We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Foggy Bottom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #60 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great hotel staff. I felt like I was among friends immediately upon entering the property. Staff went out of their way to provide great service. The rooms are very comfortable. It has charm without trying to generate "an experience". The location on a quiet street is great, especially for GWU and other Foggy Bottom destinations. I will be coming back to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Your review was one of the best compliments we have received. We are so pleased that you felt this way and enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we get to see you again soon!

Thank you again,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just got home from a week in DC at The George Washington Inn. Excellent location. Very quiet after a long day of sight seeing. Convenient to restaurants, Lincoln Memorial, Kennedy Center and the waterfront. Beau at the front desk went above and beyond as a gracious host.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dmorris57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Beau is very pleased that he was able to make your stay a "5 star review"! Thank you for the great review. We all hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is the best starting point to explore the capital of the US! It is conveniently located near Foggy Bottom metro stattion, That allows easy ride to Dulles airport and almost any destination in DC, Va and Md one would wish to visit. Moderate proces, comfortable rooms with all amenities. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: 15 minutes walk to a great recreation spot in Washington - Theodore Roosevelt island. If you rent a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Evgueniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay! Hopefully we get to see you again soon.

Thnak you for the kind review,

Jared BAirstow
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were in DC for an admitted student day at GWU. We arrived very late. And there was some issue w/ the hotel's AC system. However, the front desk went out of her way to accommodate us. We just opened the windows and the room temp was fine. We were very pleased and will look to stay again as our daughter has selected GW as her college.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Can't wait to see you for your next stay! Thank you for the kind review.

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We are finishing our stay in DC and have been thoroughly pleased with the service and accommodation at the George Washington University Inn. Just an easy 2 block walk from the Foggy Bottom metro station, this is a very convenient location for sightseeing trips. There is a Whole Foods store about a block away, to collect groceries and supplies for use in the kitchenette -style room. The room is large with a seating area for relaxing and watching television. There is also separate space for the kitchenette (stove/ 2 burners, microwave, fridge, and cooking utensils) and a 2-seat dining table area. Lots of storage with full closets in the entry area and in the bedroom. There is also shelf storage in the bathroom.

The service has been excellent throughout our stay. We arrived several hours before check-in and were able to store luggage until later in the day. The map we received at the hotel desk was the BEST of any map we used during the entire trip - it was our "go-to" map for getting to the right place all week long!

The price for this trip was very competitive and we will absolutely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was 2nd floor facing New Hampshire Avenue (east) and there was some street noise in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gwyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Your review was a great compliment to all of the staff. Thank you!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I booked a room here last minute because we weren't sure if we would be able to make it to DC this past weekend due to our 5 month old baby. I called the hotel an hour after booking to ask if we could check-in early because I am breastfeeding. Unfortunately, because they were fully booked the night before they couldn't accomodate us but they said I could breastfeed at the bar since it was closed. We arrived about 1 hour before check-in and the staff was wonderful! They took our luggage for us and even offered to store my breastmilk in their fridge downstairs until we could check-in.

Upon check-in, they upgraded us to a bigger room which had a mini kitchen and a fridge which was great for us so I could store my breast milk. They even gave us a coupon for the George Washington Breakfast which is a continental breakfast of coffee, yogurt, fruit and croissant. When we had to check out they let us stay an hour after normal check out so I could breastfeed my daughter before we drove home. They picked up our luggage and made check out very easy.

The only cons I have are the decor of the room, the valet parking was expensive and the tvs in the room didnt work. Because of these issues I think the price we paid of $250/night is too much.

Otherwise this is a great hotel with an amazing staff!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sillygirl129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

We were happy to have you!! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you stay with us.

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The GWU Inn was a really nice hotel, with affordable rates. The staff was very helpful, the rooms were nice and clean, the beds were super comfy and the location was very convenient for sightseeing. The metro stop and a wide variety of places to eat are right up the street. I would definitely reccommend the GWU Inn, and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you for the great review! We hope to see you again soon!

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,825 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
703 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
520 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $180 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing