We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel with Horrible construction noise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henley Park Hotel
Ranked #100 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel with Horrible construction noise.”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Very charming and clean property with pleasant staff, and situated about 10-20 min walking distance from many major sightseeing places. BUT… and that’s a big “but” that I ignored prior to our visit to DC, because I couldn’t imagine how bad this could be – the hotel is surrounded by giant construction projects. There is a 20-story Marriott being built right across the street and behind the building there is a huge hole in the ground the size of an entire block being worked on. I’ve read many reviews before selecting Henley Park Hotel, dismissing construction noise, because how bad can it really be..? Really bad. The construction starts around 6:30am every morning and one night they didn’t finish until 10pm. Earplugs are a must if you decide to take your chance and stay here (as a matter of fact, the hotel provides you with them) and ask for a room facing courtyard, perhaps noise is not as bad as facing Marriott construction mess.
We stayed and the Henley Park hotel for 3 nights. After arriving late from the West Coast and being rudely awakened by the construction noise, we promptly proceeded to the front desk to ask to switch rooms. The only rooms facing courtyard available were basic rooms that were about half the size of the deluxe room we booked; with a queen bed instead of king and a tiny bathroom. After much consideration and no offer from the hotel to refund part of what we paid for the deluxe room, we decided to stay in the deluxe room and stocked up on ear plugs.
I must admit that I really liked the property and would consider coming back, but not until the construction is over. The deluxe room was very spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Climate control is a bit tricky, it’s very old and you cannot easily adjust the temperature in the unit. We were very lucky with DC weather in July (mid 80s and 60% humidity), so we would just cool the room before going to bed and turn it off for the night, turning it back on the morning. I consider that a minor inconvenience, but if it gets too hot or cold, that may be a problem.
Henley Park hotel is a good alternative to big-chain hotels, with a lot of charm and character, but I would not recommend it to a friend until the construction is over, which seems to be in its early stages… Hotel - 5 stars, construction noise - 0, average - 3.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga_trvlrfrmla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am sorry the construction noise disturbed your stay with us. We do provide earplugs for all of our guests to help reduce the noise from across the street. I am glad to hear that you thought the hotel was clean , charming and the staff was pleasant. The team works hard to maintain the beauty of the building.
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    335
    113
    34
    32
See reviews for
55
300
77
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We'll be staying at the Henley in a few days, but the other night my husband called the hotel to get some advice as to bus/trolley services. The young lady who answered the phone only spoke with yes or no responses. Eventually he just said goodbye and hung up. She had zero personality, and was of no help at all, I certainly hope this is not indicative of what we shall encounter. Most of the reviews reflect a very positive experience with the staff....

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank laurens819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments. Your concerns have been shared with the staff. I can assure you that this situation was most likely a one off. Who knows what service tasks the desk agent was juggling the time you called?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Henley Park Hotel is one of the Historic hotels in DC. However, the pictures on their sites makes it look much more luxurious and bigger than it is. It is a small romantic hotel is a graet part of the city from where you can walk to Chinatown (5 minutes), and Capital Building (15 minutes). It is an old hotel and has not had it's hallway and lobby carpet replaced for decades. As such it has rips, swells an smells. There are no fans in the bathrooms, so when you use the bathroom it smells and fogs that does not clear out. Our bathtub backed up after each shower; we called the front desk and they cleaned up the drain, but that did not stop the slow flow -- so during a 5 minute shower expect to stand in ankle deep soap water. The worst part was the bed: the mattress is bouncy and hard to sleep.
Having said that, you cannot expect a historic hotel to have all the modern conveniences due to lack of infrastructure. The hotel staff is courteous and helpful with directions and the location is away from crowded busy streets.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrotterRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments. We have recently placed an order for the custom carpet in the hallways to be replaced. We are constantly maintaining the building to keep the feel of a small boutique hotel. I am sorry that the tub did not drain properly, we will investigate the issue and have it resolved. Our staff is one of the greatest in DC, they are willling to do whatever it takes to make your stay with us an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flpisces67
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This is a boutique hotel with an intimate lobby and a bright sitting room. When I checked in at 3PM my room was not ready but I only had to wait 5 minutes. I received room which must have recently been painted and there was still a faint scent of fresh paint. The room was very large. The bed was comfortable with lots of usable pillows. They even put earplugs in the room to help with the city noise. I had a view of the convention center from one side of the room and a view of the internal courtyard from the other set of windows. The bathroom was nice but lacked a pull out makeup mirror. There was shampoo, conditioner, lotion, a shower cap, mending kit and shoe buff in the bathroom. I was surprised that the towels were a bit on the thin size but they did include three bath towels, three hand towels and three washcloths. Internet access is free. The room had a flat screen tv. Overall I would stay here again happily.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flpisces67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you fror your comments. I am sorry theat your room smelled of Paint. we are constantly maintaining the rooms and the public areas to maintain the charm of the hotel. Thanks for staying with us, we hope you come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This hotel was very reasonably priced. It was extrememly clean and very quiant. The staff was very polite and helpful. There was some construction across the street which is not under their control. Made sleeping a little hard.


Terrific stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb&mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thanks for your comments, We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed three nights. Cute hotel, comfortable beds about 4 short blocks from Mt Vernon Square (Yellow/Green) metro. Go one block south 7th, then left on L, under the convention center, 2 blocks, then down one block on 10th. And you are there. There is a CVS for drug store items one block away, Starbuck one block away. We had their breakfast at the onsite restaurant: waffles and french toast, a little pricy $50 for three of us but very good food and cute dining room. We liked the free internet and cute bar area especially after walking in the sun. Nice to have a cold beer and listened to a jazz singer with our 6-yr old who also enjoyed his spite. It made a good home base to explore the city. You are a few block from Chinatown. MINGs near the entrance is a good chinese place and reasonably priced $35 for all three of us - nice family or good for singles eating out. Would recommend staying here. Friendly staff - they were always willing to accomoidate when our room needed a spare bed for our 6-yr old.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaAZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for taking teh time to post your comments on Trip advisor. WeE are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our Saturday night Jazz singer in the Blue Bar. Nancy Scimone is getting a good local following in the lounge..Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a hotel right in front of the convention center of Washington. If you have to attend a conference, there cannot be a better place to stay. It is an old building with a charm of the olden days - a small reception but a nice cosy lobby/sitting place. The rooms are extremely spacious with large bathrooms - there is a small coffee making area which gives an impression of a small kitchenet. A family of three can easily stay in the room with absolutely no crowding. The restaurant is small but very quiet (adds to the serene atmosphere) and the service is good. The bar is laid out in the fashion of the old victorian era - it is relaxing to spend an evening there.
The convention center is 5 minutes walk and the great Smithsonian museums are 15 minutes walk. One can reach the White house or the Capitol with a 20 minutes walk - Washington is a great place to explore walking. There are multiple restaurants around this area and the train station that can take you to Baltimore is just 5 minutes away. A train link from the Dulles International Airport is under construction - should be ready by 2012 end.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#61 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#110 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#97 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henley Park Hotel

Property: The Henley Park Hotel
Address: 926 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henley Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegance of a grander era at The Henley Park Hotel in downtown Washington DC. Constructed as the Tudor Hall Apartments in 1918, this historic address served as the home of notable Senators and Congressmen. Showcasing a stately façade of leaded, stained-glass windows and 119 grinning gargoyles - including two depicting the architect and his wife - the lodging struck the ideal tone for its distinguished clientele. Thanks to a staff as attentive to tradition as it is to the ever evolving needs of the modern traveler, the civilized spirit which made The Henley Park Hotel one of Washington’s most cherished homes is very much intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henley Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Park Hotel
Henley Park Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing