We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay at GWU Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Inn Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #47 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great stay at GWU Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

To start with very helpful and friendly staff. Hotel room was very clean and big equipped with clean and nice furniture, but especially loved the big size comfortable bed and clean bathroom. In short, I loved my short stay at this hotel and I will consider staying at this charming hotel if I visit DC again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SenerSalci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
That sounds great! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    481
    111
    28
    18
See reviews for
420
318
94
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Thank you to everyone for a wonderful stay. We stopped by early and hoped to leave our bags but we're directly given a room and I think it must have been the best in the house. What a comfortable place. Not an elegant glitzy hotel, but if this hotel doesn't have what you want you surely can get along without it. The staff offered me what I needed before I knew I needed it like an umbrella for our last dash to the zoo.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRHIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
There is no bigger compliment than a great review! We are glad that we made your stay the most comfortable. We look forwrad to your return stay with us.

See you soon!

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here with my son while visiting The George Washington University. GREAT Location, GREAT staff. Very accomodating. Comfortable beds and good pillows. Nice size room. Only problem was low water pressure in shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAW281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay! I have shared your feedback with all of the team members here at the GWU Inn. We look forward to seeing you again!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Loved our stay at this charming hotel with the most wonderful front desk personnel. A short walk from the Kennedy Center and the Foggy Bottom metro stop. Quiet, comfortable room. Definitely returning to this gem.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We look forward to your next stay with us.

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was our first visit to Washington, DC and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean and spacious. There is a separate bathroom and "dressing room" entering the bathroom with a coffee maker and refrigerator. The refrigerator was a good size, which was very useful for our family. The extras offered at the front desk, such as apples, candy, and hot chocolate were a welcomed sight after a long ten hour drive or a day of sightseeing. The Valet parking staff was always very prompt and courteous. We were even welcomed by a snack and water in our vehicle, upon our departure. Plus the windshield had been cleaned for our journey home. The personalized service you receive at this hotel was outstanding!!

Room Tip: This is a very spacious room with a nice size refrigerator with a small freezer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharoninga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! It was great to have you stay with us and I hope you can come stay again soon.

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We enjoyed four nights at the GWU Inn and were thoroughly impressed with their attention to detail from the minute we walked in -- courtesy of a very warm attendant at the door. The desk clerk promptly checked us in, and graciously upgraded our room to a suite. We were travel weary, and greatly appreciated this gesture. The suite was nicely appointed, the bed quite comfortable, and the extra living space via the separate living room/kitchenette was very welcome. We enjoyed cocktails at the cozy bar, and had a superb dinner at the adjoining restaurant. We walked to the Kennedy Center, GWU campus, Georgetown for dining, and transited from/to DCA via the nearby Foggy Bottom station. No need for a vehicle! Perfect location. We went wine tasting in VA, returned home with dirty wine glasses, and the housekeeping staff went out of their way to wash them -- which we did not expect them to do. How kind...Thanks to all the staff that made us so comfortable and welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks to YOU for staying with us. I have shared your feedback with the rest of our team, and we all are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will be coming to stay with us again!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

i loved this hotel. it was fantastic. the staff were great, very professional and always willing to help. what made this hotel special, was its lovely little touches it offered. for example at reception there was a bowl of apples for you to take, along with free cofee/tea/ hot chocolate and a few jars of different lollies. was great when you had come in from the afternoon hungry and cold. they also had body butter and make up wipes for the girls in your rooms! lovely! the room we had was also equipt with a friedge and microwave.

the location of this hotel was great. right next to a subway station- for easy access to anywhere in washington. was also walking distance from cafes and restaraunts. there was also a food/ grocery/wine shop close by which was handy when we needed to grab a quick meal etc.

all in all fantastic experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skimbo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you very much for the review. I hope we get to serve you again in the near future!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#79 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing