We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious, lovely, attentive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Henley Park Hotel
Ranked #99 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
London
1 review
“Gracious, lovely, attentive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is very distinctive in Washington - 'olde worlde' - like it's pretending to be an Oxford college (only brick, not Cotswold stone!) Inside there are stone floors and tapestries, not marble, mirrors and chrome.
The room was a little small but extremely comfortable, gorgeous bed, thoughtful touches like free bottled water and an umbrella for your use and a robe.
The staff were lovely - helpful, attentive, friendly. I had a minor disaster which they handled very well.
In June 2013 I didn't experience any noise (as mentioned by others). I am an extremely light sleeper but in my room I didn't need the earplugs. Maybe I was focused on my work, but I didn't notice 'grimy carpets' or other things complained about here.
It's not 5 star modern luxury but I wasn't paying a 5-star price (maybe I got a good deal - just over 200 per night).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KawenaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your recent stay. Your description is very apt. Unlike most cookie cutter hotels our historic hotel offers a unique experience. I will be sure to pass along your thanks to he staff. I am pleased to hear that they were able to assist you.

Please come back and see us again.

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    332
    113
    33
    32
See reviews for
55
298
75
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I've come to really like the Henley Park Hotel. Over the years the rooms have been updated without losing their classic feel. The lobby and common areas are comfortable and clubby. It is right in downtown which means It is the opposite of glossy and modern and I personally find it a nice change of pace. The sheets were also so soft. If you have time, eat breakfast in the tavern. The dining room is lovely and the portions are huge so you could easily share with someone. The only downside is the bathrooms are clean and functional but not as up to date as other parts of the hotel. it is very convenient to business, metro and attractions. It also means you will hear city noise.However, I think for the price this a great deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromNYto?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. What a great description of our hotel, it's historic character, in-room amenities and staff committed to the best customer experience. I really appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you again, soon.

Warm regards,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Sorry, this place is not "charming." It is an aging property that has not been upgraded in years. Bathrooms are from the 1970s (they are, at least, clean). The carpeting in the room is ancient and feels grimy when you walk across it (the hotel does not provide slippers). Because of the old-school double-hung windows, the street noise is so bad (and I live right in NYC), that the hotel provides you with earplugs. The room service menu is extremely limited, and you don't even get a glass of ice water with your order - guess you're supposed to take a bottle out of the mini bar or drink from the bathroom tap. The staff is friendly and helpful, but that doesn't make up for the fact that this rundown place costs $400/night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VespaGirlNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I am so sorry that you found your hotel stay a poor value. Hotel rates can fluctuate based on demand, usually driven by Convention Center activities but are seldom $400. I value your feedback and appreciate that you took the time to inform me of your concerns. My team and i are very committed to all of our guest's satisfaction and I will follow-up with my housekeeping team, who do an exceptional job, to check all carpeting.
We have completed an ongoing renovation of three floors of the hotel and will continue with two more floors this year.
Although our hotel is unlike branded hotel I believe we offer an exceptional hotel experience.

Thank you,

Maggie Edwards
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

There is currently a massive construction happening directly opposite the Henley Park Hotel at the moment - so that's a major eyesore. That said - this old hotel is quite Noisy inside anyway - they provide ear plugs for ' city noises' - but it's mainly the air -conditioning, other doors slamming etc. My room faced some offices so the shades were all pulled down during the day - otherwise you'd be staring right onto someone's desk and them! Ok if you are out all day anyway.
Location is convenient for east side based sightseeing by walking - and you can walk to UNion station easily enough. Rooms are small but clean. Bed and sheets were clean and comfortable. Towels were good quality. Bathroom and shower were older but functioned well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auckland1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Although unsightly at the moment, the construction projects is a reflection of the growth happening in our vibrant neighborhood. Easy access to many of the sights, museums and the National Mall area do make this a wonderfully central location.
I am happy that you enjoyed the Frette towels provided and that overall you found your accomodations to be pleasant.

Many thanks,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teguzco
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

in the heart of the city, the Henley Park Hotel worked very well for us in all but its distance from the Metro. If you are taking the train from Reagan National or elsewhere in the city, you will find that you have a bit of a walk ahead of you. (Ignore the hotel's own directions from the Gallery Place-Chinatown station and get your own from elsewhere. The hotel's are vague and assume you have some idea where the Convention Center is.)

Our room was small but adequate to the needs of two travelers more interested in spending the time in the city than in the hotel. The bed was excellent, the bath clean and capable of providing all the hot water I wanted, quickly and continuously, even on the 6th floor.

Our room faced an airshaft and other hotel rooms, which might put some off. It served to protect us, however, from the seemingly interminable emergency vehicles of Washington, D.C. and the morning sun when we wanted to sleep in. (The blinds on the windows do an excellent job of the latter, as well.)

The bar off the lobby is an intimate place for a drink to wind down after cruising the city or eating at one of the many restaurants within a 6-8 block walk, including two we enjoyed greatly which are within a few blocks: Acadiana and El Rinconcito. (See my reviews of those for more information.) We did not try the restauarant, but the menu, pricing and selection seemed reasonable for a small hotel such as this.

Staff were polite but distant for the most part. A request for a few more hangers met with some resistance at first but they were delivered. Ice must be requested from the bar and can take awhile to arrive.

The honor bar, with its abhorrent pricing, will be found here but you will return from your day to find complimentary bottled water in your room.

We did not pay full freight for this room, but found a low rate and additional discount at a popular online booking site.

If and when I return to D.C., I probably will look elsewhere, but only because I'd like more convenient access to the Metro. We did walk to the National Mall with no real effort on a bright Sunday morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teguzco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. I will check the text for our directions so that we are not causing confusion. I am not sure which Metro stations you used but there are two exits to the Gallery Place Metro station(Red Line and connection to Blue, Yellow and Orange Line), the less popular 9th and F street exit is the one described on our web site but can easily be confused with the more popular 7th and H Street exit which is farther away from the hotel, 5 blocks from our location.
A second Metro station is located at 7th and M St (Mt. Vernon and Convention Center). This is the closest station to our hotel at three blocks.
I am glad that you found us and your stay to be a good value. The best discounted rates can also be found on our website.

I hope that you'll come back and appreciate your business,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinderhook, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This property, a member of Historic Hotels of American, is charming and well appointed. If you like small hotels with real character and attentive service, this could be for you. The rooms are small but lovely. The location is great, allowing guest to walk to most of DC's sights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astudyincontrasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I am grateful for your lovely and succinct review.
You personify our goal for all of our guests.

Thank you,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

In our second visit to DC we chose this hotel for residing nearby a diverse amount of DC highlights. What a good choice this was. In our daily walks we discovered many nice places for dinner and lunch, as well as shopping possibilities. And, we learned to find our way in easy walks passing White House, IMF etc. etc. We found the Henley Park a place to feel really at home. Kind and helpfull staff in a historic ambience, nice spacious rooms, very clean, comfortable beds.
Breakfast-, lunch- and dinnermenu with a good variety, very tastefull and nicely presented by kind waiters and waitresses. We will be surely back here.

Room Tip: In my guess all rooms will be equally equipped and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsLelystad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
What a pleasure it was to read your review. It is greatly appreciated. We always try to make all of our guests customer for life!

We hope to see you soon,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#70 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#58 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#111 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henley Park Hotel

Property: The Henley Park Hotel
Address: 926 Massachusetts Ave, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henley Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegance of a grander era at The Henley Park Hotel in downtown Washington DC. Constructed as the Tudor Hall Apartments in 1918, this historic address served as the home of notable Senators and Congressmen. Showcasing a stately façade of leaded, stained-glass windows and 119 grinning gargoyles - including two depicting the architect and his wife - the lodging struck the ideal tone for its distinguished clientele. Thanks to a staff as attentive to tradition as it is to the ever evolving needs of the modern traveler, the civilized spirit which made The Henley Park Hotel one of Washington’s most cherished homes is very much intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henley Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Park Hotel
Henley Park Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing