We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #61 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2009

This is a terrific little inn. The surrounding area (Foggy Bottom) is a great neighborhood and the hotel is only about a block away from the metro station. The area is safe; I felt very comfortable walking back to the hotel with my three young daughters after dark. The hotel room was very clean and spacious. The kitchen was functional and convenient and the bed was very comfortable. Best of all, the staff was very friendly and helpful; they went out of their way to ensure that our stay was comfortable and that we had everything we needed. And of course, the price was fabulous - an all around great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigRig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUINN, Front Office manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2009

Thank you kindly for your recent stay with us and glad it was a refined and yet relaxed experiance. we appreciate your time writing a feedback and sharing your good experience with us because our main concern is to have our guest happy and relaxed and we are glad we have made it happen this way. Thank you for the high praise about us, the safety, neighborhood and the location as it is a very convenient location to the metro,GWU,Georgetown and almost all attraction.
Thank you once again and hope to see you in the near future.
Best Regards
From all of us at the GWUINN.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,253 - 1,259 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2009

Cute Foggy Bottom neighborhood, less than 5 minute walk to metro, 15 minute walk to Lincoln Memorial or Georgetown Waterfront, Clean room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetPeaVentura_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

My son and I stayed at the GWU Inn while visiting George Wash. University. Located
right on the edge of GWU campus you are within walking distance of everything. The
staff was very helpful and the rooms were clea and spacious.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We had a very pleasant stay for two nights while visiting colleges in the D.C. area. To avoid noise, we asked for and got a high-floor room overlooking a side street. The room was sunny, good a/c, very clean. Bathroom had good amenities and great towels. The room had 2 queen beds, and a separate dressing area w/ a fridge/microwave combo. We paid an extra $10 for breakfast for two of us in the restaurant. Great coffee, juices, fruit, yogurt, bagels, etc. -- just what we needed and less money/more comfortable than if we'd gone to Starbucks. The staff was helpful, but we weren't asking for tourist directions. Metro stop is a three minute walk, and the Watergate, with a drugstore and supermarket, is a five minute walk. The neighborhood is charming. Georgetown is about a 15 minute walk, or you can take the Circulator bus, for $1, to get there. It took us about 20 minutes to get to Reagan airport via metro. This is not a full-service hotel with a fitness room, business center, etc., but the price is good for all that you do get.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queensgrlStl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Overall, hotel is dated and a bit worn but OK for a college or sightseeing trip with the kids. Rooms are very large but quite dark. More lighting is needed.
Cannot beat the location and just strolling the area is lovely and safe at any hour.
Doormen are very helpful getting cabs and the restaurant staff is friendly. The desk staff is completely clueless about restaurants. Really. We asked about Indian restaurants and were told there was one .7 miles away and another one 11 miles away. Absolutely ridiculous. I had been on line and knew more than that!
Re the restaurant - not quite sure why it is in DC's "Top 100." The bar does not have the ingredients to make a bloody mary and the food was overpriced and very mediocre.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deckgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

I chose the GWU Inn based on the Trip Advisor reviews I read that stressed the convenience. We lived on the Metro during our four day visit, so being a block from the Foggy Bottom/GWU Metro stop was a huge bonus. We were also checking out GWU with our teenaged daughter, so we could get a sense of the neighborhood and the students living around us. The GWU Inn rooms were very nice - super clean and everything was comfortable - especially the beds. However, I agree with the comments on the soundproofing - my daughter was awakened in the middle of the night by a very noisy neighbor and could hear everything said. My only other complaint is that the front desk staff didn't seem to have a clue regarding directions or restaurant recommendations. I also thought that a boutique hotel like this would have complimentary coffee/tea in the lobby. Oh, well, just a thought for management! Also, breakfast was actually quite good and a great value at $6.50 per person (fruit, yogurts, cereals, OJ, coffee, home-baked - I think - banana nut bread, bagels and toast). Plenty to start your day with (apparently there are packages you can buy that includes breakfast, but when I researched the price per night, it didn't make sense to buy the package). Also, one morning, the restaurant was almost out of food at 8:45pm and they tried to tell us to go eat somewhere else. The waiter was quite flustered and ultimately we were able to get enough to eat, but I thought that indicated poor planning by someone.
Overall, I really recommend this hotel, esp. for its proximity to the Metro station, 15 minute walk to Georgetown, 10 minute walk to Kennedy Center. Last tip: There's a 7-11 up the street if you forget your toothbrush :)

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Right in GWU, so easy to walk all over, we never use the subway, is a long walk but you could go to all the sightseeing from here. Big rooms with kitchenette, quiet small hotel, the restaurant doesn´t look good but the food is good, however if you can, go to another restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,802 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,585 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
1,297 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
1,791 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $187 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing