We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal for business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #71 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“ideal for business stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Choice of hotel was from the person organizing the small conference I attended for two days. Very centrally located. My room seemed a somewhat awkward shape when I first walked in but eventually I rather liked the fact that the bed was on an angle, well away from the entrance door. Room had everything I required, very comfortable bed, spotlessly clean. Interesting charging station next to the desk that offered many options including plugs and usb charging. Bathroom was a bit "industrial" ie. the toilet was one with the pipes showing as in a public facility, however water pressure etc was terrific. Any staff I had contact with were very pleasant. Its a huge hotel and I was concerned that might mean long waits for elevators in the morning but in fact they were very fast. Cant say the hotel had charm - it was a large chain hotel - but it was a comfortable stay that left nothing to be desired.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVLTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,799
    1,519
    636
    276
    172
See reviews for
1,029
767
194
1,911
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We checked in tonight at 8:30 and it was a total mess. We are a family of four and I booked a room with with two double beds. When I checked in, I was told that they over sold all the double bed rooms. I offered to pay for an upgrade, and they didn't have anything to accommodate all 4 of us except they could give me a king room, and bring in a roll away bed. I said fine, and figured my son could just sleep with us. He's 8. Not the greatest accommodations, but things happen and no big deal as long as we all had a place to sleep... While we waited, they gave the kids ice cream sandwiches which was nice,but not expected, and the workers checking us in were very accommodating and super nice. Again, things happen! We headed to our " king" room, and it was a queen. I called and asked for two roll aways since it was a queen and we would make it work. They said they couldn't bring two into the room. I then said the queen room was not going to work, and they then gave us a king room with 1 roll away bed after calling 2 times and waiting another 20 minutes. We got to the new room and it is on the first floor and the room itself is clean, however, the hallway on the way to the room is disgusting! There was dirt and dry wall pieces all over the floor. I understand they're under construction, but at least vacuum the hallways if u have guests staying on the floors. If you do stay here, I would not stay on the first or 2nd floors. That is where both of the rooms are that we were in and the construction is still going on. I will say, the location is great though, but I would definitely recommend staying at a different hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Washington. It is very disappointing to learn that you and your family did not receive your requested bed type. Please know we try and accommodate all of our guests bed type requests to ensure their stays are enjoyable. I have shared your comments regarding the corridors to our housekeeping manager. I want to assure you that your recent experience at our property is not the norm. I hope that we can have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Washington so you can experience our true Hyatt hospitality.

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Absolutely enjoyed my stay here! The staff was amazing and very courteous. The rooms were clean and updated (LOVED the bedside outlet for my electronics!) The best part was the location! All the attractions are just a 10-15 minute walk away. It was perfect! Definitely will stay here again if I find myself in Washington DC in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

A recent trip took me to DC to meet with our legislators and we had our national conference at the Grand Hyatt. Rather than focus on the rooms, which were excellent down to the adjustable beds - I thought I would let other business travelers know that the Grand Hyatt put on an excellent business conference. From the food, to the conference room, to the service by the local technology team - everything went awesome. Great job Hyatt DC

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back of the hotel (Opposite the lobby entrance) There is a nightclub across the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I’m delighted the conference you attended went very smoothly. I’ll be sure to share your kind words with the staff that assisted during the event. Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Washington. I hope we can welcome you back to our property in the future!

Brock S – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed with my kids during the spring break. The location of the hotel is very convenient. The Metro station entrance is through the hotel. All the attractions are within 10-15 minutes walk. The rooms are updated and have everything you need. The personnel is very nice and helpful. Daniella at the front desk was always so pleasant to work with. Every night at 6:30 (I don't know if it was just during the spring break though), the hotel had a free movie and a free popcorn for kids. That was great! After a long day visiting museums, a movie night was an icing on a cake. Kids loved it. We also used the pool facilities. The pool is small (the picture on the hotel website makes you think otherwise) but enough for the kids. I only had one unpleasant experience with the Asian women who worked for that fitness club. She didn't let my kids to take a shower after the pool. She said that the "wet areas" are closed 30 minutes prior. But in their rules, the "wet areas" are specified as "Pool, steam room and sauna", not the shower. I was truly irritated by the fact that she just probably wanted to leave earlier. The other guys working there were very nice. Otherwise, we had a good experience and I would definitively recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
245 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I attended a meeting recently at this hotel. Despite the fact that they were renovating, we still had a pleasureable stay with minimal noise. The sleep experience was amazing and the rooms had a docking station for one's iPhone which was super useful. The cafe/restaurant linked to the hotel was great but you also had the options of a Starbucks cafe if you were not that hungry. I would definitely stay here again. The conference was on a separate level 2 levels below the hotel but it helped not to have to catch a taxi or sleep in for a few extra minutes.

Room Tip: try and get a room overlooking the foyer, its not even noisy and the hotel always has an inetresting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SZavahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel that is close to many of the Washington DC attractions. Several block walk to the National Mall. If you want to take the Metro, all you need to do is walk down one floor for it is right in the hotel. For all you Starbucks fans, there is one located in the lobby. There is a nice restaurant and sports bar as well. Hotel offers a breakfast special for an additional charge. This buffet is well worth the extra few dollars. Rooms are newly decorated as the hotel just finished a major refurbishing. This hotel has a lot to offer for the tourist visiting Washington DC. Highly recommended. Valet parking is also available for an additional price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carm97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 4*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing