We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Reliably Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Ranked #48 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Reliably Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel several times. Our most recent stay was in early May, 2013. This is a nice property that is perfectly located for DC tourists; it is central to the most popular monuments and attractions, and is positioned on top of the Metro Center subway station. The rooms are very small, but are fine for touring stays. There is a Starbuck's in the lobby, which makes it easy to grab a quick coffee and snack. We also had dinner in the lobby restaurant on this trip, which was reasonably good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Black_Francis26508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    377
    96
    16
    11
See reviews for
269
175
35
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

After much deliberation on where to stay in and around DC, a rate popped up at this hotel that made it hard to resist, and we are glad that we picked the Washington Marriott at Metro Center. It is perfect for not renting a car, as the Metro Center stop of the Metro is on the same block, where you can catch the Blue, Orange, or Red Lines, allowing for a zero-transfer trip to and from DCA, where we flew in and out of on our trip. There was also a DC Connector bus stop a few blocks away as well. There is a Starbucks on the street level, along with a Cosi on the same block. Food trucks were lined up down the street during the weekdays as well, giving plenty of dining options. The Washington Mall was easy to walk to from the hotel, as was the White House.

As far as the room, it was clean and modern and decent sized. The air conditioning worked wonderfully, which was nice as it was hot and humid during our stay. The internet was fast and consistently worked, although it was not free. Housekeeping was wonderful, cleaning our room even in the late afternoon one day when we did not leave in the morning.

The staff was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this as a place to stay if you're looking to stay in downtown DC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNGophers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel was great! We had a "recently renovated room" on the 4th floor. The room was clean and very nice. What I loved best was the location. When we travel, we try to walk as much as possible. The hotel is located right at the Metro Center station. We arrived at Union Station and took a super quick metro ride to our hotel with no trouble whatsoever. Because of the central location, we were able to walk everywhere (Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, Smithsonian, etc.). The other thing was that it was about $70 cheaper than some of the other hotels around the same area.

Room Tip: We found many surrounding restaurants and stores closed on Saturday and Sunday. Keep that in mind w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajhalvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My sister and I traveled by train from Norfolk,VA. We had a very pleasant trip and enjoyed our stay at the Marriott at Metro Center. Our rate was $144 per night, very reasonable. We were able to walk or take the Metro to every location we visited. We found the hotel to be very nice, a spacious room, clean, and very comfortable. There was a Starbucks in the hotel that we enjoyed as well as a restaurant that we used twice. We got off the train at Union Station, walked through the station to the Metro and then proceeded to Metro Center. It was a short ride and we were fine with our suitcases in tow. We enjoyed sightseeing and the train ride home.

Room Tip: We did not travel with children or use the Spa so I can't comment there. Higher floors have les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMathisLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The service, ambiance, comfort and cleanliness were up to their usual standards. Marriott does an admirable job of keeping their properties up-to-date and easy to use for business purposes. The location is perfect: Starbucks in the lobby; Cosi next door; Metro at the door -- can't beat those amenities, along with the ones that the hotel provides.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblinMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a top notch location in the heart of DC. It sits on top of the Metro Center Station which serves all subway lines in DC. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was spotless each day. We had access to the Concierge Lounge whichever served hot breakfast and nightly appetizers and desserts. On our first day, I talked to Meg who was near the concierge desk, so I thought she worked at the desk. She gave me directions, restaurant recommendations, subway advice, and more. We found out later she is the general manager of the property. The location is perfect, just a short walk to the White House, National Archives, museums, and more. Many restaurants nearby, and there is a Starbucks in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Hotel was in a fantastic location to visit all of the sights in DC. Walking distance to anything you'd want to see and a Metro station at the corner of the block if you need to take it anywhere in town. Only negative note is cost for parking, $45 per day, but other than that everything else was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott at Metro Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott at Metro Center

Property: Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Address: 775 12th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott at Metro Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Washington Marriott at Metro Center features convenient access to the best of Washington, DC area attractions, shopping and dining. Our premier location near the DC metro system provides guests easy access to the National Mall, Smithsonian Institution, CityCenterDC, Spy Museum and the National Portrait Gallery. Located within blocks of the Verizon Center and Walter E. Washington Convention Center, this Washington, DC hotel offers stylish surroundings for guests attending conferences, sporting events or concerts. Our hotel's location, engaging environment and dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, make us a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Meeting planners can explore the possibilities with over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of event space and 15 breakout rooms, perfect for hosting a variety of gatherings and events. With easy access to the region's major airports, Union Station and the Convention Center, Washington Marriott at Metro Center is a top choice for travelers to DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Marriott at Metro Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott At Metro Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Marriott Metro Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing