We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location”
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Vonore, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location, Location”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The location is excellent to tour the metro area of Washington, DC. Within blocks are numerous restaurants, shopping, and attractions. A block to the east is the main stop for the trolley which takes one around the DC area. Our room was beyond antiquated as the bathroom was very stark with no shelving for personal supplies and thin towels. Walls could use painting and new carpet installed but otherwise clean. Hotel staff was very friendly and able to find us cabs at any time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNTrekker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    536
    377
    178
    131
See reviews for
377
328
113
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The location for this hotel is excellent when visiting Capitol Hill, Smithsonian, Washington Monument and Lincoln Memorial. Even though the hotel is dated the room was clean and 4 adults could fit easily, but not much space for luggage left. For longer stays I would recommend a separate room for each couple. The noise from the street was bad, especially from early morning garbage trucks with screeching brakes. The staff was very helpful and check in/check out went without problems.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobcatSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigtown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The big plus to this hotel is its central location, pretty much the whole of DC is walkable, but the open top bus ride does open up the options and is much easier on the feet.
We had a "deluxe" family room which had a shower door between a twin for the boys and our double bedroom. As has been previously said the TVs are old and small, the bathroom is from the fiftys and yes the carpets, curtains and bedding could done with being replaced but it was clean, the staff were friendly and I couldn't find anything like the value for a family room within 5 miles.

Room Tip: The street was noisy and the windows only had single glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewwf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are fine if a little basic but have everything you need including a fridge (but no safe).

The location was perfect, a short walk to the metro and 10/15mins walk to the mall!

There is a Resteraunt and a shop and post box on sight.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The room, for the price, was not terrible value. It is an old hotel that has been updated in some ways but not a first class price. At $200 per night, it also was not terribly expensive by inflated DC standards. It's location was outstanding. Plenty of places to eat around it and in walking distance of the white house and many other attractions.

The problem was the shower. There is some obstruction keeping hot water from reaching the shower. Adjust the water temperature to where it is pleasantly warm when it is coming out of the faucet and then when you turn it up to the shower, it is COLD. Before the first shower I took 30 minutes adjusting the water to a reasonable temperature. It works like this. Turn the hot water all the way on with the water redirected to the shower. Then SLOWLY turn the cold water on. Turn the cold water on 1/100 of a turn and it is still too hot. At 2/100 of a turn it is bearably hot. At 3/100 of a turn, it is just plain cold.

I reported this to the front desk and they sent a maintenance man to fix it. I explained to him exactly what the problem was. That afternoon when I returned, it was not fixed. If you stay in this hotel, avoid room 1124.

Room Tip: avoid room 1124
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coniOtto, General Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you so much for letting us know about the shower issue in the room 1124, we take all complaints seriously and I will be looking into the problem and make sure that the shower has been taken care of. We always encourage guests who stay with us to contact a manager if their problems are not resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Don't believe the positive reviews you will read here! I am suspicious that they have been planted by someone who has never stayed here. It was the worst hotel expenence I've had in many years.

It has a great location, but if you don't mind threadbare sheets, broken doors,lousy beds, institutional bathrooms, dirty carpets and dirty walls, noisy guests late at night, electrical outlets hanging from bare wires, lights that don't work, microscopic TVs, no shelves in bathrooms, NOISY air conditioning with poor temperature control, no shampoo in the shower, and the smelly lobby that others have mentioned, this is your hotel. I was afraid to touch anything in the room, for fear of contamination. It's hard to believe that this hotel can pass inspection.

Lock and chain the door!!! On two separate occasions during the first day, the front desk sent new guests to the room who had also been incorrectly assigned the room. The first time, I didn't bolt the door and people walked into the room while I was resting on the bed!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BC_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
I am very sorry to hear that you did not like your stay at the Harrington Hotel, we strive to give our guests the very best experience possible as we have many first time customers as well as repeat customers who appreciate our hotel and give us rave reviews. Please contact the General Manager at the hotel so we can discuss your stay and try to resolve the issues that you are dissatified with. Kind regards hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Harrington Hotel is horrible. The first issue with the hotel is that the lobby smells really bad. Then when I got to my room, I noticed that the door to my room did not go all the way down to the floor, in fact there was a good two to three inch gap between the floor and the door. The windows in our room were held in by duct tape. The bed had stains and hair on it. We had to unplug the tv and lights to found an outlet, which buzzed when things were plugged in to them. The room had a radiator, but it did not work, so it was freezing in the room. The showers temperature would fluctuate from being boiling to icy. The faucet also leaked. There was only soap, and no other toiletries. On the last day there was a bug in the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeygig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coniOtto, General Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We are very sorry that you didn't like your room and had problems, we would be happy to discuss your stay if you would give us the opportunity to respond to your complaints. Please call Ann Terry, General Manager anytime to resolve these issues. Thank you for staying at Hotel Harrington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#86 of 141 in Washington DC
192 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
3,001 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,546 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#96 of 141 in Washington DC
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Property: Hotel Harrington
Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi, computer in lobby to print boarding passes, Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing