We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The first time we stayed in this hotel we were in a room that had a kitchenette. The room was very spacious and nicely done and clean. This next time we expected a kitchenette based on the third party room description from the on line reservation company. The room assigned us did not have the kitchenette. When we remarked on this with the reservation clerk at the hotel he was very willing to change us. We like this hotel because of its location to the hospital and public transportation. The staff is very professional and the beds are comfortable. We will have no problem rebooking at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Virginia B,

Thank you very much for your review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us as much as we love having you! Now that we know you prefer a kitchenette in your room, we will assign that to your profile. Next time you stay with us, we will make sure to provide you with your favorite type of room! Also please feel free to contact me directly if you should have any further requests on your next visit. I hope to see you in the future!

Thanks again,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

I think the GWU Inn was the subject of my very first TripAdvisor Review in 2011. My wife and I were back for five nights over Thanksgiving and, once again, we had an excellent experience. This is not a fancy, big name hotel with a sprawling lobby. In fact, the reception area is small enough that the person at the front desk will warmly acknowledge you each time you come or go. During our 2011 visit and again this time, we found the prices at the GWU Inn beyond reasonable--and all the more so this time as we got a complimentary upgrade to a small suite. If I had to find a fault, I'd say some of the carpeting and furniture here is about due for replacement, but that's not to say that there's anything shabby about the place--there's not. And the most important thing about any hotel room--the bed--was exceptionally comfortable. (My wife, usually a restless sleeper, enjoyed the luxury of sleeping through the night.) Since our son lives only a block and a half away, the location of the GWU Inn is particularly convenient. It's also an easy walk from the Foggy Bottom metro station. Our thanks to Nadia (who checked us in and out) for her helpfulness and to the rest of the friendly staff at the GWU Inn. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimP_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your review!

On behalf of the entire team here, I can say it was our pleasure to welcome you back. We hope to do so again in the near future. Nadia was more than happy to be able to assist you. We look forward to your return to DC.

Thank you again,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A hidden treasure in a delightful neighborhood! The rooms are spacious and clean with very comfortable bed and bedding. Every staff member encountered was friendly and helpful. The staff makes a small hotel top notch with the welcoming, homelike atmosphere!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make every stay personal and welcoming. After staying with us, we remember your preferences so when you return, you will be as comfortable as you were the first time with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at the George Washington University Inn, we welcome you back on your next trip to Washington, DC!

Thank you again,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and each time we enjoy fine hospitality excellent value walking distance to the national mall metro station Georgetown Rock creek park and Lincoln center. It is located in a nice neighborhood adjacent to GW U and hospitals. Excellent location great price great service!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stcolsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Stcolsp,

Thank you so much for your review. All of us here at the hotel are very pleased to hear that you've enjoyed every stay here with us. We welcome you back anytime! We are glad you enjoy the comfort and convenience of our hotel.

We all hope to welcome you back to DC in the near future.

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Hotel George for three nights. It was a perfect experience.From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and professional. The room was nicely appointed. I highly recommend Hotel George to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Lore B,

Thank you so much for your recommendation. The entire team here at the George Washington University Inn is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Now that you have stayed with us, we know your travel preferences. We will make sure to accommodate you just the way you like the next time you travel to DC!

Looking forward to your next visit,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I booked this hotel last minute when a day trip to DC to tour colleges was extended to an overnight trip. From the moment my reservation was taken the staff was helpful and polite. They made sure we had the hypoallergenic pillows we needed and sent someone up quickly to fix the heater as it got really cold at night. We asked the staff for a restaurant recommendation which we we thought would be difficult since I'm on a GF diet and my daughter is a vegetarian . The hostess from the restaurant next store was in the lobby and quickly announced that she could accommodate us. The meal was fabulous.
The location is great . Right near GWU and the Foggy Bottom metro.
The room was spacious with a king bed which was very comfy, a kitchenette and a sleeper sofa.since we were touring GWU we got a great rate. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSRLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, General Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear MSRLK,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad to see that the colleagues gave you the hypo-allergenic pillows and heater in your room.

Our restaurant, Notti Bianche is excellent. Of course I am bias, but I am so pleased that one of our servers caught you in the lobby and the kitchen was able to create a wonderful meal for you.

If you find yourself back in DC again, we would love to have you back as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the GWU Inn for a conference and family vacation. The hotel is quite outdated. The room was small and the bathroom was tiny and very outdated. It is not that handicap accessible for my 94 year old grandmother. To get on the elevator you have to go outside through the garage. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful however.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Minniapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, General Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Minniapples,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We always like to hear from our guests so that we can celebrate our success and work on our shortcomings.

We were sorry to see that you thought our rooms were small. When you checked in, all of our accessible rooms were occupied. Due to te age of the doorways are smaller then newer builds and the hotel is grandfathered out of many of the currently laws. In an effort to enhence the building and accommodate our guests, we recently had a study done of the hotel to see what improvements we can done. Once we recieve the report we will review the recommendations and take any necessary action.

Our colleagues here are what make this hotel so special and I know they will be pleased to see that you commented on their friendliness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,786 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,562 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
One Washington Circle Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,899 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $190 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing