We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - worn-down hotel”
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent location - worn-down hotel”
Reviewed September 1, 2005

The location is excellent, close to the White House and other sights in Washington. For a very low price you get a little old and worn-down hotel. Perhaps you will be a little more lucky with the room than I was. The paint was peeling of the wall and doors, a very old air-condition system, small room etc. But you can live here for a short stay and be able to visit Washington without the need to take a taxi to the sights - charming old - and all for a very low price.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SteinarOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    530
    373
    175
    130
See reviews for
369
323
112
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight, uk
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2005

I actually cancelled our original booking for a different hotel using reviews on here as a guide. The other hotel we had booked was way out of town and supposed to be dirty. I have to say i was really pleased with the location of the Harrington as it was really really close to everything. We bought a weekly metro card as we had a one year old but you could have walked to everything in the Mall area. However when we arrived the guy checking us in didn't even bother tp put down the phone on his private conversation - we didn't manage to exchange a word with him the whole time. Our room looked clean enough and was definitely spacious. The bathroom was great - witha bath tub. We had a room with a fridge (which we had asked for) but no crib (which we had also asked for). however ew went out for the afternoon and when we got back it had been put in for us no problem. All in all we had a great beginning to the vacation. however, after a good night's sleep myself and my husband woke up with bites all over us - everywhere our pyjamas had not been. The bites wEre huge and really itchy. thankfully we had taken bedding for our son and he was fine - it must have been something in the bed!!! We asked for our bedding to be changed and stayed another night - and the same thing happened. i don't know if our sheets were changed or not but ew told the front desk who moved us to a different room immediately (she was very good). We had to move there and then so we chucked all our stuff in the new room and went out. When we got back there were loads of red ants crawling all over everything - grim!!! we tried to get another hotel and could get nothing so we were stuck there. Nothing else happened although i had asked to see a supervisor to make sure she was aware of the problems and was told there were no supervisors!! We felt dirty all holiday. i didn't realise how much until we stayed in the airport hotel, i had a bath and felt squeaky clean for the first time in days!!!! All in all a great location but i wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank liberty6201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 22, 2005

The other decent reviews of the Harrington are pretty much on target. The hotel itself is old. Yes, the lobby may have a funky odor due to the two restaurants connected to it. However for the price it was well worth it. The rooms have cable TV and more importantly the rooms are well air condtioned and reasonable clean. Rooms were cleaned and prepped everyday just like other hotels. The room itself (we actually were given a room with two double beds and a twin bed) is of an older style, as was the bathroom. The water pressure, however, was good. If you are not going to stay in the rooms for extended periods of time and are going to be out and about D.C. this place is bargain. The location is absolutely great. You are within a reasonable walking distance of all the monuments, museums, and memorials on the National Mall. Starbucks, Barnes and Noble, and many restaurants are within blocks of the hotel. Also, Chinatown, and a multi-plex movie theatre are within an easy ten minute walk. I felt this downtown location was safe enough to walk around with my kids at any hour of the day. I would recommend the Harrington to anyone on a budget who wants to get reasonable accommodations with an excellent location in downtown, D.C.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell MA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2005

After traveling many hours and arriving during a storm, we had no choice but to check in. The lobby had a strong smell of I don't know what. The walk to parking is a long 4 blocks. The room was not clean, needed to be vacumed, and was really old. My 8 year old pointed to the smoke detector and asked what it was...... One of the beds stunk and was rendered useless. Needless to say we checked out first thing.

I was not expecting a four star but based on reviews I did expect hospitalitiy, I saw none. I called a number at dcrooms, found in AAA books, and was checked into a gorgeous hotel, closer to the sites, for $20 more a night

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kzmom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2005

The Hotel Harrington is a very old hotel with a few problems. For the most part it appeared to be clean, as my room, and especially my bathroom smelled like soap. However, there was a stain on my sheets, that otherwise appeared to be clean. The carpet and walls had a few stains, but for the most part it was cleaner then I expected. Yes, it's old and the elevator does have a few quirks (it cannot hold more than 6 people at a time, and you can only access your room through a certain elevator). The halls are very quiet. Parking is $10 per day, in a garage located four blocks from the hotel.

Aside from the hotel showing it's age, it's in a great location. Within a realistic walking distance are the museums, memorials, monuments, the Ford Theater (very close), the Capital, restaurants (two inside-both okay, the ESPN Zone across the street), ATM's, a great souvenir shop is about two blocks away (everything you can think of souvenir wise, and very reasonably priced).

If you want to "stay" at a hotel this is not the place for you, as the rooms are very small, and there are practically no amenities. However, if you're looking for a place to store your luggage while you're out sightseeing this is a great bargain.

Helpful?
9 Thank den713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 23, 2005

I booked this online on their cute website using reviews from this site as a guideline. We were very pleased with the location, the large room, the friendly staff, the location and did I mention the location! We walked to everything from here...even my six year old kept up. The monuments, the museums, stores and restaurants are all within easy walking distance. Plus the metro is two blocks away if you don't want to walk. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great value for the money and doesn't mind old hotels (stained carpet, tiny elevators, doors painted so many times they don't open and close easily, etc). I'm not fussy about anything so this didn't bother me a bit...reminded me of my grandmother's old house. Remember to bring shampoo as they only supply soap and towels in the clean (but sparse) bathroom. They have HBO, an internet station and wireless access so it isn't totally in the previous century. We met up with friends in DC and all of them said the same thing....you couldn't have picked a better hotel in DC, the location is awesome. But then, you already knew that....

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 17, 2005

The Hotel Harrington was a great place to stay. It was so close to all of the sites. You can book a tour right from the hotel gift shop. We had a family room and it had four very large beds for six people at a very reasonable rate.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#87 of 141 in Washington DC
178 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,967 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,510 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Property: Hotel Harrington
Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world famous tourist district. Just 1/2 block from Pennsylvania Avenue, between the Capitol (10 Blocks) and the White House (5 blocks), you can easily walk to all the sights, such as Ford's Theatre is just 1 block, your first smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi, computer in lobby to print boarding passes, Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 Telephones - Direct Dial System. Local calls $0.25/each. Long Distance - see instructions in room Postage Stamps - Purchase from the front desk Televisions - Every room has a TV with free HBO! Laundromat - 2nd and 3rd floors Games for kids - just ask the front desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing