We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel with small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Henley Park Hotel
Ranked #101 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel with small rooms”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Hotel and rooms look like they are well maintained and look upscale. The restaurant has great food but is a bit pricy. The rooms are very small and they have no desk but the hotel does provide free WiFi that is very very slow. The room was very noisy but they do provide a set of ear plugs. I think the windows are not insulated or sound proof. The bathroom is also very small and the sink is very small. Also the sink did not hold water well for shaving. The elevators are very historic, they are the old type with a clock dial that shows the floor. The elevator dial has been replaced with lights. The hotel is only a few blocks for the Metro and very close to a CVS.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crapsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    337
    114
    34
    34
See reviews for
56
306
77
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The hotel is 20 min walk to white house so location is good staff very friendly and helpful and the restaurant in hotel very good would go here again if in washinghton

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianandclare11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Thank you for you comments, Our staff is one of our greatest assets, they continue to make every guest feel welcome in our hotel and they are very knowledgeable about the city. We are glad you tried our restaurant. Coeur de Lion is one of the hidden treasures in the City. Our Chef creates her menu with only the freshest products. Hope to see you in DC again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My stay at the Henley was a positive experience. Specifically:

- The location was reasonably handy. It was about a 10-minute walk to Chinatown/downtown, and about 15-20 minutes to the White House, Smithsonian museums and the National Mall. There’s a 24-hour Safeway a few blocks away. The area struck me as quite safe.
- The hotel is a restored old building in excellent condition. Rooms and hallways were really clean.
- The room was exactly as pictured and really comfortable. (The inclusion of a bathrobe was a nice touch.) Wireless was free and a copy of the Washington Post was delivered to the door every morning.
- The hotel bar/restaurant was quite reasonably priced. The food/wine was nothing fantastic but decent by hotel standards.

There were a few cons but none would prevent me from staying here again or recommending the hotel:

- My room overlooked an enclosed courtyard so there wasn’t much of a view and my room didn’t get much light. That said, I was only in my room in the evenings so this wasn’t a huge problem.
- The fitness facilities were laughably small: a bike and treadmill in what seemed to be a converted storage closet with mirrors. Still, I’d never rate a hotel for its gym facilities. The fact that they had something was enough for me.
- There was no fridge in the room, which was a bit disappointing but it was possible to get a bucket of ice from the bar.

My experience with staff was mixed. Some were quite friendly and helpful; others weren’t overly friendly and didn’t seem too interested in helping me or providing suggestions. None of them seemed overly happy with their jobs, and on a few occasions, some staff seemed outright angry. While this was never directed at me, it was offputting to be around such overt unhappiness.

Despite the minor drawbacks, I’d happily stay there again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced and centrally located hotel in DC.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for your comments. The Hotel is centrally located in Downtown Washington. WE do have several room types, some rooms look into an interior atrium, and others have street views. The interior atrium rooms are quietest rooms in the hotel. Most rooms do have a mini bar fridge, however a few rooms do not have a mini bar at this time. We will be upgrading all mini bars in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVAW
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This is not the Ritz or even a Hilton...this is a local old but very quaint hotel located on basically across the street from the new DC convention center. It has a very small driveway and very small lobby. We were welcomed at check in and our room was ready. We were upgraded and treated wonderfully. It's an old hotel but it was clean and comfortable. Service was good with turndown service at night. Room had a mini-bar and small fridge (stocked with their mini bar items)..but we could find some room to put in our own drinks. We noticed the restaurant on a Friday night was empty as was the bar, but in a very busy city it was nice to find a quiet spot to have a drink. There is a lot of construction going on across the street and the hotel is on the street so if car noise bothers you this may not be a good choice? We were not bothered by it and enjoyed how close it was to everything we needed for our stay. It is about a mile walk to the Washington Monument and about 3/4 of a mile to the metro. You could walk to the Verizon Center but it was a good walk. Finding a cab was easy. Room was comfortable as was the bathroom. No real complaints.

Room Tip: See if they have something off the street? Ask for an upgrade--make your reservation online..we fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for your comments we are a member of Historic Hotels of America, We are very proud of our historic building, the staff is always maintaining the building for the comfort of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I chose this hotel because it was within walking distance of the Museum of Natural History (Smithsonian Inst.) AND the price online was so good. But it took some doing and calls to book my single. I found it to be old fashion charming, red brick style, renovated. Truly quiet, clean and professional. I loved it and would go back there.

Room Tip: When I returned half soaked from the rain, I walked into a freezing room as the A/C was on 50 degree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dottie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

A nice old hotel one block from the Washington Convention Center. Exterior and interior appearance are traditional, pleasing. Lots of wood and soothing colors. Furnishings are from another area, with a pull-down work desk and a nice comfy chair. The room included a kitchenette with sink and minibar. 24-hour room service is nice, even if there are exactly one salad and one sandwich available overnight. Staff were extremely courteous and helpful; made me feel honored to be there.

Less than a mile to the White House, just hop on New York Ave, then just south to the other sites. A bit further to the Capitol, via Penn Ave.

Only down side was amount of road noise. Interior room would be better. There is a lot of construction in that neighborhood now.

Room Tip: Away from 10th Street if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobLTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your comments, it sounds like you stayed in one of our jr.suites. Our jr. suites have a wet bar. All of our rooms have a slightly different configuration, however all rooms offer the comforts of what you expect in a fine hotel. The hotel staff is one of our greatest assets; they will do whatever they can to make your stay in Washington comfortable. We hope to see you on you next trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeForest, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This great old hotel has a lot of charm with big rooms that have a bar, living area, several windows with good views, and service that is excellent. Free wi-fi and free bottled water in the room are a nice bonus. The hotel is equidistant from two metro stations - approximately a 15 minute walk. They provide earplugs to avoid the city's noise but we found them unnecessary even on a Saturday night. We love this hotel and would return without question.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeantToBe521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for you comments, our staff is always trying to provide all of our guests’ excellent service. It is great to hear we accomplished our goal. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
717 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#113 of 141 in Washington DC
426 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#92 of 141 in Washington DC
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henley Park Hotel

Property: The Henley Park Hotel
Address: 926 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henley Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegance of a grander era at The Henley Park Hotel in downtown Washington DC. Constructed as the Tudor Hall Apartments in 1918, this historic address served as the home of notable Senators and Congressmen. Showcasing a stately façade of leaded, stained-glass windows and 119 grinning gargoyles - including two depicting the architect and his wife - the lodging struck the ideal tone for its distinguished clientele. Thanks to a staff as attentive to tradition as it is to the ever evolving needs of the modern traveler, the civilized spirit which made The Henley Park Hotel one of Washington’s most cherished homes is very much intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henley Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Park Hotel
Henley Park Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing