expect from a city Marriott. Plus is the Metro is literally downstairs and outside so if you want to park your car (that's expensive) or not bring one it's easy to get around via the subway. Easily walked to White House, Spy Museum, Crime Museum, a walking tour, Wax Museum, 2 stops to Smithsonian etc. Multiple places to eat around the hotel, including Starbucks on the lobby level. Paid for Concierge Level upgrade which was worth it for the breakfast (2 rooms, 2 adults, 4 kids). They also have appetizers and desserts certain days/hours. The only unpleasant interaction was we made it back for dessert at 9:15 one evening (hours supposedly 8-10pm) to find the place wiped out. We had some very disappointed kids so asked if there was anything left. A somewhat cranky female staff member finally brought out a few more brownies for the 4 kids to share. she instructed them one each. (?hello? I don't know who was in before and ransacked the place but we just got here.) The kids also took a dip in the saline pool which is also what you'd expect from an indoor/city hotel. No hot tub. Wouldn't mind staying again for location, wouldn't rule out looking around for a better rate though. Concierge was helpful with tickets and Bellman with luggage stored til later in the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Yes, this is a cookie-cutter Marriott. That said you know pretty much what to expect, and for a quick get-away we didn't want any surprises. The rooms are very clean, but small as is the closet. I wouldn't say the bathrooms were dated. It had a granite counter a newer, comfort height toilet, and the shower had a curved rod with updated rain shower head. Beds were very comfortable, towels were large and fluffy. Location is key here, literally above the Metro Center Stop, which proved to be super-convenient. Be patient at the valet for parking. It's a city, so it's crowded and busy so just wait your turn and ignore any honking horns, that's the way it goes. Check in was a breeze. No refrigerators in the rooms. I requested one when I made our reservation but it wasn't there. Not really a big deal for 2 nights so I let it go. Food at Fire & Sage was good but expensive. 3 dinners between 4 people and the bill was $70. Breakfast buffet, also very good but expensive at $60 for 2 adults 2 kids. Lots of food around you there, Cosi and Starbucks basically at the door step. McDonalds around the corner, and food trucks line up outside the hotel M-F during lunch hours. The only disappointment to us was the lack of a whirlpool. I saw some photo here with a whirlpool and read reviews that state as such, but we checked with the desk and it was removed upon renovation a few years ago. There is a small and crowded saline pool (yay, no chlorine!) and a basic fitness center w/sauna. Street noise was not a problem, but you do hear sirens now and again; you are in a city and that can't be avoided. All in all a great stay for 2 nights, convenient to everything. We did get a package that included parking ($40+ a day) and internet (ridiculous they charge $12 a day for it) but those "luxuries" are normally extras here. Would not eat the restaurant again due to price, and would probably pick the other Marriott convention center location since they have a whirlpool which we like at the end of a long day of walking.

Room Tip: A higher floor will help alleviate street noise if you are concerned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andyandsueinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Nicely located with walking distance to Capitol Hill, White House, Museums and ding. Welcoming staff, well-maintained and comfortable lobby coffee-house and bar. Clean bathrooms and quality soaps and shampoos. Great value. Good place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The main advantage of this hotel is its location. Rooms are OK - the standard size at Marriott's - but far from overwhelming. It's just the same old stuff over and over again; the bathroom in particular looked really dated, albeit clean. I tried the restaurant once and it was OK. In summary this hotel is a decent choice on a business trip but certainly not the kind of place I'd choose on a private holiday as it's totally lacking character.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lablanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen F, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Good evening Lablanche,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We actually renovated all of the rooms early last year and we always strive to be consistent as a brand. I do apologize that we did not exceed your expectations, as that is always our goal. I will definitely be sharing your feedback with the restaurant and will personally be looking into the detailing of the particular room you stayed in regarding the bathroom. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to speak further about this.

Thank you,

Jennifer Fiorilo
Operations Manager-Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Our stay was a quick overnight whirlwind tour of DC and the Cherry Blossom festival.
The employees at the Marriott were wonderful and helpful. We forgot to request a room without the goose down pillows, etc due to allergies. The staff were very kind and allowed us to choose a different room or swap out of the goose down on one of the beds.
Check in was quick and uneventful. Valet parking was tough at check in since it is mid-town and no one cares about hotel guests checking in.
Very nice hotel overall.
Only issue was a very loud guest in the room next to ours. Simply ignorant and rude by being exceptionally loud late at night and even banging on a drum. Yea, a drum. Unbelievable.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank 2GirlsAndaJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 142 in Washington DC
3,079 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 142 in Washington DC
4,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#68 of 142 in Washington DC
826 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#58 of 142 in Washington DC
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott at Metro Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott at Metro Center

Address: 775 12th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $138 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott at Metro Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Washington Marriott at Metro Center features convenient access to the best of Washington, DC area attractions, shopping and dining. Our premier location near the DC metro system provides guests easy access to the National Mall, Smithsonian Institution, CityCenterDC, Spy Museum and the National Portrait Gallery. Located within blocks of the Verizon Center and Walter E. Washington Convention Center, this Washington, DC hotel offers stylish surroundings for guests attending conferences, sporting events or concerts. Our hotel's location, engaging environment and dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, make us a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Meeting planners can explore the possibilities with over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of event space and 15 breakout rooms, perfect for hosting a variety of gatherings and events. With easy access to the region's major airports, Union Station and the Convention Center, Washington Marriott at Metro Center is a top choice for travelers to DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Marriott at Metro Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott At Metro Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Marriott Metro Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing