We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic "low frills" Hotel”
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic "low frills" Hotel”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I would first like to say that the Hotel Harrington has the FRIENDLIEST staff I have ever experienced in all my travels. My mother always stays here, and this was my first time. We met up in DC and the staff remembered my mother from her previous visits. She departed before I did and they asked me if she made it home safely. Cannot say enough about this fantastic staff!! This is a low frills hotel; you get a bed, dresser, TV and a bathroom. Not once did I feel unsafe, or question the quality of this hotel. Easy access to Metro, Mall and the Trolley tour pick up. DC is such an amazing city you shouldn't spend all your time in your hotel anyway!

Room Tip: Rooms to the interior are quiet, and still have windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    529
    373
    175
    129
See reviews for
368
322
112
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed in the Harrington in November 2010, and for what it was needed for it fitted the bill perfectly. I had a 2 person room that I shared with a course-mate of mine, as we were with a local sixth form on a Politics trip studying US Politics.

It's a short walk to the Capitol building, and an even shorter one to the White House so it really was an ideal place to stay for our party of about 40-50 local sixth-form students. The breakfast was pretty basic, as were the way the rooms were furnished, but a small TV for the evening really is the only thing we needed as we we were out most of the days we were there.

if you're looking for a basic, city centre hotel then you really can't look further than the Harrington. Staff were friendly, location was perfect, and from what we payed our college for the trip, the accommodation costs really weren't that much at all considering the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We're a family of 4 and chose this Hotel for its location and value. Very close to many attractions in DC and one block from Trolley Tours main stop. The Hotel is very old and needs some updating but the rooms were clean and a generous size, and the beds comfortable. Bathroom was updated and very charming. We had a family deluxe room which comprised two adjoining rooms each with bathroom and large TV. The restaurant downstairs (Harry's) was family friendly, had a great atmosphere and good food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My son (12 y.o.) and myself stayed at Harrington in March 2012 (March break for my kid). I booked one of the less expensive rooms on the 4th floor at the very end of the corridor (far from ice-makers and vending machines, two twin beds) after reading reviews on TripAdvisor and comparing prices and locations, proximity to attractions and public transit. Never regretted, Harrington is the best if you go to Washington with kids, no car, and want it affordable, safe and everything to be close. Might be cheaper, but it's so convenient, it worth it.
Travelled by Megabus.
All the museums, memorials, etc. just steps away from Harrington. Reception people will provide you with the map - we used it a lot to navigate around. We walked non-stop for 5 days, coming back only for sleep, I guess you might not need the pool, which is not present anyways. The hotel is dated, but clean and pestsfree; everything from door stoppers to vent grills is ancient (I mean like 200 y.o) and that is sort of nice, it’s like you live in a museum, creates a certain mood – we liked that a lot!
What is around and why Harrington Hotel is so convenient:
Entertainment: you can start from Capitol and Botanic Garden (free admission) and walk thru all the museums between Independence and Constitution Avenues ( free admission in all of them) to Lincoln Memorial and all the way back back and that should cover all of your March break easily; we also visited Washington Zoo (free admission), which was awesome ( thou smaller than Toronto Zoo it somehow accommodates more animals or it seems so) and some other small museums (overprices and really there is nothing to look at after all these great museums on Constitution/Independence avenues). Al the museums are just what your kids love, but we liked the most these: Air&Space , Natural History, Gallery of Art, and Botanic Garden (Orchid Exhibition was spectacular ! – we went there twice). Clock tower was OK, but nothing special (don’t eat there, too expensive and not too good)
Shopping: not the right destination; we went to Arlington (by subway) to do some shopping but the shopping centre there we found very basic – don’t waste your time.
Dining: we dined at Harrington’s twice it was so-so; tried Olle’s Tolley only once – it was OK (fries, burgers) but there are healthier choices – like Cosi – these are on every corner there and serve awesome omelets (for breakfast only), nice salads, various “melts” and we loved theirs individual pizzas– I’d recommend Cosi for breakfasts. We dined @ Rock Café twice – baby ribs were awesome! And other pizzerias and small restaurants – some were somewhat overpriced, but the food was good in all of them.
When we were checking out hotel clerks allowed us to leave our luggage in the special room, so we were able to spend the rest of the day in one of the museums. Free access internet in the lobby - I checked our emails.
Recommendations: you’ll be walking a lot – wear sandals or running shoes, take water (thou they have drinking fountains in every museum) , crackers, granola bars – there are no chicken joints where museums are, just vendors’ stands and snacks are overpriced. It was March, but 2012 March break week was HOT + 23C – so take shorts, just in case.
Overall it was a great experience, museums, memorials, hotel, Zoo and blossoming cheritrees.

Room Tip: the higher - the better, ask it farther from vending and ice making machines (thou we were so tired...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank passedforgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The location is excellent to tour the metro area of Washington, DC. Within blocks are numerous restaurants, shopping, and attractions. A block to the east is the main stop for the trolley which takes one around the DC area. Our room was beyond antiquated as the bathroom was very stark with no shelving for personal supplies and thin towels. Walls could use painting and new carpet installed but otherwise clean. Hotel staff was very friendly and able to find us cabs at any time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNTrekker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The location for this hotel is excellent when visiting Capitol Hill, Smithsonian, Washington Monument and Lincoln Memorial. Even though the hotel is dated the room was clean and 4 adults could fit easily, but not much space for luggage left. For longer stays I would recommend a separate room for each couple. The noise from the street was bad, especially from early morning garbage trucks with screeching brakes. The staff was very helpful and check in/check out went without problems.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobcatSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigtown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The big plus to this hotel is its central location, pretty much the whole of DC is walkable, but the open top bus ride does open up the options and is much easier on the feet.
We had a "deluxe" family room which had a shower door between a twin for the boys and our double bedroom. As has been previously said the TVs are old and small, the bathroom is from the fiftys and yes the carpets, curtains and bedding could done with being replaced but it was clean, the staff were friendly and I couldn't find anything like the value for a family room within 5 miles.

Room Tip: The street was noisy and the windows only had single glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewwf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#92 of 141 in Washington DC
177 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,961 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,506 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Property: Hotel Harrington
Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world famous tourist district. Just 1/2 block from Pennsylvania Avenue, between the Capitol (10 Blocks) and the White House (5 blocks), you can easily walk to all the sights, such as Ford's Theatre is just 1 block, your first smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi, computer in lobby to print boarding passes, Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 Telephones - Direct Dial System. Local calls $0.25/each. Long Distance - see instructions in room Postage Stamps - Purchase from the front desk Televisions - Every room has a TV with free HBO! Laundromat - 2nd and 3rd floors Games for kids - just ask the front desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing