We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touring Washington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #72 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mooretown
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Touring Washington”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here for one night Friday August 1st, 2014. Beautiful hotel and was a great price. Wifi in the lobby only which was fine because it was great to come down and sit in the lobby because it was so nice. Starbucks and a couple of restaurants right in the hotel. Great location for touring Washington. Very close to everything. Took The Metro to Nationals Park for a ball game.If you walk a short distance down to the galleria to grab Metro you won't have to transfer.Very easy to take and lots of help from other travellers and staff to get the fare card. The only downfall to this hotel is the expensive valet parking. $45 is a bit ridiculous. They did let us leave our vehicle there after we checked out until 6pm that day so we could do some more sightseeing. The valet guys were great. But $45?? $25 maybe...I get parking is at a premium but come on.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBall5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Hello CBall5,

Appreciate you taking the time out of your day to write a review on your visit to Grand Hyatt Washington. Thank you for giving our future guests an idea of what to expect when staying at this location, we truly appreciate your loyalty and recommendations. I am sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with valet parking charges. I have sent your suggestions to our executive management team to see what they can do to make future stays a better experience. Hope to see you in the future.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,920
    1,583
    682
    291
    178
See reviews for
1,095
803
203
2,031
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Overall this is a nice hotel, and worth considering if you get a discount rate (~$150 a night). However, I experienced a strange set of flaws that surprised me. Here are the top 3:
1) The rooms are by no means sound proof. If you're a light sleeper, expect to not sleep well as you'll hear most hallway noise.
2) On the day of checkout I woke up to the cleaning service knocking on my door at 9:30 am. I've never stayed somewhere before where this was done prior to 10 or 11 am, and I found it obnoxious.
3) The water pressure in our shower was below average for a hotel of this stature.

Additionally, if you plan to eat breakfast in the hotel restaurant and don't have a voucher of some sort, be prepared to spend an absurd amount of money for average food.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in a room situated near a vending/ice machine, as you'll likely hear it in your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkirsch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Good Morning dkirsch78,

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback on a recent stay at Grand Hyatt Washington. Happy to hear your overall visit was a great one. I really appreciate you providing your concerns from your visit and I am very sorry to hear about the challenges you faced. I have forwarded your comments to our executive management to look into solutions. Hope to see you in the future.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just returned from a week of sightseeing in our nation's capital. Arrived at the hotel around lunchtime. Although the lobby was very busy, we were checked in and in our room within 15 minutes. Front desk personnel were courteous and helpful.

We requested a room that faced the street since previous stays at other Hyatt hotels taught us that inner facing rooms can be noisy if there are activities such as conventions, parties, etc taking place at the hotel.

Our room was clean, well maintained and most of all quiet. This is important to us after a busy day of sightseeing and walking through the city. The bed was comfortable so se could start off the day refreshed and relaxed.

You really can't beat the location which is one of the best features the hotel has to offer. The Metro is onsite and a walk to the White House is about 15 minutes away. We also walked down 11th St. to several of the Smithsonian museums - about 20 minutes walk. you will also pass Ford's Theater on the way.

Do your homework on TripAdvisor and you should be able to see all of the major tourist attractions using the Metro or by foot - right from the hotel.

Travel tips:

Hotel parking is expensive at $45 per day. Park at the indoor garage on 11th St. for only $21 a day. It's located across the street from the hotel.

Breakfast at the hotel can also be pretty pricey. The valet recommended the Lincoln Waffle House (across from Ford's Theater). TripAdvisor also gives it good ratings. Not fancy but good breakfast at reasonable prices.

Several of the museums stay open later than 5:00 PM so do these at the end of the day. The same advice for the tour of the Capitol Building and the National Archives. Got to each about 4:00 PM on succeeding days and just walked right in

Room Tip: Request a high floor and a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelFleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay! Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Please do come back and see us soon!

Thanks,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

* Price: reasonable, $150 per night on average. 4 star.
* Accommodation: beautiful lobby with glass ceilings, Starbucks, restaurants and shops in the lobby, indoor pool, gym. Free wifi if you are enrolled in Hyatt loyalty program. 4 star.
* Location: convenient entrance to the metro, closed to smithsonian museums, Wax museum, convention center, 4+ star.
* Motif / room: good size, modern, comfy bed. Refrigerator in room, big flat screen TV, shampoo/soap/ toothpastes. 4 star.
* Service: front desh/bell services/doormen are all pleasant and polite. 4 star.

Stayed here for a conference at the Walter E. Washington convention center. The lobby is beautiful with water features surrounding the restaurant in the lobby. The glass ceiling is beautiful, allowing light into the hotel, changing color through out the day.

The rooms are recently remodeled with modern, clean line decor. The bed is quite comfy. It was very hot and humid during our stay; so the room has a misty smell!
Otherwise, it is quite clean. We did not get chance to check out the gym and pool due to our tight schedule.

The hotel is conveniently connected to the metro station. It is also very closed to museums (within walking distance), restaurants, shoppings and chinatown.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Definitely would stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kukulimoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Greetings kukulimoku,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback from a past conference stay at our Grand Hyatt Washington. Thrilled you had a great time and felt our price and accommodations were a perfect fit for your travels. We often hear enthusiastic remarks on our location and how convenient we are to so many attractions and the metro. Our team members at this location look forward to welcoming you back!

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Good location, but there are to a of other options in the area. My shower curtain liner was moldy (ver moldy- gross!), the previous guest's leftovers were in the mini fridge, shower didn't drain well, one day they didn't replace the shower matt, etc. Frankly, for a Hyatt I expect a bit more- at least in the cleanliness department. If the price is right, stay here but manage your expectations; don't pay rack rates though. The hotel is enormous- if you do stay I'd request a room on a high floor, away from the elevators and overlooking the street, not the atrium.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaltyHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Good Morning SaltyHoney,

I appreciate you taking the time to share feedback on your stay at Grand Hyatt Washington this year. I am very sorry to hear about the lack of housekeeping encountered in your guest room. I definitely understand your frustration with the cleanliness and I have forwarded your comments to our management to follow up with our staff. If you would like to speak about this matter further, please contact our Guest Relations department. We look forward to hearing from your and welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Our family was extremely pleased with the Grand Hyatt in Washingtion, D.C. The staff were very friendly and helpful/attentive, the food was delicious, the whole hotel, as well as our room, were very attractive, clean and quiet!!! The location was perfect for walking and taking the Metro...with its entrance in the hotel... A major convenience!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington. I'm so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful associates. I'm so happy that you enjoyed our wonderful food options. I will certainly forward all your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Exceptional service, great location and an open airy indoor atrium make this a wonderful place to stay. I attended a national conference at this hotel an annual occasion the past three years. This trip proved to be like the prior stays at this fine hotel. The staff are friendly, knowledgable and always available. The Grand Salon was a welcome respite and the concierge services were just fantastic. The hotel and staff are just great I will stay again here in the fall and recommend the Grand Hyatt highly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank George Hoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to have you back with us in the Fall!

Thanks,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
973 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,961 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#92 of 141 in Washington DC
177 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 4*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing