We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and terrific customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and terrific customer service!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is not fancy and the outside kind of looks like an older apartment building, but as soon as we walked in our doubts vanished. We were warmly welcomed and given a very spacious room with a large bathroom. We loved the outlets on the front of the table between our beds---very handy for charging phones overnight. The hotel is just a short walk from the Foggy Bottom metro station---very handy location and we felt totally safe walking around at night. We were hoping to have dinner at a nice Indian restaurant and they recommended a fantastic place that we walked to from the hotel. All around a great stay for a really reasonable price. When our flight was cancelled at the last minute they were very accommodating about letting us leave our luggage there all day while we walked around DC. Excellent service! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
...And we look forward to having you back!! Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. We will see you soon...

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    524
    129
    31
    28
See reviews for
480
340
96
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel is located about half way between Georgetown and the Lincoln memorial, just minutes away from Foggy Bottom station. I was honestly surprised by the quality of the hotel for the price I paid! The hotel is very classy, well decorated. The staff are professional and helpful. All rooms are large, comfortable, spacious and clean with modern amenities. I was so impressed with this hotel I told my parents to book the same one for their visit to DC as well!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tejas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Wow! Thank you for the great review! I hope you get to come stay with us again. We will be more than happy to have your parents stay with us as well!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very nice hotel. Great service. Cozy rooms. Nice amenities. Excellent location. You couldn't ask for more if you're looking for a reasonably priced, nice place to stay in Washington, DC. I was particularly impressed with the staff at this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vam912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We are glad you loved your stay with us. We hope to see you again real soon!

Thanks again,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our reservation was originally for the Marriott Hotel. Due to a mix up we had to stay at G. W. University Inn, we were very pleased with the friendly staff and the room. It was my birthday weekend, the front desk was told about that and I was very suprised when I picked up our room keys they wished me a Happy Birthday. They also allowed us to stay pass check-out time. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELLIFE69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I am very glad we were able to add a little surprise to your birthday weekend. We all are glad you enjoyed it here with us! We hope to see you again.

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Within the last year we have visited the DC area staying at different hotels each time. The Washington University Inn thus far has been the best value ranging from cost, location and customer service. The staff was courteous and attentive. (Bryna, Tonyelle and valet staff - did not catch their names)
1) We had an issue with the television, the maintenance staff arrived at our room within 5 mins! (Just needed to be reset)
2) Complimentary coffee in the am was not ready (it was early) a staff member brought extra packets to my room. (Coffee pot available in the room)
3) Even though we checked out we were able to leave our car on premise until 5pm
Overall our stay was enjoyable and we will definitely stay here again
Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzy923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Wow! That is quite the compliment. Thank you very much for the great review! We are glad that we could make you happy and we hope to do it again soon!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here in September 2012. It was the most reasonably priced hotel in central area of Washington. Located between George Washington University station and the Watergate building this is hotel has a great location. The staff are extremely helpful. We had booked a standard room but when they realised we were staying for over a week they upgraded us to a suite for free. We really appreciated that. The staff were always very friendly and helpful. You almost felt like you were staying at a friend’s home. The room itself was excellent with great kitchen facilities and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was small but big enough as long as only 1 person at a time wanted to use it. The hotel was very quiet.
Being only a 5 minute walk to the train station made it very convenient to travel to all the great tourist locations in Washington. Also being next to the university there were lots of great restaurants and cafes nearby. We will definitely stay here if we go back to Washington again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quiet-Pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for the great review! I hope we get see you again this year!

See you soon!

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Visiting DC for first time in many years for a college visit to GW. The GW Inn is located right next to the campus. Enjoyed a nice walk to the Mall and Monuments, as well great food in the area! Hotel and staff very professional and super nice! If my son attends GW I will stay here when we visit!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWilliams13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
...And we will love to have you here! We strive to make our hotel every visiting parent's home away from home.

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,632 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,468 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,797 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing