We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Foggy Bottom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #58 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great value in Foggy Bottom”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The great positive point of this hotel is its location - a few meters away from Foggy Bottom metro station and walking distance from so many attractions, shops and restaurants.

The staff is also very nice, warm, welcoming and helpful.

My room was huge - maybe because I'm more used to tiny European rooms - with 2 double beds and a good size bathroom with soap and shampoo. There was also a microwave, a coffee machine, a boiler and a fridge which are very convenient. The room was also clean and I felt safe.

On the downsize, if you are looking for the latest design hotel, this is not it. The hotel furniture style is kind of old fashion and I felt a little bit like staying at grandma's. But overall this is just a detail.

In conclusion, for that price in the center of DC, this hotel is a very good value and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mela193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Mela193,

Thanks for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. A lot of our guests do compliment the size of our rooms. Looks like we will see you again and we can not wait!!

See you soon!

The GWU Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    534
    133
    33
    28
See reviews for
499
345
96
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location - within reasonable walking distance of the White House and museums, and near the Foggy Bottom metro, and bus stops if you don't like walking. It's also very convenient for the free evening concerts at the Kennedy Centre! We had stayed in this area before which was the reason for choosing this hotel, which was at an affordable price.

The room we had was slightly on the smaller side than others on the hotel plan. (I did wonder that if we had booked direct with the hotel rather than through an agency whether we would have been given a larger room...) There was a good area for the lounge part of the room, but the bed was in an awkward position, almost up to the side wall, making it difficult for one of us to easily get into the bed.

The kitchenette was a great asset. We did eat one evening in the hotel restaurant, which I would not recommend, as it was very busy and we felt we were being rushed at times. We ate at one other local restaurant, but find that the Whole Foods supermarket food bar to be excellent value.

There was some background noise in the room - not sure if it was air conditioning water going through pipes, or perhaps the lift, which was relatively near our room. But it was not enough for us to complain about it.

The hotel staff were delightful. The reception staff helped us book a reservation on the boat trip to Mount Vernon which we were having difficulty with. The door staff were extremely cheerful.

We would stay there again, given it's great location and value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank countrygirluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Countrygirluk,

Thanks for the great and very informative review! I can say, we do not like to play favorites however if you do book directly through us, we can provide you with the room you prefer! And we will remember it every time you stay with us!

We look forward to seeing you again,

The GWU Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

So I was there in early December and it was Cold…before I get to the problems I want to say the room was a good size but slightly dated. The bathroom was clean with nice soaps, shampoo etc.. but the cabinet was deteriorating and old. It had a nice little kitchenette with a fridge etc. The bed was comfortable and again the sheets and blankets clean. I was given a room on the "first" floor, one above the main floor and looking out on the parking area so I heard every time they set/opened a car lock. The biggest issue was that it was cold especially the floor-I believe the room was above the garage. But it got worse as the heat went out completely Friday night while we were sleeping so when I woke up it was crazy cold. I turned up the heat-thinking it was my fault-but when it didn't improve I called downstairs and they finally said it was out in the whole hotel…I did get a small space heater that was not able to do much but I appreciated the effort. It would have been nice to have been informed of the outage via a message. When asking about when the heat would be fixed the staff replied that they were cold too, I had to remind them that they were being paid while we were paying... Late that afternoon the heat was fixed when we returned. Unfortunately the floor remained cold throughout our stay but at least the heat worked. The hotel gave us a small comp for the heat issues which was fair. The positives of the hotel are definitely the restaurant and bar, both are exceptional. We had a great dinner and the bar tender was very friendly and knowledgeable. Also the location is amazing. I would stay here again but request an upper floor away from the elevator, and maybe request an updated room.

Room Tip: upper floor away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank needtogetaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Needtogetaway2,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel overall. Unfortunately during your stay we did have an issue with our heat. I sincerely apologize for this issue, as it is not normally a problem. I hope you will allow us a second opportunity to serve you! Yet, this time, I could personally handle your accommodations. Please feel free to contact me directly before your arrival so I may set up your preferences.

I look forward to meeting you,


Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Phone: 202-337-6620 ext. 7186
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Excellent position near the White House suitable for exploring the city.
Rooms are spacious, clean and tidy.
Professional friendly staff willing and able to help.
Restaurant in the hotel
Near the subway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HV75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thanks for the awesome review, we're glad you enjoyed your visit! I'm sure you still have more exploring to do, so we all hope to see you again soon.

See you soon,

The GWU Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

It is a small, but beautiful hotel with classic charm. The staff is wonderful and really had the guest's needs in mind. The hotel room was huge, and the kitchenette (complete with stove, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and all of the plates, pots, pans and silverware you could need!) was a great added bonus and helped save some money by not having to eat out for every meal. You are close to everything you could ever need- the Foggy Bottom metro is one block away, and if you are up for some mild exercise you can walk to a lot of DC's famous monuments. My only complaint is that the wifi was weak- maybe it was just because we were on the far end of the hotel. It didn't bother us much, but if you staying for business, its something to consider. There is an Ethernet cable so you can always use that as well!
We stayed for 3 nights before changing to another hotel we had booked in a different area in DC- I wish we would have booked our whole trip at George Washington University Inn! Our other "big name" hotel was such a let down after our fantastic stay at GWU Inn!
Beautiful hotel, perfect location, wonderful staff- we will definitely be staying here again on our next trip to Washington DC

Room Tip: The King suite is huge- its more like an apartment with completely separate bedroom and living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Kelly F,

I have great news! We are updating our WIFI soon, so that will no longer be an issue!

Thank you for the awesome review! We are glad you enjoyed it here at the GWU Inn. I hope we get to see you again soon... I'm sure there has to be at least a couple more monuments/museums you want to visit.

See you soon,

The GWU Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I recently stayed here with my friend to ring in the new year and the hotel was actually very nice.
When we arrived it didnt look like much but when we walked in the lobby gave us a feeling of a grandma's house but not in a bad way.

The night manager Lavel was great . We had a party to get to but it was lame she recommended a place for us to go and it was awesome.

tips for staying at University Hotel
call directly for the best rates
ask about promotions- we just did a walk up but Lavel gave us the works
ask for a late check out or a free upgrade they are very generouse
oh and find street parking regular price is like 50bucks but we got a nice deal for like half off because of a promotion.

If i visit washington again I will definately stay again thanx for the fun!!!

Room Tip: we stayed on the 7th floor in a corner room on the backside possible 712
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Was it the fresh baked cookies or the jars full of candy that made it feel like walking into Grandma's? Or both! HAHA. We are very thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully we will see you again in the near future. LaVelle says that she is glad she was able to direct you to a NYE worthy party place.

New month, new promotions! Come see us again!

See you soon,

The GWU Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed 1 night. The Hotel was a little hard to find since it does not have a large sign out front. In fact, we finally found it only after looking for the Marriott Renaissance Courtyard which is directly across the street.

We booked room 808 (it cost $14 more for an eight floor room) but is was worth it. The room had a great view of the Kennedy Center, Watergate appts, and Saudi Embassy. The room was large with a full kitchenette, couch table etc. Everything was clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet. It would be a great room to stay in if you are visiting DC for a week or more.

It is a short walk (0.3 miles) to the Kennedy Center (our purpose to be in DC) and not too far from a Metro station.

The staff was friendly too. What still amazes me is that the total cost for our Room (including taxes et al ) was $150. We had a coupon for free valet parking ($40 more). We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely consider paying a little bit extra to get on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxed81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us such a good review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Secondly, I look forward to your next stay with us. Contact me in advance and I will handle your accommodations, making sure you receive the same amenities as last time, plus more!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,681 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,485 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
380 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,811 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing