We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho hum, but a place to spend the night”
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Ashland, MO
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ho hum, but a place to spend the night”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here because I couldn't get a room elsewhere. Pack your toiletries as there were nearly none in the room. Lobby and restaurants looked aged. The location was good and the room was clean, although tiny!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    530
    373
    175
    130
See reviews for
369
323
112
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Van Buren, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were in DC for a National History Day competition school trip with our son. We came last year and stayed in a hotel several miles away. We had to take a shuttle and then a metro everywhere we went. It was very inconvenient. When we found out we were coming to DC this year I knew we wanted to stay close to everything so that is why we picked this hotel. I read the reviews and knew it was old but picked it because of the location and price. We paid $175 a night for a room with two double beds and a twin bed. Everything else I looked at in the vicinity was over $300 a night! This hotel is very old and does not have a lot of the conveniences that a newer hotel has. There are cracks in the baseboards and tiles, paint chipping, the water is hot and then cold, no plug in the bathroom, and over all it is very outdated.However, the location was awesome and made up for it! We were right around the corner from Hard Rock Café and tons of other restaurants. There is also a lot of shopping close by such as Macy's, H and M, TJ Maxx, Guess...etc. We walked to the Whitehouse, Air and Space Museum, Natural History Museum, National Archives...etc. They are all within walking distance. We did not go to Ford's theatre but wish we would have. It was only one block over! We will put that on the list for next time. We ate at Lincoln's Waffles two times. It is across from Ford's Theater. They have the best waffles I've ever eaten! I recommend it! .There is also a Crumbs Bakery right down the street that has yummy cupcakes. Some other restaurants I recommend are Pi Pizza and Austin Grill. I had a hamburger from Harry's in the hotel and it was great! Over all we had a good experience at this hotel. Yes, it is old and could definitely use some work. However, we would stay here again for the convenience of being close to everything. The hotel itself is probably more like a 3 star, but I gave it a 4 star for the convenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is my 3rd time I come back to this hotel,
of course it's an old hotel , but it's the charm , if you see the historic , you understand why it's old ...Then I can't understand the last review.

If you doesn't like historic location not stay here , modern and pure ... is not inside this hotel.If you would like see and appreciate the history of the mal , the old postmail , inside the hotel...a lot of old element are present in this hotel.
Personnally , everytime my bedroom is very clean, with all comfort (TV, bathroom, closet,WIFI,desk...)
The location is the best things , after the authenticity then service .
The cons are the parking (because you need to walk 2 blocks) and the noise of A/C (more important than the new one but not incomfortable)

Room Tip: History of center of DC , building is very old and charming It's offer bedroom with 3 bed (2 qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelEMMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Because of the good location and all the good reviews, we decided to stay here for 3 nights. After 1 night we left!
When we came into the room, it was smelling out of the bathroom! The room was old and dusty, the air condition (I think it was one - at least 40 years old if not older) didn't work and there was no fresh air at all in this place they call room! This place hasn't seen any Renovation in the last 50 years, so if u want to stay there, don't take your clothes off while sleeping and do not breathe through your nose when taking a shower or brushing your teeth!!! The sockets were so old, that our chargers didn't fit! They fell out all the time and if you put a hair dryer in the plug gets so hot, that you are afraid of burning the house down! We were afraid of looking under the matress, but I bet it's not a clean one!
The only plus here is the location, but that can not make up for the bad room! We moved 500 metres up the street for just 8$ more per night and it's fantastic!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CA-Insider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying here.The rooms were clean and nicely appointed. You just can not beat the location! At check inn the front desk lady,Connie went above and beyond to make us feel welcome!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aud42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Harrington for 5 days. We had a bed room and a sitting room with a bath and a small kitchen (frig microwave and sink) We have stayed at the Harrington every time that we come to dc because of the location. They have updated the rooms and they are great. We had good air cond. and the service was great this is a good place to stay .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Before we came here I read the usual classic whinges that make choosing a hotel so difficult. Look.. This place isn't the Ritz. For $200 a night we got two adjoining rooms each with their own bathroom, tv's, a fridge and free Internet. We were literally 3 minutes walk from the mall in a great part of the city surrounded by restaurants, fast food etc. The hotel has various little restaurants that are very reasonable if you want a quick meal. It was clean and safe. Aircon worked fine. Rooms were serviced daily. Yes, walls are a little thin if next doors tv is too loud but it was incredibly comfortable, clean and cheap. For a family travelling around dc you cannot beat it. Book a family suite with two rooms. If you want 5 star hotel accommodation don't stay here. If you want good clean safe and cheap accommodation 5 minutes from everything you will be very happy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#86 of 141 in Washington DC
178 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
2,967 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,510 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Property: Hotel Harrington
Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world famous tourist district. Just 1/2 block from Pennsylvania Avenue, between the Capitol (10 Blocks) and the White House (5 blocks), you can easily walk to all the sights, such as Ford's Theatre is just 1 block, your first smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi, computer in lobby to print boarding passes, Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 Telephones - Direct Dial System. Local calls $0.25/each. Long Distance - see instructions in room Postage Stamps - Purchase from the front desk Televisions - Every room has a TV with free HBO! Laundromat - 2nd and 3rd floors Games for kids - just ask the front desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing