We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, excellent location and bicycle friendly!”
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here 30 years ago as a teenager and went back for the first time in June 2012. We stayed for a week arriving on 6/23/2012 and leaving on 6/30/2012. This hotel is old and has not had many updates however it did not bother me at all. To tell you the truth it would bother me if they gutted it and changed it. The place was built in 1917 and the rooms are a bit small but it was no problem. There is a certain charm to this place. They still have the old skeleton key locks on the closet doors!!! The room doors are very good however and use the newest RFID cards to open them. You don't even need to insert the card. Inside the rooms, they are dated but just as clean as any other hotel I've been in. Loads of hot water. The staff at the front desk was very nice and gave me good advice about sightseeing. I used the WIFI every day and it always worked and worked very well. They had free post cards at the desk. Most important to me was that they are VERY bicycle friendly. They had no problem with us keeping our bikes in our room and moving through the lobby every morning and night with them. They even let us keep them in the lobby while we ate at their restaurant. This place is the cheapest you will find in downtown DC. You will never find a place in this price range as close to the monuments. At 11th and E street you will be right in the heart of it all for a very low price. When I go back to DC it will be right here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank asdf1234Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,375)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Harrington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

686 - 692 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

I'm delighted we decided to stay here during the Washington leg of our travels. We wanted somewhere central and affordable, somewhat taking a risk on quality. We were more-than-pleasantly surprised. The rooms were basic, yes, but were clean and sufficient, and the staff were really friendly and very helpful. It's location is awesome: close to the national mall, museums, White House, Verizon Center. The bar/restaurant downstairs is affordable and friendly and the portions of food are huge.

It's not the Four Seasons, obviously, but you wouldn't expect it to be for the price, would you?

The only negative? Well, the parking is in a sweltering underground PMI garage a couple of blocks over, but that was only a mild irritation.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank COLQUHOUN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We picked this hotel for its very affordable price in a location near to all the tourist attractions. It was older so the extras you get at a lot of chain hotels weren't there, but it was clean and the desk people were very helpful. I thought the old doorknobs and such were charming and there were neat pictures in the lobby showing the hotel's history. It was very adequate for our needs and what we expected from an older, downtown hotel in our price range. I think, however, just updating the bedspreads and carpet would make everything look much nicer for little investment.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

There is nothing "refurbished" about this hotel. I could not even control the temperture in my room. There was only one available eletrical outlet and it was not near the bathroon or near a mirror. The provided hair dryer had no force at all and so it took three times as long to dry your hair. the internet was spotty. There is no lobby to hang out in ao you were forced into the local restaraunt which was high priced and mediocre at best. Next trip I willpay extra and stay nicer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just back from a three day visit with a party of 40 children. The hotel was excellent for groups. We had about 5/6 kids to each room which they loved! The staff were friendly and accommodating and the hotel could not be in a more central location.
The little cafe in the hotel was perfect for breakfast and had plenty to go round buffet style.
I wasn't in Harry's bar which is the bar in the hotel but it looked like it was a popular place.
The hotel is two blocks away from a metro stop which is incredibly handy and the area is crammed with shops, restaurants and bars.
There is also drinks machines and ice machines on each floor which is very convenient. In addition the hotel has free wi-fi which was a pain for us as the kids were accessing twitter etc on it however it was handy for keeping in touch with home and the reception was very good. It wasn't strong/ fast enough to access Skype or viber but it enabled you to access email and update facebook etc.
Yes the rooms are dated and a bit run down - it looks like something from the 70's but it had everything we needed. It also has a small shop in the foyer which sells sweets/ chocolate and soft drinks and also did a nice line in tacky souvenirs and postcards.
The tv in the bedroom was awful the reception was fuzzy and got hardly any channels but we really only used the room for sleeping in so we were not fussed.
If I was returning to Washington I would definitely consider staying here again (especially with a group of kids) it had everything we needed and at a good price!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tumshi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Budget hotel and in a bit of a time warp, but in great location (Michelle Obama even had a book signing at the B&N across the street from our hotel). Rooms were clean, staff was very helpful in showing you where to go on maps, etc. Free internet was appreciated. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Without doubt this hotel is the worst I have every used. Spent two days in June in the hotel, and that was two days too long.

The BATHROOM was dirty - cracked and missing tiles; the BEDROOM had no air-con (just a small ceiling fan) and electric cables and TV leads trailed over dirty worn carpets.. The bed came with a USED (not clean) blanket, sheet and a couple of pillows.

There was a kettle on the floor with two tea bags, and one coffee bag. No sugar or spoons supplied. When questioned - the front desk staff told me they did not provide coffee / tea making facilities in bedrooms!

This is the first hotel review I have ever written - but felt I just have to let other know of my visit and hopefully avoid this awful place.

Room Tip: A great location for anyone wising to visit the White House but the hotel has nothing else going for...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amjf1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#88 of 141 in Washington DC
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
2,576 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
3,043 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#96 of 141 in Washington DC
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $153 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi, computer in lobby to print boarding passes, Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing