We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great for groups”
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have just returned from a school trip staying at Hotel Harrington. As with many of the other comments on here it could do with a lick of paint, it is a little run down compared to some other hotels however it is value for money when you are bringing a group. There are a mix of rooms from twins to rooms that will sleep 4 even 5 and they have plenty of space. A substantial buffet breakfast is served we also had a meal one evening - again plenty of food and the students enjoyed it. The staff are incredibly friendly and it was great to have a gift shop on site.

The location is very central and you can walk easily to the memorials, to the capitol building, the White House etc. There is also free wifi in the hotel - great for the students to keep in contact with those at home.

Room Tip: We were based on the 3rd floor
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KKRE0538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Harrington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is not a luxury hotel so if that's what you want, keep looking. I don’t care what the others say because to me it’s about location, location, location! This is the only place we stay when we visit DC. It looks old and outdated, but it’s well maintained and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

I'm surprised by all the negative reviews ... when you pay half of the amount that the hotels surrounding this one charge you shouldn't expect a luxury hotel or hold it to the same standards.

You can get a room at a chain hotel in the burbs for the same price and have a nicer room, but then you would have to commute in the DC traffic … and then find a place to leave your car.

If you want convenience you will not be disappointed, it’s a short walk to all monuments, museums and the subway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bobbyarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

If anyone has stayed at Hotel Harrington for more years than I, (since 1958 class trip) I'll buy 'em a drink. This is a venue of diverse characters and clanging pipes, of antique mail drops and old brass luggage carts, of layered paint and thin spreads, of windows that open to breathable air and bathroom doors that lock, of gaudy carpet and tiny T.V.s, of helpful staff and tireless technicians talented enough to jerry-rig your most esoteric issues, of rooms with great views and rooms with no views, adjoining rooms for family, closet-sized rooms for a broke artist, there's a bar with good drinks and No Smoking, and a buffet typical of fill-em-up-cheap-with-predictable-and-safe food, and talk about Location, Location, Location! There's nothing else in D.C. that can touch it. Safe short walks take you to all monuments and museums, plus, you're minutes to the subway or Union Station, cabs are at the door. Great restaurants are short strolls; the staff will guide you anywhere with maps and suggestions. Buy funky souvenirs at the tiny gift shop (yeah, the clerk is there, you just can't see him behind the counter because he sits in a low chair, and you may have to interrupt his phone chat). Stay often, and you'll be family. Yeah, students still run the halls during certain times of year (I used to become aggravated, until I remembered my own gleeful romps there) but you can distance yourself by just asking the desk clerk to put you in a room on a far-from-the-gleeful-kids floor. Be advised, though, if you're looking for a venue that has been lavishly restored and resides on the List of Historical Landmark Luxury Hotels, keep looking. You aren't of the ilk to appreciate the certain charm of this 11th & E old jewel. You probably aren't up to the spirit of Harrington, either, and those of us who are, don't want you to get grumpy. If you love trains and whimsy, if you are patience and have a sense of humor and appreciate a sense of scruffy Boheme, and if you are not a Special One who prefers a Place for the Privileged over an egalitarian experience at one of the dying breed of Tourist Hotels, if you recognize a fabulous bargain when you see one, and want to begin to collect your own Harrington stories, then come on and keep coming! Blessedly, I can afford to stay at any hotel in the city, but you will never find me staying anywhere other than the Hotel Harrington, snuggled beneath as many blankets as I request (I like wintry air from my opened window), and breathing shower steam from the hottest water in town. I do miss the original big, brass keys, recently "upgraded" to cards. Through the years my trips have from business to politics to romance to family to friends and to many solo stays. They were all wonderful.

So, if this sounds like a good personality and philosophical fit, you've just found yourself a treasure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Deery762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I don't have much to say on the value/price because someone else booked and payed for it, but I can comment on the quality. I wasn't expecting much, but I was expecting more than I got. The rooms were kinda dirty, and the bathrooms also kinda moldy. If you're looking for something nice, I wouldn't suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Juliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

When we arrived through the doors the smell of mold was over powering. The store was completely over priced, hence the stick of cough drops was 10 dollars. The breakfast buffet was disappointing, and the bagel I had was molding. The bacon was stale, and the cereal was flavorless. The rooms were run down and although you couldn't see the dust, when we sat on the bed all the dust puffed into the air. The bathroom was molding, the toilets were yellow and cracking, and the whole placed needed a deep clean. I couldn't get to sleep due to the workers that paving the road outside my window at 12:00 am. Even though the location was centrally located, it was disappointing overall. Even though the price was as low as it gets, it was still to much!! There wasn't even a swimming pool or fitness center. Many of my classmates who also came as a trip for school were also disappointed.

I recommend staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay in the nicest room or you will die of an asthma reaction. Even if you don't have asthma.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank YoyoGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great location for easy walking to monuments/museums etc. Very easy to get a cab ride and Union Station is only about 5 minutes away. The staff are very helpful in supplying maps. The room was clean and everything worked perfectly fine. I also had a pretty nice view from the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 905ashleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I've stayed here several times. I like the older property, one block off Pennsylvania Ave. It reminds me of some of the older European hotels with smaller rooms, old bath fixtures, steam heat, modest, but comfortable rooms with flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave. Very good prices for DC. Friendly staff. Convenient. WiFi needs an update. It worked, but was a bit slow during peak morning and evening usage. I'll stay here again. Harry's Bar and Grill, connected, is a very good classic, modestly-priced restaurant.

Room Tip: Think older European hotels and pubs and you won't be disappointed. Embassy Suites it isn't...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WorldTraveler6548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Just wanted to thank you for the great review of our hotel and I'm so happy that you enjoy staying at our hotel whenever your in town. I'm very sorry to hear that the internet wasn't working so good on your last stay but please let us know what room you were in so we can check that floors access points and make sure it's working properly. I often go to the floors and help guests get connected and make sure their internet has a strong signal. Thanks again for the review and please ask for me your next trip, would love to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#88 of 141 in Washington DC
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
2,576 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
3,043 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#96 of 141 in Washington DC
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $153 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi, computer in lobby to print boarding passes, Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing