We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, awesome price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #61 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed 1 night. The Hotel was a little hard to find since it does not have a large sign out front. In fact, we finally found it only after looking for the Marriott Renaissance Courtyard which is directly across the street.

We booked room 808 (it cost $14 more for an eight floor room) but is was worth it. The room had a great view of the Kennedy Center, Watergate appts, and Saudi Embassy. The room was large with a full kitchenette, couch table etc. Everything was clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet. It would be a great room to stay in if you are visiting DC for a week or more.

It is a short walk (0.3 miles) to the Kennedy Center (our purpose to be in DC) and not too far from a Metro station.

The staff was friendly too. What still amazes me is that the total cost for our Room (including taxes et al ) was $150. We had a coupon for free valet parking ($40 more). We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely consider paying a little bit extra to get on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relaxed81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us such a good review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Secondly, I look forward to your next stay with us. Contact me in advance and I will handle your accommodations, making sure you receive the same amenities as last time, plus more!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a great, small hotel in the middle of Foggy Bottom. This was my second stay and again, it was terrific. I had a lovely, room that was an upgrade, it was a surprising value, and all the staff was pleasant. I will come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jay k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Jay K,

We look forward to your 3RD stay!! :) Except this time we will have even more upgrades and amenities for you!

I hope to see you soon in the future. Please contact me after you have decided on your travel dates and I will set up your accommodations!

Thanks again for the awesome review!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

What a pleasure to be in this great city but it was made even more pleasant by the experience of staying at the George Washington University Inn. It is close to Foggy Bottom Metro, and Whole Foods as well as Trader Joe's. With the kitchenette, you can make your stay more scheduled to your personal time line.
The Staff are so accommodating and personable, always holding the doors an pointing you in the right direction in the city that is built on a hub.
I am a walker and I found it invigorating to walk everywhere….so excursions to the various museums that are part of the Smithsonian, or the Kennedy Center (very close) or to the White House were great adventures.
(I saw 'Bo' and 'Sunny' being walked on the White House grounds and asked the gentleman if he had to 'scoop their poop' and he flatly said, 'Of course…')
But, the one problem was how dry the hotel rooms became, which we solved by putting wet towels on the heating units. it was a solution that Pavarotti said that he would use when he was touring from hotel room to hotel room and he needed to keep his 'pipes' in perfect condition!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Catherine Y,

I am very grateful you took the time to review our hotel! Also thank you for such an outstanding one, I am very glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you back again in the future!

Secondly, thank you for expressing your concern about the room being dry. I have communicated this concern with all of the staff and our engineering department will certainly develop a resolution to this.

For your return to DC, please feel free to contact me direct to handle your accommodations!

I look forward to welcoming you back,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We just returned from a five night stay at the GWU Inn. The room was spacious (1 bedroom suite with kitchen), clean and well equipped. The location was perfect, close to the Metro and Whole Foods and many restaurants (Bayou!). The price was very reasonable. The highlight, however, is the staff. They were all very pleasant and helpful. Brian, in particular, went out of his way to help us find our way, pick a restaurant, lend us an umbrella and refrigerate over groceries while we went out. Thanks for a home away from home GWU Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Christine D,

I can speak for the entire staff here at the GWU Inn when I say we are more than happy to be your home away from home!! We strive to make all of our guests' feel exactly how you did! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The George Washington Inn was a huge surprise! Being new to the Foggy Bottom, D.C. area, I was unfamiliar with the hotels there. I took a chance and am glad I did. The staff is amazing; very pleasant and customer service friendly. The accommodations are fantastic; comfortable and clean. The location, around the block from George Washington University Hospital and the Metro, couldn't be better. Can't wait to return; it's my new regular place to stay when in D.C.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mp9b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Mp9b,

I am so excited to hear that you will be staying with us regularly when traveling to DC! Since it was your first stay with us, we only just got to know you! The next time you are traveling to DC, please contact me if you have the time, so I can handle your accommodations. Thank you for the wonderful review! We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to see you in the near future!

Thanks again,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just came back from a weekend in DC and stayed at this lovely boutique hotel. Great location, practically on campus. Rooms were clean, service was great! Steven at the desk was especially helpful. The most impressive thing about our stay was the Manager, Sarah Conigliaro. When there was an issue with the breakfast we had already purchased vouchers for, she sprang in to action, single handedly setting up the entire breakfast, serving our beverages and clearing our plates. She turned a potential negative experience in to a winning one. A+ for customer service and service recovery!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mm2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!!

I, personally am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. I can speak for the entire team when I say, we welcome you back anytime! Sarah and Steven were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your positive feedback with them.

Again, we welcome you back to the George Washington University Inn anytime! Please feel free to contact me for your future stay and I will make sure to personally set up your accommodations!

Thank you,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

You cannot beat this small boutique inn for location and value. In the heart of historic Foggy Bottom, the Inn is close to Georgetown and many of the most visited tourist sites. This property is not for those who prefer a Hampton or Marriott experience. Rooms are small, but nicely appointed and many have efficiencies. The staff is exceptional and rooms are quiet and very clean. If you have a student at GWU or someone being treated at the GWU hospital, this is an ideal location. Great price point! Oh, and it is a short walk to the Metro. And, there is valet parking (albeit limited). The area feels safe for walking as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liltjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Liltjl,

Thank you for the great review! As you may have noticed, it is our pleasure to have you stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for making our other TripAdvisor readers aware of our amenities and location. If you have any requests for your future stay with us again, please contact me directly and I will be more than happy to personally handle your accommodations!

Thank you again for your review!

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com

PS: Do not forget to contact our reservations department to hear about our GW promotions and discounts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,801 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,584 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,295 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
1,791 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $190 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing