We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great looks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #71 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great location, great looks!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What strikes you as you enter the hotel is the decor, very interesting indeed. The staff at the business center were especially helpful, as were the bellboys and concierge. The location is excellent, close to the DC attractions. I stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms and found them comfortable. There is still some renovation work going on during the day, but not really bothersome unless you plan to sleep through the working hours. The convention centre in the basement is very good too. The restaurants looked interesting, though I didn't end up eating there. You will be greeted with cookies and water if you arrive early, but they do not relax the check in/check out timings.

Room Tip: While I was there, all the handicapped accessible rooms were undergoing renovation - that's 1 on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirajM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,964
    1,612
    690
    297
    180
See reviews for
1,114
814
206
2,084
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bennington, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

High quality hotel and furnishings recently renovated. Staff very friendly an professional. Value is rated excellent because I got a $99 / night rate on Expedia for the weekend. Less if scdeal during the week when rates are in the $360/ night range.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cagtaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel one year ago and gave it a mediocre review. The improvement this time around was striking. The renovated rooms are very nicely done, matching the guest rooms with the overall feel of the hotel as modern and classic at the same time. But just as noticeable during this most recent stay was the greater attention to customer service. I had several small requests that were attended to with friendliness, promptness, and professionalism. I wonder whether there has been a managerial change and corresponding improvement in morale and culture amongst all the employees because everyone just seemed to be more attentive and friendly. The hotel continues to be located in an excellent part of the city--for easy walking access to restaurants on nearby 7th Street, and the Metro Centre station attached for easy access to the rest of D.C. When the weather is nice it's even walkable to the National Mall. And finally, the Starbucks location in the hotel lobby is very convenient. My only suggestion: better quality sheets and pillows would be nice for a hotel of this quality (although the new bed is very comfortable).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyTWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I’m delighted we were able to welcome you back to our property. It sounds like you had a much improved visit. I’m pleased you found the staff to be very attentive and friendly. Our location is very convenient for our guests. Having the metro station access from the hotel lobby and being within walking distance to several D.C. attractions makes it very easy for our guests to explore. Thank you for your feedback it is greatly appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back again in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Large hotel, great for a conference. There was construction going on in some of the rooms but it did not disturb my stay at all. The restaurant on site was delicious, I definitely recommend. The business center attendant was EXTREMELY helpful and pleasant. The conference - hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful as well. It is a typical chain-business hotel but very nice. The location is awesome, especially with metro access directly to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I was briefly here for business last November and I was shocked at how outdated the rooms were. Well, it's much better now. They are currently renovating, with noise from constructionthat earns you a free cocktail, but isn't that disturbing really if you ask for a room away from construction. Our room faced tenth street and was on the fourth floor and was new and pretty quiet. Nicer beds and desk area than not before.

Service still feels pretty mediocre for a big hotel chain, but the price probably just makes it feel that way.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mvk422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Convention Center where my Conference took place. Since the Conference was really intense, early morning to late night, time at the hotel was minimal and consisted almost entirely of showering and sleeping and using the computer. I was not disturbed at all by the renovations and appreciated the gesture of free Internet and a free drink. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom and shower very good...so that was all I needed. The staff were pleasant and accommodating when I requested paper cups (which I prefer to use in the bathroom) and bath mats and delivered them quickly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently spent two nights at the Grand Hyatt in D,C, for a business function. They were in the midst of doing construction on their handicapped rooms...seven days a week! As luck would have it, my room was next to the construction. The workers were as considerate as they could be, but sleeping in was not an option as they began their work pretty early. The hotel staff was friendly and professional and comped my internet connection for my stay. How these large chains get away with charging for internet these days is beyond me, so getting it for free was not an extreme satisfyer.
I would like to recommend to the housekeeping staff that they use their "inside voices'. These hard working women did a nice job on my room, but perhaps they're hard of hearing or were trying to be heard over the construction din because they were yelling to each other in their native tongues in the hallway of the floor I was staying on.
On a positive note, the sports bar in the hotel had a good energy, though the prices were on the high side. The Starbucks in the lobby provided breakfast (eggs, bacon, etc...) in addition to coffee. The Capital City Brewery is right accross the street, which was nice and the hotel has immediate access to the various Metro train lines, however, it is a bit north of The Mall.
This was my first trip to D.C. and I will definitely return to this vibrant and exciting city. I think, though, that I will look at the Trip Advisor reviews to find a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semipermeable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
985 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
3,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 4*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing