We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Accomodating and close to some good restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Henley Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Henley Park Hotel
Ranked #93 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Accomodating and close to some good restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hotel was very warm and charming inside. Not a lot of front desk staff but the ones who were there hustled and bustled to get things done. One of the doorman didn't seem very helpful when I asked him about a local restaurant, and I couldn't find the concierge, but the front desk staff stepped right in and helped me get set in the right direction.

Rooms are comfortable, clean and very contemporary feeling. I'd recommend a room facing the street and not the facing the interior enclosed "pit".

Area surrounding the hotel was busy with construction, but I never once was disturbed by noise. Other than that the neighborhood is very safe and relatively quiet.

Ideal convenient place to stay if you are attending something at The Convention Center.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden or street are preferrable. Great convenient place to stay if you have busin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Thanks for staying with us; I’m sorry our doorman was not very helpful. The staff is usually very helpful to all of our guests. We hope to see you on your next visit to DC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    307
    106
    27
    30
See reviews for
50
283
70
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location is great. Hotel decor is oldy-worldy; stylish and welcoming. Good size rooms, very reasonable price.The Continental breakfast is strongly recommended. They also offer an airport car service which is very convenient. Traffic can be quite loud at night. My only issue was with their administration; We had paid up front in full for our stay but were delayed by Sandy in New York. The hotel was informed of our delay but still cancelled the room and tried to charge us for the two nights that we actually managed to stay! After some frustrated discussions and a couple of phonecalls this was finally sorted out

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you had some challenges with your reservation. Sounds like it all worked out. I hope you visit us the next time your travel brings you to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We wanted a hotel that was close to the sights but not too expensive. What a find! As far as location goes the hotel is only a few minutes from the metro station and was within easy walk of the downtown sights.

The hotel itself is lovely. It is clean, has character and the staff were very helpful, in particular Derek Speight. Will definitely come back here if....ahem...I mean when we come back to Washington DC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are in a great location to walk to all that you want to see in DC. I’m glad you found the staff helpful. Mr. Speight knows how important that is to provide the assistance to each guest. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked this hotel while attending the 2012 ASA Anesthesiology Conference at Washington Convention Center. Just 100m walk from the convention center, I had Rm 214 on 2nd floor...... very comfortable junior suite, great king size bed, wifi access (free), cableTV and comfortalble bathroom. Nice toiletries and good bathroom with hard to work bath fittings.
Average breakfast and bar. Really 4 star accommodation but great if you are attending a meeting. Well situated for most of Washington's attractions.
A charming boutique hotel which I recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for 214, 314, 414 etc for best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments and your recommendation. We are just a short walk to all major DC attractions. Our Tavern Restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. We offer happy hour specials in our Blue Bar lounge. We have also just revised our room service menu. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Henley Park Hotel is a well appointed and priced hotel, located conveniently near many of the attractions and government departments.

The dinning room is beautifully appointed and the continental breakfast is fantastic.

Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you stayed with us and had the opportunity to dine in the Tavern. We have recently upgraded all of our menus, to give our guests a great dining option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A few weeks ago my husband traveled with me to DC for a business trip. We had a room booked at another hotel, but had to make an emergency hotel switch a little after checking in at midnight due to a problem at the first hotel. We looked online and saw The Henley Park Hotel had good reviews, vacancies, and a reasonable price, so we hurried over and checked in around 12:30 AM. Despite the late hour, the man working at the front desk was so kind and helpful and quickly set us up with a lovely room. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was very comfy, and the view was nice. The bathroom was also very clean. The hotel itself has a lot of character – it is very charming. I hope to stay there again sometime.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cville_traveler_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our Hotel is a Historic Hotel of America, and it does have quite a bit of charm. It is good to hear that the overnight staff was helpful in getting you into a room quickly. I do think we have one of the cleanest hotels in the city. Thanks for the accolades; it is great to be able to share guests’ comments with the housekeeping team. We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Henley Park proved to be a charming boutique hotel conveniently located next to the Convention Center where my husband was attending a conference. The room (304) was very small and the bathroom even smaller, but both were very clean and nicely appointed. Although we didn't spend much time in the room, when we were there we had to keep the curtains drawn because the office building next door was so close. After our first night we requested different pillows (ours were much too high for our comfort) and our request was quickly fulfilled. Sadly, our traveling companions asked for the same and were told they didn't have any other flat pillows. We had drinks at the bar which offered happy hour each evening. One morning we had breakfast at the hotel and it was delicious and lovely, but $75 plus tip for breakfast for 4, was on the high side. They were kind enough to store our luggage for us on the day we were leaving as our flight wasn't until later in the afternoon and check out was at 12:00.

Room Tip: Our queen room was fine for a single person, but really small for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bayboonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments. All of our rooms vary in size, if you need a more spacious room, I would suggest booking a deluxe or a Jr. suite in the future. We do have a limited number of alternative pillows in the hotel. Our Tavern menu does offer something for everyone, we do offer some breakfast specials that are very reasonable priced. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#103 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henley Park Hotel

Property: The Henley Park Hotel
Address: 926 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henley Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegance of a grander era at The Henley Park Hotel in downtown Washington DC. Constructed as the Tudor Hall Apartments in 1918, this historic address served as the home of notable Senators and Congressmen. Showcasing a stately façade of leaded, stained-glass windows and 119 grinning gargoyles - including two depicting the architect and his wife - the lodging struck the ideal tone for its distinguished clientele. Thanks to a staff as attentive to tradition as it is to the ever evolving needs of the modern traveler, the civilized spirit which made The Henley Park Hotel one of Washington’s most cherished homes is very much intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Henley Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Park Hotel
Henley Park Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing