We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK FOR POSITION AND PRICE”
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
ENGLANDERS IN N. IRELAND
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“OK FOR POSITION AND PRICE”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Hotel is quite old and tired but ok for a short stay, rooms are cleaned to a fairly good standard and have a microwave and facilities to make a hot drink. Position of hotel is pretty good for visiting the main attractions.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HAPPYTRAVELLERS55_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    528
    368
    175
    128
See reviews for
367
319
112
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were 3 and we had to share a room in DC for a weekend. we got a triple room for $100 a night. I believe in DC it is pretty good deal! the location is awesome if you want see the White house, The Smithonians museums, the spy museum, ...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC20685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Happy 100th Birthday to the Dear Hotel Harrington and a special thanks to all who take care of her! Long may she live and may she continue to be a refuge for many future and returning DC visitors. I recently spent a wonderful 15 nights there in order to attend a work-related convention and to be a tourist at the DC sites. Every Harrington staff member I encountered was gracious and attentive and I applaud Ann Terry for her leadership and desire to provide people with an enjoyable travel experience. The Harrington Hotel is a one-of-a-kind special find that oozes with character and is a proud reminder of times past. I love the way the windows open in the rooms, the classic black and white tile floors in the bathroom, the very hot water, the old-type heat registers with trays that can be filled with water, the many coats of paint on the wood frames and doors, the drop mailbox,the fabulous location, and reasonable price for the area. Plus it was nice to have a microwave, refrigerator,flat-screen TV, hairdryer, and ironing board. I view it as my-home-away-from-home in DC. It is a down-to-earth hotel for the right kind of person who appreciates a kind and gentle vibe without the chain-hotel sameness.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariepsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

A good general hotel. Breakfasts are the strength of the Harrington, however the helpfulness of the staff was appreciated. A good central location to explore DC. Infact it was so good I am taking another group of 40 here later this year.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1967tazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel was celebrating it's 100 year celebration during our stay. We stayed in a room that had two double beds and four twin beds as there was five of us and our cost was $100. This was the cost for ANY room during their celebration. As an older property, it will not suit some people's taste, especially those who have to have the best of everything. To us it had a lot of character. It had what we needed, was clean and the front desk folks were hospitable and helpful. We had breakfast from the continental buffet and it was good. They had a hot buffet which looked good, we just did not need that much food. This hotel is close to the Verizon Center and we stayed here last summer as well following an Eagles concert. This time we stayed so that we would be close to National Airport so our daughter had a 10 minute cab ride to it at 5:30 in the morning. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I travelled as part of a school group, and this hotel had everything you could need for a long weekend in Washington. It had clean, warm rooms. (Well welcome after walking all day in the snow!) Breakfasts were plentiful and of a wide range - something for everyone.

The rooms were as expected for a school trip, a little behind the times, and maybe not as well maintained as they could be, yet the bedding was very clean, and the towels were changed daily.

I would definitely recommend for a short, cheap stay!

Room Tip: There are 11 floors, so bare that in mind for stairs and lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were on a road trip on the east coast of America and we pre booked the hotel.
This was a great hotel with plenty of character, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is situated close to all the main attractions which were within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#93 of 141 in Washington DC
166 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
2,929 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
2,478 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Property: Hotel Harrington
Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world famous tourist district. Just 1/2 block from Pennsylvania Avenue, between the Capitol (10 Blocks) and the White House (5 blocks), you can easily walk to all the sights, such as Ford's Theatre is just 1 block, your first smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi Free Internet Cafe w/computers in Harriett's Restaurant Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 Telephones - Direct Dial System. Local calls $0.25/each. Long Distance - see instructions in room Postage Stamps - Purchase from the front desk Televisions - Every room has a TV with free HBO! Laundromat - 2nd and 3rd floors Games for kids - just ask the front desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing