We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was intrigued with the fact that the location was so convenient to GW University which did make my visit easy. The front desk girl was kind enough to upgrade me to a much larger room and provided excellent service but the room look very tired and dated. The amenities were fine in that I had a mini kitchen and sitting area, but the sink, shower and bathtub were damaged. When I stepped into the bathtub which was covered by bathfitter had a major crack so whenever I would move it would lift and could easily cut my foot. The brown tile was cracked within the shower area and chalking had seen it's day. This property needs major renovations and should not charge as much as they do. Once again, the staff provided excellent service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your comments. It was our pleasure having you as a guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your upgrade to the larger suite. However, I do apologize for the dscomfort that you had to experienced with the items you listed in your comments. I assure you that these items are being looked at and corrected.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to have as return guest.
Tatina Washington,
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    518
    128
    31
    24
See reviews for
464
337
96
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in a King Room on my business trip and I liked the hotel. It is a great budget hotel and near the Foggy Bottom metro station, just 1-2 minutes walking distance.

Most of the times my room keys did not work, so I have to change them. Guest services were great; they were very helpful and nice solution providers, special thanks to them. Complimentary spring water and Wi-Fi in the rooms were also plus sides of this hotel.
I stayed at the same neighborhood in my former D.C. trip so I liked this quiet zone, Foggy Bottom. Next time, I will also prefer this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whirling_Dervish_TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing the details of your stay. We are always pleased to hear that we have been successful in meeting the expectations of our guests. Please accept our apologies for the trouble with your keys. We are working on resloving that isasue so the guest are no longer inconvenienced in such a way.

Again, Thanks for sharing your comments,
Tatina Washingon,
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights stayed in a one bedroom suite which was roomy and very comfortable,great value for your dollar, the area foggy bottom was wonderful and accessible to the most wonderful eateries and tourist attractions, free shuttle to Kennedy Center was a plus. Fresh fruit and water in the lobby was also a nice touch. Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Corner suite was large and roomy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallstory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are very pleased thast you found comfort and convenience in your accomodations here and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your comments and we look forward to your next visit.


Tatina Washington,
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting DC colleges with my son. The hotel offers a discounted rate of $150 (tax included) for families visiting GW. This is a reasonable value for Foggy Bottom, but not earth shattering. (Btw nearby Courtyard by Marriott is very similar in price. The room wasn't too cramped and the beds were comfortable.

However...

There are no common areas ti speak of. The "front desk" is a table in the hallway, which we mistook for the Concierge desk when we entered. The plumbing fixtures are ancient, easily from the 1960's. Not quaint, just bleh. Can't remember the last time I paid $150 for a room with a bathtub older than I am (with separate-cheap- hot and cold facets, and a 3 inch showerhead).

No in room safe, which was surprising for an urban hotel with minimal security. When the door to the room was shut, you could see a continuous strip of light from the hallway, completely circling the door. I guess the DC fire code is much laxer than other towns.

Walking barefoot on the carpet, there were numerous thin ridges, which felt for all the world like they'd run electrical cords under the carpeting.

Very noisy HVAC. Fan ran constantly, but the rotary thermostat was totally useless. Our room was either freezing or stuffy. Neither gross nor fine adjustments of the thermostat could obtain a good temperature.

Bog slow internet. 27" LG flatscreen, but lousy picture quality, and one of those annoying 2 second delays when you change channels.

Bottom line: we won't be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quackbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I apologize that we were unsuccessful in meeting your expectations. It is never our intent for you as our guest to experience any discomfort or dissatisfaction. I can assure you that all of your concerns have been addressed and will be given our utmost attention.

I am hopeful that you will allow us another opportunity to have as a guest in the future.

Thank you for your feedback.

Tatina Washington,
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here recently for 5 nights. We were 3 adults and had a one bedroom suite and it was quite roomy. The kitchen was really nice and had a coffee maker with complementary coffee every day. The hotel is really close to the metro station and it is a relatively short ride to most of the tourist attractions. The staff was very helpful and gave me directions on how to walk to the Georgetown docks (20 min. walk) to take a sightseeing cruise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 907Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Its always our pleasure to hear of such a wonderful visit. We are glad that all your expectations were met and you found conveneince in our location.Thank you for your nice comment regarding the staff as well.

Tatina Washington,
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A group of us from Brisbane stayed for a week long business trip. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were kept beautifully clean and tidy by cleaning staff. Beds and facilities were great. The hotel is located close to Whitehouse and other sights and the underground is a short walk. Restaurant and bar has good food and wine but was visited by noisy Aussies from time to time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobMcMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a nice review. We are very pleased that all your expectations were met and you found your stay to be enjoyable as well having the opportunity to visit our on site restaurant and enjoy the wonderful food.

Thank you again for sharing your comments.
Tatina Washington,
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Good:
Customer Service-The night person Lavette is phenomenal
Location
Free Snacks
Suite Size
Free Wifi
Excercise Room

Bad.
Keys dont always work!!!!?
Breakfast no included 12.00 and its only continental. If your a meat and potatoes person this wont interest you.
Parking is 40.00

I had a few minor issues while staying there but the entire staff went out of their way to make me and my guest feel comfortable especially Lavette our personal secretary,tour agent,concierge. Its always great to have someone eager to provide information about unfamiliar areas she`s amazing.
I will surely return to this place customer service is top notch




  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sungye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Please except our apologiesfor all apects of your expectations not having met. Yes we only offer a continental breakfast in the morning. I can see where that can dissappointing when you dont want to travel far for a bite in afetr a good nigjhts sleep.The key concerns is definitley something we are working hard on improving. We are very please that our team was able to be of assistance to you and honor your requests without pause.

We certainly look forward for your next visit.
Tatina Washington,
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
1,588 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,778 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
300 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
1,681 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing