We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great neighborhood, convenient and lovely room for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We had a very pleasant stay for two nights while visiting colleges in the D.C. area. To avoid noise, we asked for and got a high-floor room overlooking a side street. The room was sunny, good a/c, very clean. Bathroom had good amenities and great towels. The room had 2 queen beds, and a separate dressing area w/ a fridge/microwave combo. We paid an extra $10 for breakfast for two of us in the restaurant. Great coffee, juices, fruit, yogurt, bagels, etc. -- just what we needed and less money/more comfortable than if we'd gone to Starbucks. The staff was helpful, but we weren't asking for tourist directions. Metro stop is a three minute walk, and the Watergate, with a drugstore and supermarket, is a five minute walk. The neighborhood is charming. Georgetown is about a 15 minute walk, or you can take the Circulator bus, for $1, to get there. It took us about 20 minutes to get to Reagan airport via metro. This is not a full-service hotel with a fitness room, business center, etc., but the price is good for all that you do get.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queensgrlStl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,255 - 1,261 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2009

Overall, hotel is dated and a bit worn but OK for a college or sightseeing trip with the kids. Rooms are very large but quite dark. More lighting is needed.
Cannot beat the location and just strolling the area is lovely and safe at any hour.
Doormen are very helpful getting cabs and the restaurant staff is friendly. The desk staff is completely clueless about restaurants. Really. We asked about Indian restaurants and were told there was one .7 miles away and another one 11 miles away. Absolutely ridiculous. I had been on line and knew more than that!
Re the restaurant - not quite sure why it is in DC's "Top 100." The bar does not have the ingredients to make a bloody mary and the food was overpriced and very mediocre.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deckgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

I chose the GWU Inn based on the Trip Advisor reviews I read that stressed the convenience. We lived on the Metro during our four day visit, so being a block from the Foggy Bottom/GWU Metro stop was a huge bonus. We were also checking out GWU with our teenaged daughter, so we could get a sense of the neighborhood and the students living around us. The GWU Inn rooms were very nice - super clean and everything was comfortable - especially the beds. However, I agree with the comments on the soundproofing - my daughter was awakened in the middle of the night by a very noisy neighbor and could hear everything said. My only other complaint is that the front desk staff didn't seem to have a clue regarding directions or restaurant recommendations. I also thought that a boutique hotel like this would have complimentary coffee/tea in the lobby. Oh, well, just a thought for management! Also, breakfast was actually quite good and a great value at $6.50 per person (fruit, yogurts, cereals, OJ, coffee, home-baked - I think - banana nut bread, bagels and toast). Plenty to start your day with (apparently there are packages you can buy that includes breakfast, but when I researched the price per night, it didn't make sense to buy the package). Also, one morning, the restaurant was almost out of food at 8:45pm and they tried to tell us to go eat somewhere else. The waiter was quite flustered and ultimately we were able to get enough to eat, but I thought that indicated poor planning by someone.
Overall, I really recommend this hotel, esp. for its proximity to the Metro station, 15 minute walk to Georgetown, 10 minute walk to Kennedy Center. Last tip: There's a 7-11 up the street if you forget your toothbrush :)

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Right in GWU, so easy to walk all over, we never use the subway, is a long walk but you could go to all the sightseeing from here. Big rooms with kitchenette, quiet small hotel, the restaurant doesn´t look good but the food is good, however if you can, go to another restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

The GWUInn is clean, the suites are spacious enough for 3 adults and the staff is friendly. Best of all the hotel borders the GWU campus and is one and a half blocks from the Foggy Bottom metro stop (10 minutes and you're at the Mall/Smithsonian). On the downside, you'll hear sirens as EMTs appraoch the GWU hospital just up the street. To reduce street noise and have a better view I recommend asking for a room facing the inner courtyard and above the 6th floor. For a better rate, contact the hotel directly.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1swordfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

I have stayed here two different times - once for pleasure and once for a convention that was being held at another much larger hotel. Metro is close and many attractions are withing walking distance. Location is great! Staff is nice - hot apple cider waiting for you in the lobby. The rooms are large, clean, and so comfortable. A great place for the cost.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VonnieMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

My husband and I were in DC for a few days of sightseeing and wanted a comfortable hotel near the metro for a reasonable price. We found it at the GWU Inn. We got a great price directly from the hotel, so even with the parking fee it was less expensive than other, similar hotels that were not as convenient.

The location is indeed convenient. The distance to the metro station was an easy block-and-a-half - 5 minutes at most.

The king room was spacious and clean. It had a small dorm-size fridge, in which we stored milk and a few other items for an eat-in breakfast. Yes, the decor and bathroom fixtures were a bit worn though not shabby. But that's not what we were there for. We were out all day and the room offered a completely comfortable place to relax in the evening. The furniture, bed, and pillows were all comfortable.

The staff were friendly and helpful. We had specified a non-smoking room. On arrival I thought I smelled the faintest odor of smoke - barely enough to matter, but they changed our room without hesitation.

The only disappointment was the attached restaurant. After a long day at the museums, we wanted something simple but were too tired to explore. Bad choice on our part. The menu was on the expensive side, probably what you'd expect for a "nice" dinner out. It just wasn't what we were looking for. We opted for salads, which were good, but we somehow felt out of place.

All in all, the minuses were very trivial. We were quite happy with our experience and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank the_keos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,786 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,563 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
One Washington Circle Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,901 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $190 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing