We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price was great! Location perfect! Slept like a baby!”
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Price was great! Location perfect! Slept like a baby!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel is a gem that was built in 1914. The room was simple but, large and clean. They have 2 venues inside the hotel to eat which means you can get a meal even late in the evening. One evening the kitchen was having some problem with their venting system so they could not serve food cooked on the grill (I was still able to have the clam chowder which I must say was totally delicious). The manager came to our table to explain and apologize. The manner in which he handled the problem was endearing and sweet and made us feel completely comfortable with our "second" food choices.

Room Tip: Ask to stay higher up as you could get street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    529
    373
    175
    129
See reviews for
368
322
112
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffern, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel reminds me of some of the older hotels I have stayed in while in London. Black & white check tile in the bathroom, older fixtures and furniture, but very clean. The location couldn't be beat though nor could the price. It is not luxury in the least, but it served our purpose. We were in town for 3 days over Spring Break to see the sights so were out most of the day, so were not there to "hang out" in the hotel. If you are looking for an upscale hotel, this is not for you, but if you are looking for something clean and comfortable, I would give it a try. We got a good deal with hotelcoupons.com which also included parking a few blocks away. You cannot beat the location!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobbiBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
padova
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were at W-DC at the end of july, I booked online while at the R. Regan word trade center a room for 4, 2 adults and 2 children, but when we ckecked in, after 30 minutes ( the hotel is in a strategic position to visit the white house and the mall), .... overbooking! The room had already been reserved to someone else and we accepted another one in the smoking zone. Dirty! Bad smelly! Noisy! Without light! Lamps were only in the bathroom but a very gentle and embarrassed attendant could help us in half a hour and found 4 bulbs for the 2 comunicating rooms? So, close yours eyes, your ears and don't touch... You can have a great location near the most extraordinary attractions of W-DC if you accept a few compromises

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tizianaitaly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Amazing hotel with great staff. Room's were inexpensive, clean and complete with a microwave and fridge. The first floor of the hotel has a typical pub with great food and cheap drinks, we ate here many times during our stay. It is also close to the major sights of Washington as well as many other restaurants and attractions. We actually we're supposed to transfer to a different hotel after one night at the Harrington but we cancelled and decided to stay here for the remainder of our trip. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canad
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We loved the location of the hotel.We could walk to the sights. The restaurant ,Harries ( attached to the hotel ) had great food at excellent prices.The room had a fridge,microwave and a kettle. The staff were very friendly. It is an older hotel but a gem . $170 US for two a joining room, 4 adults

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is perfect for someone on a budget, as DC hotels can be quite pricey! It's not updated (since I've been) and the rooms are small, BUT it was perfect for the price and if you plan on not being in the room a lot (ie. touring/business). The location is fabulous, just a block from the nearest metro stop and within walking distance of The National Mall and Smithsonian museums.
Stay here if you want a cheap room and don't care about a lot of hotel accommodations, it's a nice place to sleep :)

Room Tip: Make sure and specify if you want Non-Smoking, but there is a slight chance that a Smoking room will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoGirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I can't understand the hype around this Hotel. I agree the location is convenient, but that is the first and last positive about this Property. I understand that it is an old property, but it is not worth the prices which they charge for their pathetic rooms. I can find much better and cheaper accommodations only a 5- 10 minute subway ride away.

Infact I am visiting D.C again and am able to find even Brand Name 3 and 4 star properties which are cheaper and in the same area. I hope people don't fall for the Location claims and Old Hotel Claims, which do not allow you to live in disgusting, filthy rooms.

The elevators are creaky, I was scared for my safety, Bathroom fixtures were broken and there was no Hot Water even after running the tap for 15 mins. There was no room to move around , if you had any type of luggage in the room. I was just glad I did not get Bed Bugs. I would have been lucky to find a piece of clean carpet in the entire hotel.

I just hope people see this and understand that the property is just not worth the prices that you pay them, I have had better hotels paying less than half the price. This trip, I will stay a little further away, maybe Dupont Circle or Arlington, but have some peace of mind. Its worth the 10 mins you spend in the clean D.C. subway.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDhruv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#92 of 141 in Washington DC
177 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,961 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,502 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Property: Hotel Harrington
Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world famous tourist district. Just 1/2 block from Pennsylvania Avenue, between the Capitol (10 Blocks) and the White House (5 blocks), you can easily walk to all the sights, such as Ford's Theatre is just 1 block, your first smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi, computer in lobby to print boarding passes, Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 Telephones - Direct Dial System. Local calls $0.25/each. Long Distance - see instructions in room Postage Stamps - Purchase from the front desk Televisions - Every room has a TV with free HBO! Laundromat - 2nd and 3rd floors Games for kids - just ask the front desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing