We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #72 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I enjoyed staying at this property. Typically properties of this size are impersonal but not this one. The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated. While the interior scheme showed its age the furniture was not worn out. Staff was friendly and the doormen were very knowledgeable of the area. For those who have been wanting to try a Shake Shack, there is one within a short walking distance of the property. I would stay at this property again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BossHog0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,748
    1,484
    618
    270
    170
See reviews for
995
752
190
1,859
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hyatt brand speaks for itself, the room decoration is very nice and the lobby looks wonderful. The hotel is very close to the China town if you are in for Chinese food. Walking distance is a little long but okay to most of the attractions. The onsite gym is a little small but very well equipped. The last but not least is the service, the staff is very friendly. I wish they can provide drinking water for free instead of charging $3 a bottle in the room.

BTW, the street side is a little noisy because there was a lot of sirens sound in the DC. You can choose the side face inside to avoid it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Ray S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington. We are delighted to hear about your love for the amazing accommodations you had during your visit! We can't wait to show you more at all of our other locations worldwide. Again, thank you for your kind comments and hope to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just stayed one night. Nthabi at the front desk was awesome. Like meeting an old friend. Very friendly and professional service. Very accommodation and attention to detail. Hotel is located close to everything! Lots of dining options right at the hotel. Tour bus stops right there as we'll.

Inside and outside rooms. We chose inside for quiet and the higher you are also seems to make a difference

Rooms were a good size but beds were only double. Beds should start at queen. Just saying.

Overall good stay. Would recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I cannot say enough about how great this hotel is. The layout, the restaurants, the room decor, EVERYTHING is top notch AND for a great price. The only downside (minor) is that I could slightly hear a group of 4 women staying in the room next me. Otherwise, this hotel is quiet. The tunnel to the metro from the lobby is an added bonus. Simply put, SUPERB hotel team that knows how to make for a great stay!

Room Tip: Interior rooms are QUIET and have great views into a beautiful atrium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
2dads2kids,

I'm glad the efforts of our team and location of our hotel made your time in Washington memorable. Thank you for choosing Hyatt.

-Paul R.
Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Nice redo - like the subdued lighting from the headboards.
This is an efficient, highly functioning hotel.
Wine in the lobby bar disappointing -- needs better selection
When Congress not in town, the rates are a true bargain.
Congress in town, can be quite pricey.

Room Tip: upper floors are quieter --esp facing the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 501casper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
501casper,

Thank you for your review on your past stay. We truly appreciate your feedback.

-Paul R.
Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The location of the hotel is great, near the White House and on top of a metro station. The decor is 1990's style and could use some updates but the hotel is well maintained. I gave the hotel lowered marks for noise. I asked to he placed in a quiet room as I am a light sleeper. They put me in a room on the first floor, in the 190's. The room was right over a loading dock: starting at 4:30 AM trucks were pulling up making very loud alarm like beeping noises. I could not sleep from then on. The front desk was apologetic and said they would move my room, but I wish they'd assigned me the quiet room I requested to begin with. I have a White House tour in 5 hours and Im wiped out. Hopefully the new room will be quiet enough that I can sleep tonight in time for the conference I'm attending tomorrow. Memories are good, rooms clean, furniture updated. Wi-Fi starts at $11 per day. Fees to park starting at $20. Gym extra.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrixieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Location is the best thing about this Hyatt. Close to Chinatown, Verizon center downtown. Easy access to the Metro from within the hotel is a plus. Wanted to like this Hyatt as I am a fan, but this property pales in comparison to other grand Hyatt properties. Rooms are on the small side with "public" style bathroom/toilet. We had room facing inside atrium (10th floor) which was noisy and lots of echo noise late at night and early morning which made it difficult to get a good night's sleep. Bed was comfortable but heating/cooling vent blew right on you in bed (expected in a lesser hotel, not a $300/night Hyatt). I have stayed at nearby JW Marriott on Pennsylvania ave which was comparable in price but superior overall. Smallish fitness center but functional.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NWtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing