We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still love this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #120 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
New Palestine, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still love this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've stayed at the Harrington Hotel twice now. During my most recent stay (March 2013), the front desk staff really exceeded my expectations on check in and check out. This hotel is a great value in a great location.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room to sleep 4/5 - be sure to call and specify the exact number of beds yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    514
    357
    169
    125
See reviews for
361
304
110
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Cheap, dirty, ancient and loud. Less like a hotel room and more like sleeping on the bed of a friend who is very poor. Ancient sketchy radiator. No bathroom toiletries. Oldest tile I've ever seen in the bathroom. Bathroom door has been painted a thousand times and is chipping away. I expected this type of hotel going in though, so I got what I expected. Great location, however, and everyone was very nice -- they let me check in at 10 a.m. because there was a room ready. As a solo traveler I felt pretty safe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericktown
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location of the Harrington Hotel is fantastic, but that is the only real memorable quality of this place. The hotel is dated, but not in a quaint way; also, on a couple of levels the place is a bit ran down. The wallpaper was peeling, paint faded, baseboards dirty, and there was sort of dingy feel about the entire building. I did not feel the Harrington Hotel was worth the money, and would rather have paid more to stay someplace better. If you are looking to be near many of the sites in Washington this is a great location, but there are other hotels that are close too. I was in town for a conference and felt the rate of the conference hotel was too high. In hide sight it would have been better to pay the extra money.

Even though the hotel was less than stellar the attached restaurant, Harry's, was very good. On Tuesday, their Soup of the Day is corn and clam chowder. This was one of the top 5 chowders I have ever had, and even if I never stay at the Harrington again, I will hopefully return to Harry's for the chowder.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Concord, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Husband stayed previously, my first stay. Price was right for such a great location to walk to most Museums and Federal buildings, like Capitol, White House, National Gallery of Art, and most Smithsonian Museums or take Metro to other sites of interest. Old historic building, but room and bath clean, not "plush" but cell and wireless data worked fine. Very friendly staff, mostly long time employees. Provided a great local restaurant list-lots of variety and metro and street map. Even mailed my favorite sweaters left in a drawer within a few days of return. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was disappointed when I saw my room. My arrangements were made by someone else and I hadn't bothered to look up the hotel reviews...not sure that would have made a difference anyway. But my room was icky. The decor was cheap and old. There were two chairs in the room but I couldn't bring myself to sit in either. I wondered how I was going to sleep in the bed. The staff seemed kind and competent but I was uncomfortable in that room...I just kept thinking negative thoughts which I will not write here. I called the folks who made the arrangements and was so thankful that they were able to relocate me to another hotel. So my stay lasted about 15 minutes. It may be fine for some people who won't be in the room very long. But since I was feeling under the weather, I planned to stay in my room resting the first day. My second day I would take care of the business that brought me to town. I just couldn’t stay there. :-( There is nothing the staff could have done differently. The owner simply needs to fork over the money for serious renovations. On the upside, the rate was low and the location excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustywater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I've stayed here four times now and the one thing I can never seem to ignore is the noise - this place caters to groups of young people and they're never quiet, either making noise in their rooms or in the halls...the location can't be beat, right in the middle of Washington, but the run down rooms, fuzzy TV picture, slow wifi, hit or miss bathtubs, surly desk staff and views of brick walls aren't really worth what it costs to stay here at times...will look at other options for my next trip to DC.

Room Tip: small rooms have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todowntowner04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I travelled here last March for a school trip with students between the ages of 16 - 19. It's everything you can expect for a hotel that caters for students. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and good to rest your head.

Location was good, it was near a FANTASTIC cafe (Lincoln's Waffle Shop) where we had breakfast every morning - if not you could have breakfast inside the hotel, but it wasn't as good as this!

Yes it needed a bit of TLC and it is definitely not recommended for someone looking for something a bit more upmarket and romantic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Property: Hotel Harrington
Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world famous tourist district. Just 1/2 block from Pennsylvania Avenue, between the Capitol (10 Blocks) and the White House (5 blocks), you can easily walk to all the sights, such as Ford's Theatre is just 1 block, your first smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi Free Internet Cafe w/computers in Harriett's Restaurant Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 Telephones - Direct Dial System. Local calls $0.25/each. Long Distance - see instructions in room Postage Stamps - Purchase from the front desk Televisions - Every room has a TV with free HBO! Laundromat - 2nd and 3rd floors Games for kids - just ask the front desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing